11/30 Monster AMPS 95, +1 93, +2 67, +9.25 87, +10 107, +11 86, PMPS 90, +1 76, +2 77

Numbers aren't a lot different from yesterday to start the cycle. Hope she stays safe again. The MC will help.

Please don't let my nutjob's numbers scare you. Monster has been doing spectacular and you're both doing so great!

Thank you both! I hate this not knowing. I have no idea how low she goes because I'm not there to test. I really hope we can get the Libre soon and she will tolerate it.
She could be dropping and then just rise back out of it. At least I hope she just rises out of it. I'm just a mess today!
 
I know it's easier to do than say, but try not to focus on what you Don't know. Focus on what you Do. You know the numbers you're testing are good and go with that. 💕
 
You're fortunate in that she tends to have nice, flat surfs. Those days where you have been able to test more frequently (11/26 & 11/27, for example) are good indicators of how she is managing the insulin through the cycle. Not to say that those indicators are always reliable, but they are good indicators of how she's surfing.
 
20250430_171425.jpg
20251130_182715.jpg
 
You're fortunate in that she tends to have nice, flat surfs. Those days where you have been able to test more frequently (11/26 & 11/27, for example) are good indicators of how she is managing the insulin through the cycle. Not to say that those indicators are always reliable, but they are good indicators of how she's surfing.
Yes, I think I might be a bit test obsessive! Because the days when I can test her more often I want to so I can see how she trends.
My fear, like I said, is that she's just going to decide to dive one day when it's too much for her and that I won't be here for that.
At the same time, I don't want to mess with her dose and mess up the depot she's built.
I think about what happened to @Tyleete with Nico being in the reds and blacks and when he came down, poor little guy came plummiting down. I know ECID and Monster seems to hold flat, for now....
 
Yes, I think I might be a bit test obsessive! Because the days when I can test her more often I want to so I can see how she trends.
My fear, like I said, is that she's just going to decide to dive one day when it's too much for her and that I won't be here for that.
At the same time, I don't want to mess with her dose and mess up the depot she's built.
I think about what happened to @Tyleete with Nico being in the reds and blacks and when he came down, poor little guy came plummiting down. I know ECID and Monster seems to hold flat, for now....
Yes, ECID is important to remember. We can certainly learn from other cats, but ECID, so there is a line of distinction we always need to consider.

As you move forward, you'll want to think about next moves. I know your goal is remission. The longer she stays in blues and especially greens, the more healing that is for Monster's pancreas. Here are the next steps in terms of getting her numbers even lower into the greens with an increase:

"Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300."
You'll want to ask on here about guidance with the increase, and I would plan an increase when you've got some time to monitor (like on a weekend).

I'm not trying to push you at all, just thinking with you about next steps. And I'm not saying she's ready for an increase, but you don't want her to "sit" too long where she is when she should be getting an increase, just as you don't want to not give earned decreases in a timely manner. I always just ask on the forum for guidance. Perhaps @Bandit's Mom can weigh in on where Monster is at this point (she's in India, so it might be later when you hear back from her).
 
Yes, ECID is important to remember. We can certainly learn from other cats, but ECID, so there is a line of distinction we always need to consider.

As you move forward, you'll want to think about next moves. I know your goal is remission. The longer she stays in blues and especially greens, the more healing that is for Monster's pancreas. Here are the next steps in terms of getting her numbers even lower into the greens with an increase:

"Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300."
You'll want to ask on here about guidance with the increase, and I would plan an increase when you've got some time to monitor (like on a weekend).

I'm not trying to push you at all, just thinking with you about next steps. And I'm not saying she's ready for an increase, but you don't want her to "sit" too long where she is when she should be getting an increase, just as you don't want to not give earned decreases in a timely manner. I always just ask on the forum for guidance. Perhaps @Bandit's Mom can weigh in on where Monster is at this point (she's in India, so it might be later when you hear back from her).
That scares me, not gonna lie! But I understand. Remission would be great, but if that's not something that's in the cards, then ok. If she's managed well and has to be on insulin as long as she's healthy and happy, I'm ok with that.
If I did it on my days off I feel like it would take her a few days for it to build and she would/could react and go too low when I go back to work on day 3 or 4. I don't know how to manage that.
 
That scares me, not gonna lie! But I understand. Remission would be great, but if that's not something that's in the cards, then ok. If she's managed well and has to be on insulin as long as she's healthy and happy, I'm ok with that.
If I did it on my days off I feel like it would take her a few days for it to build and she would/could react and go too low when I go back to work on day 3 or 4. I don't know how to manage that.
When I posted that, I thought to myself, I hope this doesn't scare her :cat: Please understand, that is not my intention, and I'm not pushing! I'm just talking with you through possible next steps to consider--just giving you the information as a newer person on the forum. We have a lot of people on the forum who are okay with their kitties being regulated and not aiming for remission.
 
Its ok, I understand why would share that with me.
By increasing to make her go lower (out of the blues and strictly greens I assume) would she just get used to that, or at some point earn a reduction? Wouldn't that just bring us right back to where we are right now?
It's just confusing to me because she's not above 200 usually and I still don't know when her nadir is..... and by doing that we increase the depot? and that would come back to bite me in the ass later😕
 
Its ok, I understand why would share that with me.
By increasing to make her go lower (out of the blues and strictly greens I assume) would she just get used to that, or at some point earn a reduction? Wouldn't that just bring us right back to where we are right now?
It's just confusing to me because she's not above 200 usually and I still don't know when her nadir is..... and by doing that we increase the depot? and that would come back to bite me in the ass later😕
This is why I tagged someone to talk to you about where she is. As I said, I'm not saying she has earned an increase, just that it's helpful to consider next steps in Monster's treatment.
 
I'm not sure she needs an increase...yet. The higher numbers you are seeing (100-150) could be a combination of a bounce from the lower greens as well as loss of duration from feeding carbs.

For the next few days, could you try feeding the MC at +1 itself - in cycles where you find that she is flat or lower at +1? That might reduce the dive at +2. Feeding carbs earlier in the cycle is better since the insulin action is stronger. In cycles where you can monitor, you could avoid leaving out carbs.

What is your MC%?
 
Back
Top