? 11/30 Chispa, 133 AMPS, 100 +3, 70 +5.5, 281 PMPS, 331 +1.25, 357 +2.5 (?!?)

Karen and Chispa (GA)

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...3-amps-196-1-75-188-3-25.284085/#post-3127921

Good morning! Chispa's recent pattern has been to dive dramatically around PM+2 and then demand an entire pouch (or more) of 13% to keep her BG afloat. This seems counterproductive to me. I am trying an unearned reduction to see if (1) she can be more comfortable, and (2) I can get more sleep.

Happy Thursday -- may all kitties surf safely today! :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Seems like a good idea, Karen. I have wondered the same thing sometime when the dive are so low and so hard. Sometimes if seems like you are just feeding major carbs to keep them from totally crashing. Be safe and get some sleep :):bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you all for your words of encouragement! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

@Fistuk & Shelly and @cecile & bella: The diarrhea has improved only slightly, despite adding three different supplements and pumpkin to her food this week. Tonight is her last antibiotic dose, and I am really tempted to just skip it. Poor baby has suffered enough (and so have I).

@Mikanmama @Staci & Ivy @Diane Tyler's Mom, An hour ago, I would have said I was pleased with today’s steady surf after the reduction. But then came the PMPS. Hopefully it’s a delayed bounce from last night? I would have retested if there hadn’t been another poop emergency right then. Guess we will see what tomorrow brings.

Good night to all!
 
@Karen and Chispa
Poor baby and you with the diarrhea, hopefully when she's done with the antibiotics plus the supplements it will go back to normal.
What was her PMPS anyway
Hey Diane -- She surprised me with a 281 this evening, yikes!! I would have retested, but then I noticed there was a cleanup in aisle 7 -- and once that was done, it was so late that I just went ahead and gave her the shot without testing again.

I hope she gets back to normal by tomorrow, it's no fun, for her or you!
Thanks, Cecile -- I sure hope so too. And I hope she never needs Clavamox for anything else, because this is just too much. They offered Convenia, but I said no. Don't know if there are other, better options, but this has been no picnic for either one of us.
 
+2.5, wtf???

Yes this could be a bounce, but I literally have not seen pink in 2023, until now. I KNOW I gave her the shot. Even started a new vial.

She has been meowing and meowing, waking me up to test her, while her BG is climbing.

What could be causing this????
 
Thank you all for your words of encouragement! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

@Fistuk & Shelly and @cecile & bella: The diarrhea has improved only slightly, despite adding three different supplements and pumpkin to her food this week. Tonight is her last antibiotic dose, and I am really tempted to just skip it. Poor baby has suffered enough (and so have I).

@Mikanmama @Staci & Ivy @Diane Tyler's Mom, An hour ago, I would have said I was pleased with today’s steady surf after the reduction. But then came the PMPS. Hopefully it’s a delayed bounce from last night? I would have retested if there hadn’t been another poop emergency right then. Guess we will see what tomorrow brings.

Good night to all!
I'm sorry it didn't help quicker. I know how tough it is with diarrhoea. Fistuk had so much of it. I hope you find what helps more qckly. I often skipped the last one or two doses if I felt he didn't need it anymore...

Diarrhoea can affect BG numbers as well. :bighug::bighug:
 
Did she puke last night and again tonight?
Hi Bhooma -- Yes, both nights. I've been trying to make sure she eats something a few minutes before I give her shots, especially in the morning, because I think her frequent right after shots & meds has to do with an empty stomach (she's usually throwing up clear stuff, not food. And somehow the meds stay down, which is a complete mystery to me). I forgot to give her the snack before shots on Wednesday night, so that was my fault, but then last night she did have the snack and puked anyway, an hour after the shot, not immediately after like usual. I have an appointment with an internist on 12/13 to see if she might need a new ultrasound to make sure that whatever was ailing her two years ago, before we started her on prednisolone, hasn't progressed to something worse.
 
I'm sorry it didn't help quicker. I know how tough it is with diarrhoea. Fistuk had so much of it. I hope you find what helps more qckly. I often skipped the last one or two doses if I felt he didn't need it anymore...

Diarrhoea can affect BG numbers as well. :bighug::bighug:
Hi Shelly -- Thanks for this. I didn't know diarrhea could affect BG, though it makes sense I guess. I did end up giving her only 2/3 of the last two doses and skipping the final dose entirely -- I just couldn't see continuing to put her through this, when I know the infection (and the source of it) is no longer present.
 
A bounce from either low numbers, or a fast drop, that happened last night. That was such a big drop to +2.5 I would have been tempted to make sure she was safe after feeding. The reduced dose is probably adding to the mix. At least you can sleep well tonight. :rolleyes:
Hi Wendy -- Thanks for confirming the likelihood of a bounce. I wasn't completely surprised that it happened, only that it was so dramatically high (she hasn't gone pink in over a year). Maybe it's part of the feline conspiracy to keep us guessing.
Re: making sure she was safe, I did that by sleeping on the sofa in case she started meowing again after chowing down the entire pouch of 13%. She's very good about letting me know when she needs carbs!!:eek: When I finally woke up at 3am, she was sleeping so peacefully in her little nest that I didn't have the heart to wake her up and test her, so I just stumbled off to bed instead.:cat:
 
Back
Top