11/30 George PMPS 138. Shot .75 and just realized I shouldn’t have

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jade & George

Member Since 2021
PMPS 138

I made a mistake. I don’t know what to do. I have several kinds of wet food and kibble on hand but I’m so mad at myself I can’t think straight.
Wet:
Purina DM (this is what I’ve been feeding her, it’s 7 carbs)
Royal Canin Glycobalance - was going to return this but willing to open it. I believe it’s around 14 carbs
Stop and Shop’s organic brand: Nature’s Promise Tuna
Two or three other brands of fish wet food that I bought when I couldn’t find the natures promise.

Kibble: Purina DM, Royal Canin Glycobalance, and Nature’s Promise Salmon and Sweet Potato

I haven’t figured out the carbs yet.

I also have treats, a gravy packet or two, and of course honey.
 
Previous thread
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ing-meal-schedule-change.255773/#post-2883387
I'll tag a few members for you
Can you put the date instead of Day 12 in your title
11-30 George PMPS 138
Go to the top right it will say Thread Tools tap that and then Edit title, then save

Next time you go shopping pick up some med and high carb food
I'll give you some suggestions Try not to feed that much fish because of the mercury and heavy metals, maybe once or twice a week is fine

Med and High Carb food



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
 
Last edited:
So the good news is he usually nadirs around +4. And just last night I was thinking you could try 0.5 if he was close to 150.

Feed 2 tsp of the glycobalance. I'd prefer the wet, but if you need the money from the return the kibble is ok. Grab tests every 30 mins for now.

If he dips below 100 on AT we'll want every 20 mins probably. I'd say forget worrying about the Libre tonight it's just going to add complexity, I'd go straight off the AT.
 
Thanks everyone. I’m juggling this while caring for my parents who have cancer and Parkinson’s. I don’t go shopping (or anywhere besides their house and medical appts) bc my mom has no immune system due to chemo. I’ve been ordering stuff online but it’s not easy and it takes a while to arrive. Not excuses, just please know I’m doing my best even tho it may not seem like it.
 
Thanks everyone. I’m juggling this while caring for my parents who have cancer and Parkinson’s. I don’t go shopping (or anywhere besides their house and medical appts) bc my mom has no immune system due to chemo. I’ve been ordering stuff online but it’s not easy and it takes a while to arrive. Not excuses, just please know I’m doing my best even tho it may not seem like it.
I edited my previous post with an extra paragraph about AT vs Libre, just making sure you see it.

Seriously, no sweat. We've all been there. I've seen my fair share of kitties who have gotten double doses as well, even two different insulins. Good news is it's not that high of a dose and it's ProZinc, he'll be all right.

Fight the urge to overfeed for now, need him hungry later in case he drops
 
I'm so sorry about your parents ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
I know you are doing your best, you have a lot on your plate, you are doing a great job!

Nothing to be sorry about - I feel lucky to still have them both AND to have been able to move back here to be near them. They’re both in their 70s (dad just turned 79!) so no complaints. :)
 
Fed 2 tbsps Royal Canin Glycobalance at 6:35pm.
Freestyle Libre:
615pm: 156
630pm: 109
645pm: 86
Will test w AlphaTrak at 7pm
Was it wet or dry? If dry, give a tsp LC mixed with just a drop of honey. Im not sure but I believe the dry takes a little longer to kick in
 
AlphaTrak
7:40pm: 85
She stood up and turned to me like hey can I get a bg test here?
Fed her another 2 tbsps of Royal Canin Glycobalance wet and with drop of honey.
 
What gravy packets do you have?

We may need to start propping her up with honey in a bit here since I don't think you have HC
 
I must have given the gravy packet to my parents when they got a very thin rescue a couple years ago.

She went to her food bowl and meowed at me so I gave her a little more MC with another drop of honey but she doesn’t seem to like the way the honey feels in her mouth.

Sprinkled a few kibble on top and she’s interested again.
 
Ok. I'm not quite liking these drops with the food you're giving. You're not in danger zone yet, but you do have some time til nadir. Just trying to brainstorm.

Will she eat table food? Bread? Sweet potato?

How far are you from nearest vet that's open?

Rub some honey in gums and test again in 15 please.
 
If she's 68 or lower at this next test I'm going to send you to vet. You'll want to bring your meter and test strips, as well as your highest carb food and honey. Keep her in front seat, rub honey on gums as much as she'll let you.

