11/30 Lucy Need Advice on PM shot???

Status
Not open for further replies.

kalyv

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's numbers...

So I increased Lucy from 2.5 to 2.75 (eyeballed since I don't have syringes with half-marks) and her +5 seems to have dropped to 85. She ate the normal amount of food. Her shot was 10 mins shy of the full 12 hours.

Anyone have any spec on what could have caused this sudden drop? This is exactly the kind of sudden drop that made my vet so nervous. Makes me nervous too for days when I am working out of the house.

Should I just wait and see if she continues to drop or feed her right away?

ETA: Lucy's +5 (85) was taken at 12:48 pm EST and her +6 (88) was taken at 1:30.

It seems to be a good sign that she increased slightly without any food.

After the test I gave her a teaspoon of her usual as a treat for coming out from under the bed so I could test her again.

Anyway, I would still appreciate whatever thoughts you Lantus experts have to offer. Thanks.
 
Re: 11/30 Lucy 311@AMPS 85@+5

Thanks mybuddybinks.

She is pretty lethargic right now, but both cats usually sleep the morning away.
 
Re: 11/30 Lucy 311@AMPS 85@+5 88@+6

I am a huge fan of the +2 test. If your +2 is markedly lower than your pre-shot, it's likely you will have an active cycle. My guess is that Lucy had started to drop by +2 today. Seeing that fast of a drop, I'd have probably given a bit of LC food to slow things down.

Lucy's numbers really haven't risen in an hour. They are flat. Since we're not sure where her nadir is, I'd get another test at +7 just so you don't get a big surprise.
 
Re: 11/30 Lucy 311@AMPS 85@+5 88@+6 95@+7

Sienna Lucy's +7 was 95.

Should I feed her a little bit or try and hold off until her later feeding time?

Also when should I check again?
 
Re: 11/30 Lucy 311@AMPS 85@+5 88@+6 95@+7

+8 is 182. And I didn't give her any more food after that t-spoon at +6.
 
She got a dose increase today to 2.75.

Here are her numbers:

AMPS - 311
+5 - 85
+6 - 88
+7 - 95
+8 - 182
+10 - 284
PMPS - 509

Looks like she had a big bounce. Should I shoot 2.75 again for her evening shot? If she has another big drop, will that just lead to a bounce cycle? Or does she just need to adjust to the new higher dose?
 
Stick with the 2.75u. Lantus needs consistency, though it sometimes may make us chew our fingernails to wonder what will happen next. Definitely try to get +2 tests on her. It looks like she's a dive and bounce kinda girl. As Sienne said, if her +2 is lower than her PS number, you'll want to feed a bit of LC to slow her descent. This, in turn, helps her to not need to bounce quite so hard. A lot of us spread our kitties food out over the first four hours of each cycle with a portion fed each hour through +3 or +4. This will help dive and bounce kitties flatten out a bit.
 
You're correct -- Lucy is bouncing. I would shoot the 2.75u this evening and get a +2 test. The bouncing is normal. Lucy isn't used to seeing those green numbers and her liver panicked.
 
Thanks Patty. Spreading her food out over the first few hours makes sense. I will try that and also definitely, test her at +2 and before I go to bed. Luckily I am a nightowl. :D


ETA Thanks Sienne. I will check her in a couple of hours and feed her a little more LC if she needs it.
 
She has had random huge jumps like that before and then falls back down to more normal levels fairly quickly. But I have never double-checked those results so that is a good suggestion for next time.

Thanks for all your help and advice Sienne. I feel like going through the process so carefully today is helping me understand how Lantus works on her little system.

ETA: So what am I actually aiming for? Should she be green at her nadir and at yellow in the amps and pmps in order to keep her insulin dosage the same?
 
Ideally, what we all aim for is remission -- lots and lots of green. If for now, you can get blue pre-shots and green during the cycle, that would be phenomenal. The one thing to keep in mind though, is that we're not leading this dance. Our kitties are telling us what they want. We just need to be smart enough to listen.

In other words, don't delude yourself into thinking you're in control. The cat is in control!
 
The cat is in control!
:lol: Something that all cat lovers learn sooner or later.

Thanks for explanation on the levels to hope for. Maybe that is the better way of putting it.

I guess there is no hard and fast rule when it comes to diabetes. My mom is also diabetic and I asked her what she thought would cause the sudden BG spikes and she said she had no idea. She still gets them one in a while and she will not have eaten anything different that day or feel particularly stressed, but for some reason, it just happens once in a while. That's not to say that you don't follow the strict regulation guidelines but I guess I just need to realize that sometimes, Lucy's little body has a mind of its own. :dizcat BTW, I love that emoticon.
 
A bounce can last 72 hours...So she may still be in a bounce..Let's see where she goes today...
She had some lovely green yesterday that she wasnt used to..so hence the bouncy numbers.
Whatever this is let's see what happens today--Paws & fingers crossed for a good day.
Welcome to LL :mrgreen:
 
Thanks Roni.

If I check her again at +7 and then PMPS, would that be sufficient? Poor thing got so many pokes yesterday that she started trying to hide, whenever I cam near her.
 
The nadir or midpoint of the insulin cycle is usually +6 or give & take an hour, but of course,
ECID, but a +6 or +7 couldnt hurt--Looks to me that her nadir would be around +6, and the numbers start to go up from the point of the nadir...You are doing a good job, she will get used to the pokes, as they all love the treat that comes with it :lol: :lol: :lol: --Keep up the good work!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top