11/30 - Hadley AMPS 104 PMPS 255

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura and Harley (GA)

Member Since 2011
Little did I know what I'd wake up to this morning... :) No inkling that anything was different. He was his usual raucous, demanding food self. Tested 104, re-tested immediately and got 109. Stalled food for 20 min. which almost got me mauled by all 4 kits and then got a 107. Could not stall anymore and fed them all. Hadley ate his usual 1 can of FF Liver & Chicken. After mulling over my options and Hadley's SS, I gave full dose of 1.75u. I haven't been able to get full curves on him because he's not a huge fan of the BG testing even with treats - very wriggly and twisty - but he has had a couple of times where he's gotten some nice long duration recently. He's also a food spiker. (Hard not to after eating a whole can.) Tested at +2 before I left for work and he was 160.

Going to check on him at +5.5...
 
Re: 11/30 - Hadley AMPS 104

+5.75 = 51. :mrgreen:

He was acting normally, wolfed down his usual 1 can FF Chicken Feast for lunch. He seems to be OK at these low #'s - the complete opposite of Harley who would have had the cabinet open and the dry food on the floor. I guess I have to see it to believe it. I've lived with an unusual cat (Harley) for so long.
 
Re: 11/30 - Hadley AMPS 104

Well, if there is one thing I have learned, its that no two FDs are going to act alike....

That 51 is very near where I might think about reducing the dose a smidge. Can you get a mini curve on him? It would be interesting to see where he is at about +7 after that 51.

Sounds like he is liking his routine (all except the testing, maybe).
 
Re: 11/30 - Hadley AMPS 104

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Well, if there is one thing I have learned, its that no two FDs are going to act alike....

Isn't that the truth! ECID

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
That 51 is very near where I might think about reducing the dose a smidge. Can you get a mini curve on him? It would be interesting to see where he is at about +7 after that 51.

Sounds like he is liking his routine (all except the testing, maybe).

Unfortunately I'm back at work - was thinking of running home again and catching a +8 or +9. THought the food would hold him for an hour or 2. He ate the whole can: FF Gourmet Chicken: 39% protein, 57% fat, and 4% carbs.

I was wondering the same thing about a dose reduction. Kinda on the fence until that PMPS. And I have to be gone for 2 1/2 hours tonight. :( Damn timing...
 
Re: 11/30 - Hadley AMPS 104

When he has a food spike, how much change does he experience?

I'm asking because one morning I tested, then got distracted while all the cats were eating and ended up re-testing & shooting after an hour. In 1 hour, Spitzer jumped 200 points! Eeeeks! Makes me think that a bolus dose of R at mealtimes (food IS left out all day) might be prudent!
 
Re: 11/30 - Hadley AMPS 104

Good question BJ - before this morning I'd have to say "I don't know." But he went from 104~109 to 160 in 2 hours and that's presumably when the insulin is wearing off. Then at lunch time he went from 51 at +5.75 to 82 at +8. Not as big a jump because I think the insulin is working at close to peak efficiency. Good data to have.

I ended up getting a +9 too but not the way I wanted. After getting his +8 I started to go back to work and my car, which had been chugging a little for the last 2 weeks, started backfiring and bucking something awful. I had to floor the gas to get it to even get up to speed and then it was in danger of stalling if I slowed down or stopped so instead of driving to work I drove to my local CarX (where I have my cars serviced) to have it looked at. I had to leave it so they can do a compression test on the engine tomorrow - 1 cylinder died on me while driving. (He switched spark plugs and wires from a good cylinder to the bad one and it still barely turned over so the problem is in the engine, not plugs or wires.) So I walked back home and picked up my spare car - a '96. My regular car is a '99. :YMSIGH:

I took this as a sign I needed to get a +9 once I got back home which was 124. Curious about PMPS now. Bounce or no bounce...
 
Re: 11/30 - Hadley AMPS 104

PMPS = 255, shot the bounce at 1.75u. With his food rise and onset being between +3-4, I hope to be home in time for any overnight drama if there is any.
 
Re: 11/30 - Hadley AMPS 104

Laura, is there a link to a SS for him?

The 255 is probably a bit of bounce - so shooting the full dose was good. I just wonder if on the next low PS like that you should shave a bit off the dose - maybe to 1.6u or so. But, he may get used to the lows and not bounce back into high 200s as he gets used to them - if you hold the 1.75u dose.

Sorry about the car! That sounds potentially expensive if it isn't the plugs.
 
Re: 11/30 - Hadley AMPS 104

Hi Sheila, Yes, his SS link is in my signature. His name links to his DCIN blog/profile and the words "on Levemir" link to his SS. Sorry it's not more clear, I'm at the max on sig. characters and also have the max # of hyperlinks possible.

I totally agree with you on dose. If this wasn't a fluke then giving less on the next low PS is the way to go. I'm undecided about when or if to reduce until we see how tonight's cycle and tomorrow's AMPS shake out.

Car, ugh! Can't afford an engine rebuild right now. :evil:
 
PM+1 was 243 and +4 (onset) down to 91. Lovely # - I'm just not a fan of it off of a 200+ preshot. So I'm thinking I'll try to measure 1.6u tomorrow and see what that dose does. Maybe I'm just not holding my lower doses long enough...
 
Yeah, that's a big-ish drop.

