11/30 - Fitzel - Rough Seas and Pink Numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.
Pirate Fitzel's Condo Cove

The Pirate hasn't been feeling well at all these past three weeks. Unfortunately, neither has her MamaBean and that's not a good combination for managing blood sugar levels.

I'll recap the last few days:

11/27 - AMBG - 65
+13 - 95
+15 -187 - shot this - new 12 hour schedule created
+4 - 28
+4.25- 73
+4.5 - 114
+5.5- 159
PMPS- 234

11/28 - AMPS - 333
+3 - 248
+7 - 234
PMPS - 281
+5.5-283

11/29 - AMPS - 324 (new insulin bottle started - same kind of vial - 100u Lantus)
+2 - 292
+4- 175
+6 - 175
+8 - 135
+10- 84
PMPS- 196

11/30 - AMPS - 357
PMPS - 303
+2 - 160
+4- 234

As you can see - The Pirate's numbers are hideous. She's never been stuck in Pink like she is now.Or swinging from the 300's down to the 20's!! Up until 11/29, I'd been using the same Lantus 100u vial that I got when she started insulin back on June 28. I was thinking part of the problem with her awful numbers might be the insulin wearing out - (does insulin wear out?) So I got another vial and did a curve - what a mess - and look where she ended up this morning!!!! :shock:

Her appy is okay, but she's listless and not a happy girl. She wants to sleep on her heating pad (yes, the Pirate has her very own heating pad - she likes it on low - don't want to over-cook the kitty) - Lately, she'll sleep all day unless I wake her up to test, shoot or eat. She does get up to use the LB. Her behavior there is normal - except when she was diagnosed with Pancreatitis she was also diagnosed with IBD. Her poo is a little loose, but no where near liquid or runny. Her water intake and out go seems normal.

But, I can tell she's not feeling very good. She's on bupe for pain and has been consistently on that for a little over a month. Her u/s came out with no masses, nodules or organ issues, except for the Pancreatitis and thickened instestinal walls. That was done about three weeks ago.

I'm completely devastated by her numbers. We've lost any control over them and she's just swinging like a pendulum. I've been sick and was bedbound for a week - and that made for not the best testing and shooting regularity. But, we're trying to get back on track.

Sending healing vines to all in need - Beans as well as furrs. And Congratulations for those of you who've made it to the Falls while we've been away.

Shai and The Pirate Fitz
 
Sorry that you are not feeling well Shai. Hope you feel better soon! We must take care of ourselves so that we can take care of our kitties.
Fitze was having purple at PS but did come down to the blue & yellow. If you have been testing less, you'd never know if Friztel did have some low bg hrs & after that bounced to the purple. Dont worry too much about her swing, most sugar kitties swing, jump, dive! :lol: It's important for you to get better soon so that you can monitor on Fiztel. Is she under treatment for the pencratitis & IBD? Is she on ab? It feels awful to see our kitty not well.
 
Hi Tortie58 -

thank you for stopping by. Pirate Fitz is not on any a/b and nothing for the Pancreatitis except bupe. For the IBD nothing was offered or given. Though I must say that we have left the vet who did the u/s. I had thought I found a good vet, but we ran into a horrible situation with a medication mistake that I was so lucky to catch. When I brought the mistake to the Vet who runs the clinic, also the vet we had been using, they stuck up for the tech who made the mistake and said it was no big deal.

The mistake was in prefilling bupe syringes (oral ones, not syringes with needles) with DOUBLE the amount of medication that Fitzel was supposed to get. Luckily, it's habit for me to check them otherwise I would have OD'd Fitzel and that could have been disasterous. At the moment, I'm trying to get my records from the vet. When I have them safely in my hands I plan on posting a detailed report on Yelp, Angie's List and a nice letter to the State Licensing Board.

Do you know the protocol meds for IBD? The vet didn't say anything about an infection, but that doesn't mean Fitzel hasn't developed one. I'm looking for a new vet now, one who will support home b/g testing.

Hope all's well by you and all your furrs....

Shai and the Pirate Fitz
 
(((Shai))) I'm sorry to hear that you have been unwell as well as the Pirate. Have you read Marje's Primer on Pancreatitis? There was also a discussion on IBD on Tip's Condo today.

Helen is so right that you have to take care of yourself first so you can help Fitzel. Bummer on the vet, it is so hard to find a competent one who is up to date on what we need.
 
Shai:

If you want info on IBD, I'd suggest changing your subject line to include something about IBD help. There are a number of people here who have experience with managing IBD. Many cats do better on a diet of novel protein (e.g., duck, venison, or even kangaroo) or a raw food diet. With the latter, you may need to be careful since there is a greater chance for bacteria. You also want to stay away from any food that has a higher chance of being allergy-related (e.g., beef or fish) as well as grains and gluten. FortiFlora, a probiotic, may help with the loose poo and has the benefit of being somewhat of an appetite stimulant. Many cats with pancreatitis also benefit from Pepsid (famotidine; 1/4 of a 10 mg Pepsid AC tablet).

I don't think Fizel's numbers are "horrible" by any means. I do think you're seeing some bouncing. I also suspect numbers are running lower at night and you're seeing those pinks in the AM as a result. I know you have health limitations but getting at least one test during both AM and PM cycles will help you to know where numbers are heading and if more testing is needed.

You also really need to take reductions when it's warranted. Holding the dose after a 28 could be problematic.
 
I'm sorry you haven't been feeling well, but it's nice to see you here today. Fitzel's numbers aren't terrible! We wish we had those numbers, truth be told. But I know what you are used to and what you want. The new bottle may contribute some if the potency isn't the same. Leo has some GI problems, and the Fortiflora definitely helps him. My kitties have their own heating pads too, but they are made for animals and won't get too hot. We have two of the indoor mats here http://cozywinters.com/pets/ if you are ever worried about that. Good luck and feel better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top