11/30 Mikey PMPS 137 +1 110 +2/168 +5/273 +10/311

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/30 Mikey +10/203 AMPS 235

Ok- in the blue...seems this is the time he prefers to be "blue"

on a side note I think I can now eat the rice in the rice sock i've heated it so many times :lol: :lol: :lol:

one other thing, late yesterday it became increasingly harder to get blood from his ear. I've started to have to poke multiple times for each test is that normal?

I have to run out for about 2 hours. I will test as soon as i get back home
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey +10/203 AMPS 235 +3/129 +5/125

Hi Jennifer....

Nice numbers for Mikey today!!!! YAY BLUE!!!

Too funny about the rice in the rice sock.

Not sure about the ear pokeys....I haven't had that happen with Gracie. Have you changed gauge of lancet? I know alot of people use 33g but I prefer 30g because one quick poke and I have a great draw of blood for my meter. If I use 33g, I usually have to do more than one poke because I do poke softly. Gracie also never flinches with the 30g and does with the 33g which is backwards since the 33g is finer and should be felt less. Are using a lancet device? Are you keeping neosporin ointment with pain relief on his ears?

Others may have some ideas about that issue......

You are doing fantabulous with him!!!!!
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +3/129 +5/125 +10/140

BG 140 @ +10 (9pm) just want to make sure I am still planning to shoot 1.5u. Should I retest at +11 or just PMPS?
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +3/129 +5/125 +10/140

:lol: :lol: at the rice sock...

and bumping your post up for better eyes...
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +3/129 +5/125 +10/140

Hi Jen,
I'm dodging the dose question ;-) but on the ear poke one....
Do you give one ear a rest and use either during the day, or does he bleed better from one or the other? That happened with Bob occasionally, and what I did was change the location. There's that pic that you probably have seen that shows a "sweet spot" along maybe one inch of the ear? You can actually go all the way around the ear edge to look for a spot that might bleed better. ECID, and I would guess that applies to their ears as well.
At first, I used a 28g, then when that box ran out I tried 30's. Once Bob had trained me sufficiently, I was able to get blood with the 33g on the first try. But when I tried them the first time (the 33g are what came with the meter), I had a terrible time and needed 4-5 pokes to get a drop.

Carl
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +3/129 +5/125 +10/140

Hi Jenn

Nice cycle today and looks like Mikey is coming up!!! You can also get a +11 if he's doing ok with the pokes to see if he continues up. If you ar having problems and his PMPS is up or the same as his +10, just go ahead and shoot his 1.5u. I'm thinking if he does dip, it's probably a second lantus dip unless he dips really low which I wouldn't anticipate with him.

I'll check back in for his +11 if you can get it and if not for his PMPS.

LOOKING GOOD!!!
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +3/129 +5/125 +10/140

The rice sock is funny! Everytime I heat it up now the place smells like rice! For me it's actually kind of nice, just makes me hungry!

I'm going to sound real stupid and say I don't see anywhere on the box for the Lancets what size they are. Let me just clarify, the higher the number for the Lancet the thicker or thinner the needle part is? His ears have been real easy just the past 2 days have been very hard to get the blood to "pump" out. I have been alternating ears and using the neosporin pain ointment. I did notice that when he is agitated or really hungry, even though he will sit, it's like he's so tense the blood doesn't flow. It also seems that only certain parts of his ear are good spots. I tried going up/down and nothing :( It is also getting chilly here so I might need to warm him up better.
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +3/129 +5/125 +10/140

miso00 said:
.... It is also getting chilly here so I might need to warm him up better.

AH HA! There's the guilty culprit, the ear edges cool off the fastest. I'm having to heat KT's about twice as long as I did when it was warm. Be sure the edges are warm too - the middle will warm faster.

Big hugs! GREAT work!!
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +3/129 +5/125 +10/140 +11/128

Jen,
Yes, the higher the number, the finer or skinnier the needle. Backwards thinking, but it made sense to whoever invented the standard! Same way for house electrical wire, if you ever need to know that!
What brand are the lancets?
Carl
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +3/129 +5/125 +10/140 +11/128

Yup....gotta get those ears warm. I don't hold the rice sock on continuously. I hold it on the outside, then the inside, then the outside...alternating so it doesn't get too hot but warms her ears. I don't even have to use it in summer in AZ but do now. The closer you can stay to the edge, the better (for the poke).

The higher the number, the thinner the lancet so a 28g will make a bigger hole than a 33 g.