I know that many folks using the Ls think 50s and even 40s routinely are fine, but I am not a big fan of the idea. Sure, some non-FD's have BGs in the 40s (none of mine, though), but usually 60-70s seem to be the normal lows. Even that is, to me, cutting it close with an FD. There's very little wiggle room for the variables that can send the BG lower. I always aim for the 80-100 as my goal.

I don't think that holding the 50s is a great idea, so if you also don't then why try to do it? You are experienced at this and are still learning his reactions. Maybe even him out on 1.6u to stop any bounces and then reassess. Maybe he will settle just fine, or maybe you will need to raise him to 1.7u. Time will tell.

OK - just checked SS. Can I ask why you raised his dose right after a nice curve on 1.5u? (on the 25th). Seems like he had just hit a nice level on that dose. I see in the notes that there was a late shot the evening before. Was the am shot that day early? I can't tell if or how you cot back on schedule after the +16.5. Anyway, that day's numbers make me think that 1.6u would be a good dose to try.
 
Hi Sheila, Thanks for your reply! AMPS today was 273 so I shot only 1.6u and will hold this dose unless anymore wonkiness ensues. My alarm did not go off for an overnight +7 check so not sure if he dipped back down again after the 124 at +5 after food and then bounced to produce this AMPS.

Ah yes, the 25th... :oops: On the 24th I went to Thanksgiving dinner at my aunt's house 2 hours away and I didn't split dose the boys to prepare for it since I didn't know what time I'd be home. I got home at +16.5 and in the stupidest move I've ever done since giving insulin, shot full dose for both boys. No good reason, rationale or excuse. Just stupidity. I had 1 glass of wine with dinner (I never drink despite all my online joking about it) and should have just skipped the shot for both cats rather than make dosing decisions. The 24th PM cycle was only 7.5 hours long. And the second stupidest move was not reducing Hadley's dose the next morning or changing the shot time. I gave full dose at the normal shot time which as we know acts like a dose increase. While the resulting cycle was beautiful and drama free, I took it as a sign that maybe he needed a dose increase so raised the dose .25u. Now I'm reversing my thought process and questioning if that good cycle on the 25th was because of the longer AM cycle the day before and the result of the shed drain????

The other variable I'm trying to get worked out are my syringes. I've been using up my last Relion syringes so I can switch back to the-company-formerly-known-as-Hocks brand GNP's which I like better. I pitched the last 7 Relions this AM because they all have mis-marked zero lines and I'm not sure if I've been taking that into account. At least I know the 1.6u I measured this AM is as right as I can get it. I have one of Vicky's recommended micrometers but mine arrived defective (LCD flickers in and out) and I didn't know this until it was too late to return it. :roll:

So looking forward to a verdict on the car today - not!
 
Laura, did you try a new battery in your micrometer? That flickering of the LCD is what happens when the battery is running down.

You might be right about the +16 shed drain. No harm done.

Good luck with the car.
 
ohmygod_smile NO, I didn't Vicky, I will try that tonight and see if that's the answer. Thank you.

Good news on the car - It WAS bad wires after all. Nothing wrong with the engine! (Of course, I'm pissed at the prior shop I used to go to who charged me for wires but never actually replaced them...Grrrr.)

Where's that bang head against wall smiley when you need it. :lol: :lol:
 
Laura and Harley said:
ohmygod_smile NO, I didn't Vicky, I will try that tonight and see if that's the answer. Thank you.

Good news on the car - It WAS bad wires after all. Nothing wrong with the engine! (Of course, I'm pissed at the prior shop I used to go to who charged me for wires but never actually replaced them...Grrrr.)

Where's that bang head against wall smiley when you need it. :lol: :lol:

Hey! Your day just got better on both counts. I experienced similar incompetent garages last winter and spent so much money needlessly. Suffice it to say I now take my car to the dealership for repairs. No more expensive than paying for needless repairs or incorrect repairs in my experience and they get it right the first time.
 
Vicky & Gandalf (GA) said:
Hey! Your day just got better on both counts. I experienced similar incompetent garages last winter and spent so much money needlessly. Suffice it to say I now take my car to the dealership for repairs. No more expensive than paying for needless repairs or incorrect repairs in my experience and they get it right the first time.

So true, I'm already starting to think on the bright side - at least it didn't happen on the highway at speed!

I'm glad the dealers out by you are good ones and trustworthy. Unfortunately the ones around here are neither - they don't know as much as they should and charge an arm & a leg. After much trial and error I finally found a place with mechanics I trust and who don't screw with me 'cause I'm a woman. It helps that it's about 1/2 mile from my house so I can walk if necessary.

Hadley's + 6 was 158 - kind of back where we were before the 24th.
 
OK - I understand the 24/25 situation (you might make a note of the short cycle to go with the long cycle note) You will probably want that info to refer back to and, if you are like me, you might forget the details later :roll: .

Well, if he is back where he was before the 24th, that is a good thing. Now you can hold the 1.6u and see if he gets some settle on it at decent numbers.

So glad your car doesn't need expensive engine repairs. I hear you on mechanics. That is so sad, actually. I'd hate to be a mechanic where everyone just assumes you are crooked until you can, hopefully, prove otherwise.
 
Hi Laura and crew! I was just popping on to see how sweet Hadley is doing and WOW! He sure has some pretty numbers! I hope everyone is getting along great over there :-D Scritches to the furbabies cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top