11/30 China AMPS 150,+5 99,+9 141,PMPS 133,+2 156,+6 180

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo

Wow, I can't believe it's almost December! Where did the time go??

China dipped her toes back into the lagoon today..YEAH!!!! Now to just keep her there is the trick! :lol:

Did finally remember to call a vet I found through the AAFP that's about an hour away and talked to her about how they do their dentals and finally found someone who I am comfortable taking China to. The vets down here just don't have the resources to have dental x-ray machines, dedicated anesthesiologists and all the other things that are needed for a good, safe dental with extractions. Now I just have to come up with the money! She said up to about $500 if there weren't any serious things they found once they were in there, and that included the bloodwork, x-rays, extractions, antibiotics and pain medication...that's a LOT better than the University of Missouri vet school where they start at $800 and that's just for a simple dental...extractions are extra and they said their average was $1000!! :shock: :shock:

The only thing that gave me some concern is that she said she likes them to get their regular dose of insulin the morning of the dental, and I'm not sure that's a good idea since from what I've read here, 1/2 dose the morning of is what most of you do (I think), but she was willing to let me give what I was comfortable with..although I can tell she's not as educated in diabetes..said that since she's on such a tiny dose (1 unit), it shouldn't be a problem...Oh well, at least she sounded nice and was willing to answer any questions I had. I'll take a print out of China's spreadsheet when we go for the dental..with any luck, it'll look better than it has lately

Hope everyone is having a nice weekend and if you're out shopping, you're not getting run over on your way to the $99 TV's :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/30 China AMPS 150,+2 171,+5 99

Great news about finding a vet who has a better handle on dentals (if not diabetes). I think there is just so much to know that they can't possibly specialize in everything. Like our hooman docs. Yay China for remembering the way to the lagoon! There's a whole slew of kitties there partying today. Hope they get a designated driver for the way home!
I'm still laughing about you getting mowed down the other day when you were trying to get a vacuum.. Sheesh people, have some class :roll: :lol:

Have a great day Chris!
 
Re: 11/30 China AMPS 150,+2 171,+5 99

Woohoo - China gets a greenio! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Or she would if her bean would give her one. :lol: :lol: Great cycle so far!

Few vets in the "big city" here have dental X-rays and just refer to the dental specialists. Easy enough when there is one nearby. Do you have any blood work newer than 6 months for China? If so, the specialist might take that which would be one less charge for you. I already emailed my last B/W to the dental specialist we are going to so they don't have to redo that.

Did you ask about feeding China? The one I'm going to was great once they found out Neko was diabetic. They'll book us in for the first surgical time slot and said I could feed her up to half her meal for AMPS (but to let them know how much) and to only give 1/4 of her shot. When she had a dental at my regular vet, it was no food after midnight and 1/2 shot. The feeding being more of an issue if they are having a great cycle that night.
 
Re: 11/30 China AMPS 150,+2 171,+5 99

Thanks for the visits Kim and Wendy!!

The last bloodwork was about 6 months ago at diagnosis, so I'm sure she's going to want to do it again. She said they could do it the morning of the dental though since she understands I'm an hours drive away.

The nearest "dental specialist" to me is over 4 1/2 hours away, but this practice does have a AAFP vet and the equipment to do the x-rays, along with someone whose only job is to pass gas and watch monitors so that makes me feel better.

Yes, I did ask about feeding when I asked about shooting the morning of the dental..she said I could give her a teaspoon of food with her shot, but I'm still a little wary of giving her the whole amount when she'll be having anesthesia that same day and only eating a teaspoon of food. I remember Crushy keeping Michele up all night trying to prop up his numbers the night after his dental.

I have to figure out how to pay for it first though, so I don't know how soon any of this will happen
 
Re: 11/30 China AMPS 150,+2 171,+5 99,+9 141,PMPS 133

Nice numbers for China today. I'm glad you found someone to do the dental for China. I hope you can come up with the money soon to pay for it. When Furball had her dental last year, I skipped her shot in the morning. I just didn't feel comfortable shooting a blue number knowing anesthesia can lower BG. Furball was fairly high for her PMPS, but she got back on track quickly.
 
Re: 11/30 China AMPS 150,+2 171,+5 99,+9 141,PMPS 133

Hi Chris .... Hope u have had a great Saturday ! Awesome to see China with the good numbers ;-)

Glad U have found a Vet that can do the dental. U take such great care of China ;-)
 
Re: 11/30 China AMPS 150,+2 171,+5 99,+9 141,PMPS 133,+2 156

Hi Chris,

I'm echoing the chorus on the congratulations for a reasonably-priced dental :-D I don't know if China needs extractions, but one of the things I learned during Tigger's latest eye-swelling / possible dental root fragment episode is that the dental films are not as defining / clear for uppers as for lowers, due to the zygomatic arch & that kittieshave such small jaws.. That might be something you'd want to discuss, just to see what your vet says, so you know what you're getting for your money.

Also, regarding dives after surgery, our vet had Tigger fast, I gave only 1u of Tigger's regular f1.75u dose, he had no R during surgery, but bupe & IV fluids. I gave the regular PM dose, but only a little food every half hour, & his #s got away from me as well. That didn't happen the first surgery, even with R, but it did this time & it was scariest drop we've ever had. I think the difference here was the lack of food - the last time I fed more at PM meal. So - I definitely agree with your caution here!

I'd like a job where I could just "pass gas & monitor" :lol: :lol: :lol:

Congrats, too on the :mrgreen:, today, China! Keep lovin' that jooce & stay in the pretty blue/green colors!

Thanks too Chris for visiting us & keeping us company the last few days during Tigger's illness - we appreciate your support & company!
 
Re: 11/30 China AMPS 150,+2 171,+5 99,+9 141,PMPS 133,+2 156

I remember that night well Suzanne..and that's another reason I'm so concerned with giving a whole dose the morning of..even with a teaspoon of food. They'll be giving her fluids (which I've seen seem to bring BG numbers down for a short time), plus the effect of the anesthesia, I just don't think I could do that.

The extraction I know needs to be done is a bottom tooth, so hopefully it'll show up well in the xrays

As for the job passing gas, yeah, seems like an easy one, but I doubt if you'd have many friends :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/30 China AMPS 150,+2 171,+5 99,+9 141,PMPS 133,+2 156

I'd be interested in what you ultimately decide for the dose -

:lol: :lol: :lol: Yeah, popularity would be an issue - but - my ultimate fave job along those lines would have to be cutting the cheese! :lol: :lol: :lol: My nephew gets that job every year!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top