Looks like he might be getting a bit of a dip. Ok Mikey....come up for your PS!!! I'll check back in. If he's lower....just breathe...post, don't feed, we'll be around. If he stays about the same, you can shoot....I know you can. Keep in mind that between 128 and 140 is easily within the 20% meter variance and so right now...he's just pretty flat.

You will need to get a +1 and +2....can you monitor tonight if he comes down into green? Do you have enuff supplies?

I'll be back for your +12.
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +3/129 +5/125 +10/140 +11/128

Yes, might be good to know, Carl :lol: :lol: :lol:
The Lancets are Microlet?

Also, good to know the ears edges cool off fastest. That is probably what I'm up against. His 2 favorite places to sleep in the bathroom under the cabinet on the tile floor (i put a blanket put he pushes it out) or under the window with a crazy draft in the bedroom, he pushes the blanket away that I put there too, go figure.

I think Mikey's #'s are going down because he knew I might actually be able to get a real night sleep tonight ;-)
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +3/129 +5/125 +10/140 +11/128

Ok, fingers crossed for the PMPS. I will get the +1 and +2. I will probably just stay up. I have enough supplies.

did i mention he is starving!
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +11/128 PMPS 137

His last three numbers are about the same.....surfing. I am not sure of the protocol. Are you supposed to stall and watch for a rising number?

Carl
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +11/128 PMPS 137

There is no need to stall....he's virtually been surfing all day and should come up after his PS. But it's important to get the +1 and +2 to make sure. He may decide to come back down and that's why I wanted to be sure she could monitor and had supplies.
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +11/128 PMPS 137 +1 110

i fed him 1/2 can which i usually do with the shot. He had a treat at 9pm (+10) and 1/4 can of wet at 4pm (+5)

I don't feed him after +1. I have tried to keep the feeding times regular 1/2 can at 11am/11pm with shot and then 1/4 can at around 7am and 4pm. I just started with the treats because I am testing so often and I read somewhere that it's good to reward him. Sometimes I give him catnip instead of a treat, he LOVES it.
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +11/128 PMPS 137 +1 110

The problem with feeding him so far apart is not having enough food on board for dealing with the insulin. Many feed on a PS, +1, +2, +3 schedule which helps to control BG drops. He now has to go 8 hours without food on board other than his PS food? YOu don't want him diving......

I would suggest a LC minimeal.....IMHO. For diabetic cats, it is better to feed them small amounts often......

ETA: and I'll be back for your +2.
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +11/128 PMPS 137 +1 110

The other day I posted the food question and he's only supposed to be eating about 1.5 cans a day (based on calorie consumption) and I was under the impression that feeding him 4-5 times a day was a lot.

So, you are suggesting I feed him less more often? I guess I got confused with feeding him frequently throughout the day and not getting "real" numbers due to food spikes vs. feeding frequently to keep BG down.
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +11/128 PMPS 137 +1 110

Some people free feed all day. Many others feed minimeals at PS, +1, +2, +3 so that the onset of the insulin is more gentle. ECID. So, yes, you would take whatever his a.m. allotment of food is and divide it between those feeding times. It's supposed to help even out the front end of the curve. If a kitty is coming down in numbers, the food helps to slow it down a little bit. You want to see a food spike at +1 with a little of it still left at +2 so the +2 number is about the same as the PS.

Shooting a food spike is different. We try not to feed between +10 and +12 because if a cat was dropping before then, the food could raise the BG especially at the end of the cycle. BUT once the food wears off, kitty "could" continue to drop. We want to shoot true numbers that are not influenced by food.

However, food management is a big thing. Jill taught me a long time ago:

manage the curve with food ------> flatten the curve ------- > adjust the dose accordingly

So food management of a curve is a very important thing.

ETA: you can take the "?" button off if your question before was about ear poking ;-)
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +11/128 PMPS 137 +1 110 +2/168

Nice on the +2!!! Good boy, Mikey.

I think it would be prudent to get a +3 and let's see how he onsets. I know it's a lot of tests but because he came down at +1, I want to see if he's going to come back down or whether he's on his way up.

See you in an hour, OK?
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +11/128 PMPS 137 +1 110 +2/168

BG 168 @+2

Feeding minimeals at PS, +1,+2,+3 with your explanation makes sense, but then from +3 to the next PS there is 8 hours in between so that makes me confused.

