11/30 MICIO: AMPS 272...lowest amps since starting insulin!

MISSY + Simone&MICIO (GA)

Member Since 2021
Yesterday: AMPS 357 / 308 +3.25 / 276 +6 / 282 +9 / PMPS 270 / 280 +3 / 252 +6 / 284 +9

Yesterday I did a curve (every 3 hours for 18 hours) and, except for the AMPS, numbers were below 300's for the rest of the day through this morning...I guess "slow" but an ok improvement?! His AMPS were the lowest this morning and wonder if it was because I gave him a little food after I took his readings at 3am?!
Not sure to why Micio's BG is always the highest in the morning...

My question of the day is: because Micio developed EPI almost 4 yrs ago (since then he's on PANCREATIC ENZYMES with every meal), what are the chances of getting his diabetes regulated?
I mean, will insulin ever regulate his BG even with a compromised pancreas? Or should we expect higher numbers for his "normal" BG?
Looking back at his blood work throughout the years, his BG were 82-99 range from 2017-2020, then BG spiked to 118 on Sept 2020 and on June 2021 it was at 298 but vet didn't mention any concern about it, I'll bet his diabetes started before this past October...
Any thoughts?

Also, just to double check...I'll be increasing the dose to 2u tomorrow morning unless I see blu, correct?
Tonight, I'll be ending 6th cycle on 1.75u
Here's the link for previous post:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2882620/

Thank you in advance
@Tif
@dia
@bro
 
Hi. I’m just coming on line. Yes, you will increase every 6 cycles unless you see blue or green.

Does he also have chronic pancreatitis? It’s my understanding that after some time having it is when EPI occurs. I think pancreatitis is what caused Max to become diabetic. It’s harder to go otj having had it but I am not sure impossible. Max didn’t go otj but was tightly controlled. All you can do is follow TR and work at getting him tightly controlled. Going otj is the bonus forvman6 cats.

When you tag people, we only see it if we are on line. You did it right. But tag in your most recent condo always instead of the older one. I’ll hav3ca look at your last one in case you had more questions.
 
Hi. I’m just coming on line. Yes, you will increase every 6 cycles unless you see blue or green.

Does he also have chronic pancreatitis? It’s my understanding that after some time having it is when EPI occurs. I think pancreatitis is what caused Max to become diabetic. It’s harder to go otj having had it but I am not sure impossible. Max didn’t go otj but was tightly controlled. All you can do is follow TR and work at getting him tightly controlled. Going otj is the bonus forvman6 cats.

When you tag people, we only see it if we are on line. You did it right. But tag in your most recent condo always instead of the older one. I’ll hav3ca look at your last one in case you had more questions.
Tnx, that's what it is then...I can't tag unless people is online..
Vet suggested he may have pancreatitis but I don't recall seeing the obvious symptoms though unless he's very good at hiding it...He used to vomit a lot but after we started him on Budesonide he was ok and sill is; soon we'll stop completely with Budesonide, we're dow to 0.01 ml every other day now.
Tnx again
 
Budesonide would help with IBD but not pancreatitis.
Last time Micio saw the Internal Medicine specialist was a bit over 2 years ago and Dr. said that, although the pancreatitis test was normal/negative, she suggested Triaditis could been a plausable explanation (wouldn't exclude Small Cell Lymphoma either - I've declined the surgical procedure to test it as it was too invasive and a bit too risky as he has heart murmur). Overall, he's very chill cat and act normal (not in pain) and the only few times he refused to eat was when the vets wanted to try Metro or other drugs that would made him nauseous.
Trying to get in touch with IM specialist though.
 
As long as he isn’t having any symptoms there’s no reason to do anything for pancreatitis. We basically just treat the symptoms.[/
Hi. I’m just coming on line. Yes, you will increase every 6 cycles unless you see blue or green.

Does he also have chronic pancreatitis? It’s my understanding that after some time having it is when EPI occurs. I think pancreatitis is what caused Max to become diabetic. It’s harder to go otj having had it but I am not sure impossible. Max didn’t go otj but was tightly controlled. All you can do is follow TR and work at getting him tightly controlled. Going otj is the bonus forvman6 cats.

When you tag people, we only see it if we are on line. You did it right. But tag in your most recent condo always instead of the older one. I’ll hav3ca look at your last one in case you had more questions.

May I ask...what does "otj" mean?
Also, do you think TR is working the way it supposed to work on Micio? As I'm supposed to increase the dose again tomorrow morning to 2u, I'm getting very nervous about it as I'm afraid to overdose him and, besides, the vet doesn't even know how much I'm giving now ...all she told me was "give 1u only in the morning after breakfast". I may have to take Micio in to get some of his bumps/lumps checked soon and let her know how he's doing but I'm afraid to tell her how much insulin I'm giving now, don't think she'll take that well at all and kick me out ...that's why I'm asking if, based on his curve from yesterday and everyday numbers in general, I could actually show her that TR is working?
Guess I'mjust looking for reassurance...
 
OTJ is off the juice, in remission. You won’t overdose him as long you test and monitor. His numbers need to come down to protect his kidneys. Normal on a human meter is 50-100. His spreadsheet will show that’s he’s not yet on the dose he needs. It often takes months to get there. It took Max about 9 months. If your vet doesn’t like what she sees practice the nod and no response that those whose vets don’t understand feline diabetes or TR do. He is your cat so you need to make the decisions you feel best making. My vet is a diplomat in internal medicine and he supported my decisions 100%. He showed my ss to his third year students that spent a week with him.
 
That’s awesome for u and ur cat. I do see slight positive improvements on Micio in the last 2 days though and I do trust you guys on Diabetes more then my vet, just hope I can keep her at least till next summer and then we will be moving south…
Do you know if there a list or something I can look up to find a good vets specialized in Feline Diabetes/multiple health issues either in S. Carolina or Florida ? Tnx again
 
Do you know if there a list or something I can look up to find a good vets specialized in Feline Diabetes/multiple health issues either in S. Carolina or Florida ? Tnx aga
You can do another post such as
? Looking for vets in Florida or S. Carolina I know we have some members from Florida. Good look with the increase Simone :cat:
@MissyKat
 
Last edited:
Back
Top