? 11/30 Pickle AMPS 296 +3 295

K & Pickle

Member Since 2025
11/14

I just don't understand. He is so unpredictable. Is he bouncing? Failed reduction? How can 1u take him <50 but .75u is utterly failing? If he's bouncing again, I must have missed something yesterday. I feel like he is constantly in a bounce or breaking a bounce. Anytime I think I'm noticing a pattern, or him starting to "smooth out" He throws something totally unexpected at me. Why is he so unstable. Starting to feel really demoralized.
 
Last edited:
What a change since switching to TR! I think this could be a failed reduction. If you don’t see improvement tonight I would go back to 1.0. Sometimes after a flat yellow they get back on track. Come on Pickle!
 
Hi K! Just a couple of thoughts: Is it possible for you to catch +1/+2 tests? Doing so might help you flatten out Pickle's cycles and help him avoid dropping into the limes. I'm seeing two different situations on his spreadsheet where this might have worked for Pickle.

On 11/11, you shot a low number. When I do this with Jude, I always grab a +1/+2 to see how fast Jude is dropping before onset of the insulin, which is at about +2/+3. If he is flat (compared to the preshot) or going down, I know that he is going to continue dropping at the onset of the insulin. So, I give a snack (you would give one with a carb content dependent on Pickle's carb sensitivity) at +1 (and then +2, if I need to) to boost him a bit and keep him surfing flatter. I try to test again at +3 to see where he is with the onset of insulin and feed carbs accordingly.

Another situation was on 11/26 when he had a significant drop from the preshot to +3 (136 @ PMPS to 56 @ +3). When Jude experiences those drops, I begin feeding carbs to flatten the surf: to keep him from going lower and, consequently, bouncing. I have a post from Wendy that I keep on my spreadsheet that talks about those big drops from the preshot to +1/+2. Essentially she says that a guideline to help you know if you are going to have an active cycle is the +2 value compared to preshot value. If the values are about the same, it's a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. If the value of +2 is quite a bit lower, then it's more active and needs more attention paid. If the +2 is higher, it's a quiet cycle.

So, capturing earlier tests can help you predict how he is going to handle the insulin and determine if you need to feed carbs to flatten things out.

A flatter cycle can prevent bouncing AND can prevent him earning dose reductions, which cause his depot to readjust and restabilize. By the way, here is a post that talks about using carbs to manipulate the cycle: 8/10 TASHIE pmps=HIGH! +Questions***
 
Last edited:
Hi K! Just a couple of thoughts: Is it possible for you to catch +1/+2 tests? Doing so might help you flatten out Pickle's cycles and help him avoid dropping into the limes. I'm seeing two different situations on his spreadsheet where this might have worked for Pickle.

On 11/11, you shot a low number. When I do this with Jude, I always grab a +1/+2 to see how fast Jude is dropping before onset of the insulin, which is at about +2/+3. If he is flat (compared to the preshot) or going down, I know that he is going to continue dropping at the onset of the insulin. So, I give a snack (you would give one with a carb content dependent on Pickle's carb sensitivity) at +1 (and then +2, if I need to) to boost him a bit and keep him surfing flatter. I try to test again at +3 to see where he is with the onset of insulin and feed carbs accordingly.

Another situation was on 11/26 when he had a significant drop from the preshot to +3 (136 @ PMPS to 56 @ +3). When Jude experiences those drops, I begin feeding carbs to flatten the surf: to keep him from going lower and, consequently, bouncing. I have a post from Wendy that I keep on my spreadsheet that talks about those big drops from the preshot to +1/+2. Essentially she says that a guideline to help you know if you are going to have an active cycle is the +2 value compared to preshot value. If the values are about the same, it's a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. If the value of +2 is quite a bit lower, then it's more active and needs more attention paid. If the +2 is higher, it's a quiet cycle.

So, capturing earlier tests can help you predict how he is going to handle the insulin and determine if you need to feed carbs to flatten things out.

A flatter cycle can prevent bouncing AND can prevent him earning dose reductions, which cause his depot to readjust and restabilize. By the way, here is a post that talks about using carbs to manipulate the cycle: 8/10 TASHIE pmps=HIGH! +Questions***
Thank you for taking your time to have a look and write such a great response. I agree w/ you that I should start testing a bit earlier based on Pickle's recent activity and early cycle curveballs. And I understand completely your points about catching those significantly fast drops and trying to slow those down. It's something I'll have to start experimenting with as things happen. His meal times are PS +2 +3 and +5. I re-arranged some calories and added the +2 on Nov 21st based on the prior activity happening then, essentially to do what you're describing. I'll have to be more aggressive w/ some MC or something depending on what's happening at the time. Thanks a million, Mary!
 
Back
Top