I'm going to have to think about this more tomorrow and also managing the curve with food--->flatten the curve--->adjust dose accordingly.
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +11/128 PMPS 137 +1 110 +2/168

You're right about the big gap in time between +3 and the next PS. I don't know what others do, but when Gracie was on lantus, I always fed her a very LC snack at +5 before her nadir. Her LC snack is boiled chicken breast....I figure it into her calories/day and she gets the same amount. Now that she is on lev, she onsets and nadirs later so she eats at larger portion at PS, small portion at +2, chicken snack at +3, and then larger portions at +4 and +5 as she onsets after that. Of course, with lev, the cycle is much gentler anyway and one very rarely sees the dives you see in many of the lantus kitties.

Some other people may spread the meals out a little more.....maybe PS, +1, +3, +4....you'll just have to see what works best for Mikey.
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +11/128 PMPS 137 +1 110 +2/168

yes, i will have to do some "food research". I don't want the food to hinder his progressing.

when do you think I need to test again tonight?
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +11/128 PMPS 137 +1 110 +2/168

Marjorie,

I too have a question about the food schedule.... really the schedule as a whole.

If - you feed at AMPS, +1, +2 and +3, then maybe again at +5 or not....then you feed at PMPS, and again at +1, +2, and +3.... when do you sleep?
Seriously, when do you sleep if you are trying to manage TR?
I've never dosed with Lantus, and I am 100% positive that I never will. At least not trying the TR protocol. Unless I'm dosing myself someday, of course, in which case I wouldn't need to worry about TR for cats.

But if you test at +10 morning and night, and then test whenever between PS times, and then you test again up till at least +2 after the PMPS. When do you sleep? Not just you specifically. Just in general. When does the "bean" sleep especially if they work 2 jobs or work and take night classes or something?

Really, I have a lot of respect for you folks and what you do for your babies. But I know I could not possibly do it.

Carl
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +11/128 PMPS 137 +1 110 +2/168

Carl:

Most of us shoot much, much earlier than Jenn. When Grace was on lantus, I shot her at 7:30. So +3 was 10:30; my DH is a night owl so he'd give her the chicken snack at midnight. Her +10 was at 5:30 and I had to get up then for work. Because Jenn shoots so late (I only know of one other person who shoots this late), then she will be up most nights all night. I also do not know how she does it.

There are some lantus people who shoot at 5-5:30 in the morning. I think most times they don't get a +10 for the PM cycle but usually get it for the am one.

I think you will find a lot of tired people in LL! Somehow you learn to deal with it. Most of us, if we have to be up late with kitty, go into sleep/test mode. If Gracie is coming down at night, I can often sleep for 1-1/2 to 2 hours in between tests.
For the people that shoot really early, their cats have often nadired by midnight.
 
Re: 11/30 Mikey AMPS 235 +11/128 PMPS 137 +1 110 +2/168

He Jenn.....looks like I lost you!!! I was really hoping you'd get that +3 before you hit the sack. Because cross posting can happen, it's always good to go back and scroll through all the posts before you go to sleep at night
esp if you have asked a question. I wouldn't leave you without telling you.

Since I think you must have gone to bed I'll just leave you with this:
I hope you will get in another test much sooner than later. If you need help, check and see if anyone is online in LL or the Main Health Forum.

You also know the "drill" and have the link to handling low numbers.

Hope you get some rest. Ni NI.
 
I starting shooting at 11am/11pm because they are times I knew I would be home most often. That was before I knew about testing so much afterwards. Regardless I would still have kept the shooting time because otherwise it would be too hard too shoot the times I need to.

Sorry, Marje. I checked back quite a few times before I went to sleep, even in bed checked w/ my phone. The posts still must have took longer to show. I didn't see where you wrote to test at +3, that was my mistake. Thankfully he was ok threw the night.
 
Just FYI....look back at my post at 11:01 pm (1:01 am your time).

Not sure why the system was slow but it happens sometimes. Remember that I will not leave you hanging or go to bed without telling you and making sure all is ok. So if you don't see something, scroll back and make sure you didn't miss a post.

Our standard thing in LL is if someone starts out helping you if PSs or numbers are low, they stay with you or they find someone to commit to staying with you until all is ok. Sometimes we do have to do hand-offs but we let you know who will be taking over and helping you. BUT if we send someone a post and expect to hear back at a certain time and don't, it's hard to stay up not knowing if that person is coming back or not. I do sleep with my phone on and next to my bed and even if I don't have to be up testing Gracie, I'm usually up sometime during the night. I also checked in from there last night and didn't see you back so just conked out :-D
 
I think what happened is I didn't read the bottom line or I didnt' scroll up enough. Now I know for next time ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top