? 11/30/19 Charlotte amps 58; +2 49; +3 61;+4 72; +5 54; +6.75 57; +8.5 50; PMPS 86; +2.25 63;+4 84

Charlotte and Lucky’s mom

Member Since 2019
Good morning everyone! Well she stayed green all day yesterday - thankfully all was well. Tree bought and in a stand with water and house partially decorated. No work today- not on the schedule, so Yay!! It was a good thing bc she was mischievous this morning and obnoxious at 5:17am so I caved and gave her a few treats just so I could sleep more. Ugh! Not sure if she was low or what. Hopefully no funny business today. I have to take my daughter to ballet and send off my oldest to return to college before we get slammed with snow. Keep you posted!
 
Okay so with her pattern, I usually check +3 bc usually ok but something told me to check before ballet. Of course we’re 49! Just fed her some gl and HC. Guess the hubby has to take my daughter now. Oopsy not too happy with that. :eek: Recheck at +2.5. Quick breakfast for me now bc she already ate.
 
Surfing steady in the greens this afternoon with a little steering. Does she really earn that reduction again where she just had one??? Don’t want to lose how far she has come. Thoughts???
 
I think @Wendy&Neko told me the other day that once kitties have been on Lantus for a year they can use the 3 x below 50 to get reductions - however Charlotte is fairly new at this so I'm going to say the TR protocol applies here and she gets a reducie tonight. Do you have your calipers ready? That'll be a tricky one to do without calipers...

I've also tagged Wendy above to see if she's around to advise you.

Great job on catching that lower number this morning... Charlotte is looking great btw! Looks like she's on a mission!
 
I think @Wendy&Neko told me the other day that once kitties have been on Lantus for a year they can use the 3 x below 50 to get reductions - however Charlotte is fairly new at this so I'm going to say the TR protocol applies here and she gets a reducie tonight. Do you have your calipers ready? That'll be a tricky one to do without calipers...

I've also tagged Wendy above to see if she's around to advise you.

Great job on catching that lower number this morning... Charlotte is looking great btw! Looks like she's on a mission!
Yes I ordered and received them already. Have to rewatch that video to learn how to calibrate for Walgreen u100 3/10 needles. I don’t think there are any measurements anywhere.
 
Sue- I’m assuming once I figure what each 1 unit is equivalent to in mm, then I can just do the math to figure out the fractional equivalents of the smaller units- .25,.125 etc.
 
Good catch

A single drop below 50(human meter) will earn a newly diagnosed kitty a reducion.

Usually we do not like to take back to back reductions, with the depot being in play, back to backs will often not hold . Though it does depend on cat and it's particular circumstances.

So Charlotte had a reduction just 3 cycles ago, the depot could still be affecting dose, but we are getting into marginal territory.
 
@Marje and Gracie -are you around to help Charlotte's mom?
Sorry...I haven’t been. I had company from Wed through this morning and am just getting back on the board. Looks like Gill got here, though. :) However, Charlotte’s mom PMd me and I gave her some info on calipers so I think we’re good!

I think @Wendy&Neko told me the other day that once kitties have been on Lantus for a year they can use the 3 x below 50 to get reductions -
That’s not exactly correct and perhaps it was the way it was worded because I know Wendy is completely on the same page with the rest of us on using that reduction method.

Here’s how it really works. If a cat, even one that is newly diagnosed (dx under one year) has a history of failing reductions, the CG can use the method of three drops between 40-50 on separate days before giving a reduction. It’s not three drops below 50 because any time any cat drops below 40, the dose must be reduced by 0.25u. Of course, for a newly dx cat, they can also earn reductions by a drop below 50 (if they don’t have a history of failed reductions) or a week in normal numbers.

A long-term diabetic (more than one year) can earn reductions by ONE drop below 40 or 3 drops between 40-50 on separate days or one week in normal numbers.
 
Sorry...I haven’t been. I had company from Wed through this morning and am just getting back on the board. Looks like Gill got here, though. :) However, Charlotte’s mom PMd me and I gave her some info on calipers so I think we’re good!


That’s not exactly correct and perhaps it was the way it was worded because I know Wendy is completely on the same page with the rest of us on using that reduction method.

Here’s how it really works. If a cat, even one that is newly diagnosed (dx under one year) has a history of failing reductions, the CG can use the method of three drops between 40-50 on separate days before giving a reduction. It’s not three drops below 50 because any time any cat drops below 40, the dose must be reduced by 0.25u. Of course, for a newly dx cat, they can also earn reductions by a drop below 50 (if they don’t have a history of failed reductions) or a week in normal numbers.

A long-term diabetic (more than one year) can earn reductions by ONE drop below 40 or 3 drops between 40-50 on separate days or one week in normal numbers.
So I took the reduction. Should I have not done so?? How will I know - numbers in the blues vs her steady greens at the moment??
 
So I took the reduction. Should I have not done so?? How will I know - numbers in the blues vs her steady greens at the moment??
You correctly reduced. I was just clarifying that newly dx can also use the three drops reduction method if they consistently fail reductions. Charlotte doesn’t so it doesn’t apply to her.

You are using one drop below 50 :D
 
Back
Top