11/30 Junga AMPS 162; bounce? climbing bgs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jldnvjld

Member Since 2010
After some really nice numbers last week, Junga's pre-shots are inching up. I did get him the Petsafe 5-meal feeder; he has snacks scheduled for +6 and +9. He doesn't always eat them, and I don't know that he necessarily eats them on time.

I suppose it's possible his pancreas isn't working as well when we got the nice pre-shot numbers (I was sooo excited that we might be heading towards OTJ), but is it possible his pancreas *is* continuing to produce about the same insulin, and I'm seeing a bounce? I did catch a low number last night at +1.5 (+2 on the chart.)

I've had a busy schedule lately, hence the testing has been a bit spotty. What would you do? Skinny the drops back down, guessing he's bouncing? Adjust the snack times earlier? Fatten the drops figuring his pancreas is going back on vacation?

Background:
No gravy foods for Junga due to presumed allergies. He's also darned picky. Hates fish.
I am splitting his meals into (usually) three helpings from testing time to +2.
Feeding LC; Wellness and EVO 95% duck (4% carbs)
His snacks are EVO duck at +6 and +9; he doesn't always eat them.
shooting a drop; his nadir is somewhere between +1.5 and +3, it seems.

J.
 
hi there,

would you be able to get a +11 in either cycle?
For example, AMPS: if you get up an hour before your shot, a +11 there would be a good number to catch...or if you are home an hour before your PMPS, same thing.

as for the nadir, a bit hard to say without a consistent pattern of mid cycle numbers, hard to do that when you work, I know, but if you are home or happen to get up at nite, see if you can fill in a bit with a quick spotcheck.

I know what you mean about racing to otj, but Junga is in charge right? :mrgreen: All in good time!
 
Here is the link to your last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30729
I am wondering what the food situation is at night...does Junga get a snack during the PM cycle? (Not sure I understood the note in your SS about regular snack +9 +10. That might be too close to the AMPS)

If you are offering the +6 and +9 snack during the day, perhaps he is eating closer to the preshot time.
It is good to leave some time of fasting before the preshot hour...so maybe a snack no later than +7 or +8.

It is good to experiment with the snack times. Food does have a big impact on the numbers. I noticed that Raja got lower numbers at +3 after eating at PS time, but when I moved the snack to +4 she got even lower numbers than the +3! It really is best to space the snacks so that they are fasting for a few hours before both the AM/PM preshot. If you can move that PM snack earlier in the night and then see if the numbers get a bit lower for you.
Still, he is looking good! I think if you try different times with the food you might see some lower preshots.....
 
I think I am blurring the distinction between a +11 and a pre-shot; perhaps you guys can clarify. For example, I get up at about 5:30, test Junga (the pre-shot), feed him (he's a leisurely eater), and give him his shot at 6:00 (plus or minus ten minutes) after it's obvious he's going to eat his breakfast and has eaten at least a teaspoon of it. So a +11 would be 5:00, 1/2 an hour before the pre-shot? In the evening, I can't get a +11 until the weekend, but I could get up half an hour earlier (zzzz) in the morning at least a couple of times.

I was setting up 1 tsp for the +6 snacks and 2 tsps for the +9s (as he's hungrier at +9 in the afternoon), but he's been skipping both snacks so much I've scaled +9s back to 1 tsp each in the interests of not throwing away so much expensive cat food. Today I was home at +9, and he gobbled down both snacks (so 2 tsps) while I was there, and still looked hungry, so I gave him another tsp. (okay; not consistent, I know, but he isn't either at this point.)

We have painters in the house today and tomorrow; that's why I was home briefly. Junga's shut in his room while they're working.
J.
 
a +11 is an hour before shot
if you are getting your preshot number 30 minutes before your shot, that would be a +11.5 test number

Ideally, test, feed and shooting should be done all within 5 minutes. 10 minutes tops. Give or take.
An example: I did start at 30 min in the early days, and gradually brought my time down to 15min, then 10, then all within 5 minutes, as long as he eats, and sometimes I'd have to follow him around to make sure he eats. I also learned to shoot him as he was eating, I didn't think it could be done, I was too chicken!
But he was too distracted to notice, so it got easier to do, lol

your portions sound ok, sounds similar to mine.
I'm liking Pat's ideas of a little experimenting with times..when you are home, mite be something to try.
 