To be clear - don't panic. It's just better to get you there now before it gets too much to handle at home. They'll need to get her on IV glucose, but it shouldn't be for long, just to get through nadir. No need to hospitalize overnight or through the day in my opinion. Just stay there for an hour or so after they remove the IV to make sure she's on her way up still.
 
AlphaTrak
8:22pm: 83

feeding anything she’ll eat.

spoke to emergency vet. They said I can bring her in if she’s under 70.

I’m actually good under pressure.
 
Feeding cans of glycobalance - she’s licking up the gravy.

giving kibble sprinkle on top too.

tried a little honey in her mouth but it didn’t seem like I got much in.

She’s never had people food.

I have yogurt, whipped cream, a few pieces of pie leftover from thanksgiving, deli ham,
 
AlphaTrak
8:22pm: 83

feeding anything she’ll eat.

spoke to emergency vet. They said I can bring her in if she’s under 70.

I’m actually good under pressure.
Ok phew I'm glad to see that she went up a bit. I would rub some honey on gums each test you do just for a bit of extra insurance.

At some point she's not going to be hungry or want to eat anymore...I just hope that's after she's come up
 
Vet said if I bring her in it’s a hospitalization and to expect 800$ charge. I’ll do it but they didn’t seem eager to see her.
 
Feeding cans of glycobalance - she’s licking up the gravy.

giving kibble sprinkle on top too.

tried a little honey in her mouth but it didn’t seem like I got much in.

She’s never had people food.

I have yogurt, whipped cream, a few pieces of pie leftover from thanksgiving, deli ham,
The honey is giving a quick boost. If she'll go for something else like a bit of whipped cream or ice cream that's ok too.

I'm looking for complex carbs to help keep her up through nadir. Rice, bread
 
Vet said if I bring her in it’s a hospitalization and to expect 800$ charge. I’ll do it but they didn’t seem eager to see her.
Not at these numbers, we'll just keep hoping she eats and stays up. My logic in sending you in the 60s is so that by the time you get packed up and there, you can keep doing what you're doing in parking lot. Hopefully she does well in the car and you just drive back home without even going in, but if not at least you're right there. Some people 45 mins+ from a vet so I always like to be proactive
 
You sighed - I started breathing again for the first time since I realized my mistake.

she’s still interested in food - I should withhold?

8:50pm: 123
 
You sighed - I started breathing again for the first time since I realized my mistake.

she’s still interested in food - I should withhold?

8:50pm: 123
Yes please withhold for now, I want to keep her hungry in case she dips again when honey and MC start to wear off.

Once she's clear of this, we'll figure out tomorrow's AM dose.

Your normal dose should be 0.5U now, this evening is definitely a reduction even though you shot lower than usual. Still trying to get a dose you can shoot consistently
 
I honestly don’t know what her standard dose is.

I had dropped to .5 after not needing insulin for two cycles (AM and PM in the 26th) but realized I shouldn’t have as she hadn’t dipped below 90 so I went back to .75 this morning.

.5 just didn’t seem to be doing the trick - she was still getting readings in the high 200s/300s regularly.

but I’m thinking I’d like to go back to .5 and stay there for a week as recommended in the dosing document. I have a really hard time reading the dosing document because it seems to contradict itself but I’m sure it’s just me not reading it correctly.
 
Ok. So 0.5U did not seem to do the trick with those higher preshots, but based on tonight it's a pretty safe bet it would be too much at lower preshots.

My thought is:
- Above 175, shoot 0.5U
- 150-174, shoot 0.25U only if you can monitor (and stock up on some foods - you'll want some around 13%, some around 17%, and in George's case I'd also grab something around the 23% range).
- 149 and below don't shoot (for now... eventually she'll probably need a drop or 0.1U dose somewhere in this range)

Then obviously any time below 90 is a reduction, per SLGS method

Hopefully a few days of that will help her even out and be more consistent between cycles.
 
AlphaTrak
9:30pm: 189

She’s totally unphased by all of this, and quite thrilled to have had such a variety of food tonight!

She’s happily curled up next to me on the most expensive blanket in the house (Rumpl camping blanket). :D
 
Spoiled kitty! This is how it happens, they turn into food snobs once they get a taste :joyful:

You're at +4 now I think, looks like a bounce coming. I'd let her eat whatever LC she wants, check her in an hour (or don't bother if Libre is reading ok). We usually say you're safe to rest once you're sure they're rising after two hours without food, but in this case I think you're good to leave her be.

Don't be surprised if she's pink or higher in the morning, she'll come back down eventually
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top