11/30 Oberon +13 63 (NS), +14 84, +15 67, +16 126, +17 125, +18 200

Lisa & Oberon

Member Since 2020
88 at +9.... he's getting an LC snack now. The +10 to PMPS numbers could get interesting. Wonder if he's heading for another reduction.
 
55 at +10.5. I'll check in 15 minutes. If he's below 50, he'll get some carbs for safety and I'll start the 2 hours over again and see how it goes. I think the odds are pretty good he's going to end up with a skipped shot tonight.
 
OK... gave a tsp of 20% FF at +11. Resetting the preshot clock. 50 at +11.25. Boy, when he wants a reduction he doesn't fool around.
 
More morning data: +9 88, +9.5 79, +10 72, +10.5 55, +10.75 57

Staying above 50 so far. If he's still there at +13 I'll probably give a BCS (3 U?) to drain the depot a little and give me a bit of an easier time this evening. (Tomorrow's my last big teaching day of the semester.) If he drops I'll probably just skip the shot rather than waiting to see if he comes back up on his own.
 
So naturally he's down a bit (63) but not enough to conclusively say I should skip the shot. I've shot this low before, and I know if I give a BCS he should still start to come back up in a few hours. But that's going to be about 2 am, and I don't think I want to be up that late tonight. Skip?
 
Opted not to shoot tonight; I don't totally trust him and this will drain the depot a bit. So now I can just monitor, feed as needed, and go to bed when he finally starts to come up.
 
Good call. Sleep well. I'm pretty sure he'll recover nicely from the skip.

Plus if I had to poke him every 15-30 minutes all evening I was probably going to lose a hand. He's been cranky about it. I finally tried a bit of the neosporin with pain relief on one ear, though, and he didn't bat an eye (or ear) at the next couple of pokes. So that'll help, and giving him a bit of a break would be nice, too.
 
Final bit of morning data: +11 48, +11.25 50, +11.5 74, +12 78, +12.5 74

125 now, and he was 126 an hour ago (which included a food bump). So definitely on an upward trend, but slowly. Might give it another half hour just to make sure he's coming up. Or just dump the last bit of HC from the can in his bowl for him and go to bed... DH will be checking him in about 3 hours when he gets up.
 
Back
Top