I can easily reprogram the feeder to offer Junga snacks at +8 (or +7) instead of +9. Of course, programming Junga to eat them is another matter. I will try to get test-feed-shoot closer together; hard to imagine getting it within 5 minutes, but we'll see how that goes.

So I gather he couldn't possibly be bottoming out and bouncing from that little drop, and that the issue is just his snack timing?

J.
 
jldnvjld said:
I can easily reprogram the feeder to offer Junga snacks at +8 (or +7) instead of +9. Of course, programming Junga to eat them is another matter. I will try to get test-feed-shoot closer together; hard to imagine getting it within 5 minutes, but we'll see how that goes.

So I gather he couldn't possibly be bottoming out and bouncing from that little drop, and that the issue is just his snack timing?

J.


do u have other cats in the house? just wondering if your kitty has to share his food.
does your feeder close up after some time?

I meant to add also, there may be a little bouncing going on, but it's not too bad.
Sometimes it just takes a little time to bring those preshots down, AMPS is usually the longest.
Try the snack times change, and note it on SS as you have been.
 
jldnvjld said:
I think I am blurring the distinction between a +11 and a pre-shot; perhaps you guys can clarify. For example, I get up at about 5:30, test Junga (the pre-shot), feed him (he's a leisurely eater), and give him his shot at 6:00 (plus or minus ten minutes) after it's obvious he's going to eat his breakfast and has eaten at least a teaspoon of it. So a +11 would be 5:00, 1/2 an hour before the pre-shot? In the evening, I can't get a +11 until the weekend, but I could get up half an hour earlier (zzzz) in the morning at least a couple of times.

I was setting up 1 tsp for the +6 snacks and 2 tsps for the +9s (as he's hungrier at +9 in the afternoon), but he's been skipping both snacks so much I've scaled +9s back to 1 tsp each in the interests of not throwing away so much expensive cat food. Today I was home at +9, and he gobbled down both snacks (so 2 tsps) while I was there, and still looked hungry, so I gave him another tsp. (okay; not consistent, I know, but he isn't either at this point.)

We have painters in the house today and tomorrow; that's why I was home briefly. Junga's shut in his room while they're working.
J.
If you are going to be there briefly tomorrow, grab a test....take those opportunities for more data when they present themselves. ;-) You can never have too much data (says the testaholic...but it is true!)
 
Re: 11/30 Junga AMPS 162 PMPS 71

Re: the PS/+11 issue -- I'm going to move his shot time up a bit, as he wants to be fed NOW-NOW-NOW when I get up or get home.

And his +11.5 (now PMPS) was 71, so if he eats his snack, his BG looks okay (based on a very small sample size here.)

J.
 
Wow! thats a very nice PMPS!
That's funny, Luna says the same thing, "now, now, now" :lol:

this is one of your lowest preshots to date, if you can, a couple of checks tonight ok?
maybe start with a +1, if you can. A before bedtime check would be good too....very nice Junga!
 
Ronnie & Luna said:
this is one of your lowest preshots to date, if you can, a couple of checks tonight ok?
maybe start with a +1, if you can. A before bedtime check would be good too....very nice Junga!

Thanks; he did have a 50. As I haven't had good luck finding a HC or MC that 'works' for Junga (i.e., he's not allergic to it and he'll eat it....) I gave him some Wild Blue Duck. It's not on the food list, but as it's 95% meat, I'm guessing it's LC. The kicker: it has a tiny bit of potato (listed after 'natural flavorings', so the amount must indeed be tiny); I figure whatever potato carbs it has must hit quickly, so in the short run it should give him a little BG boost. How little, I don't know. The big plus: Junga's wild about the food; he'll eat a snack of Wild Blue Duck even if he's just had dinner.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top