11/30/11 Sid AMPS 219 +6 90 PMPS 321 +3 257

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/30/11 Sid AMPS 219 +6 90 PMPS 321

Would it be possible for you to get a +2 or a +3 on a regular basis? I'm wondering if Sid dropped lower than the 90 today. I'm thinking that if you're able to get a test in a bit earlier in the cycle, you'll know if Sid's numbers are dropping. He's definitely bouncing but it looks like he's clearing the bounces pretty quickly.
 
Re: 11/30/11 Sid AMPS 219 +6 90 PMPS 321

I wonder, too, if he dropped lower than 90. I came home on my lunch and checked him at +6 but can't check him any earlier than that during the week and unfortunately, I can't do that every day. I did feed him a meal just in case. He was ravenously hungry but that is typical. I can go up right now and get a +2.5 to see where he is. But I do think the lower dose is much better for him - just judging by today anyway.
 
Re: 11/30/11 Sid AMPS 219 +6 90 PMPS 321

Hi Lydia, I just read Sid's Profile and what a story of how he came into your life. He sure had an Angel looking over him more than once. What a lucky kitty to have you as his Bean, and I know he is ever so grateful. Have a good night.
 
Re: 11/30/11 Sid AMPS 219 +6 90 PMPS 321

Thank you, Ann. I think I am the one who is lucky. I couldn't have adopted a better cat. Sometime I will share with you all the newspaper article about him that was published when he still lived in Seattle. He was famous!!
And he still is famous to me. :-D
 
Hi Lydia & Sid,
Ann's post sent me to Sid's profile page, too. I think you and he are extremely lucky to have found each other. Best of luck with settling on a good dose. It looks like you're on the right track.

Wishing you a fine evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Wow....what an awesome story!!! We are big supporters of Best Friends and have been there. I really, really admire you for giving Sid such a wonderful loving home.

Nice numbers for him today but seems his liver did not like that 90....or possible lower number?

Thanks for your post on our condo:
I don't understand people either, at all. How about she just feed all the cats wet food? But what it comes down to is that most people will not do anything to inconvenience themselves when it comes to their pets. As soon as the pets get challenging, they are done. I do a lot of rescue work with cats and you would not believe some of the reasons people give for wanting to give up their pets. If a cat develops a disease like diabetes, forget it. People are actually shocked that I give insulin shots to my cat let alone test his bg several times every day. I also give fluids to my CRF foster cat every day and she just started on an inhaler for her asthma plus her pill for high blood pressure. Plus Sid gets eye drops multiple times every day. I do all this because it is what has to be done, what other choice is there? None. Her excuse that she is too busy to test the cat is ridiculous. I work full time plus do rescue work and I still manage to get my cats the home medical treatments they need and I am NOT a vet tech. Anyway, I know I am preaching to the choir here. Everyone on FDMB is amazing and the amount of love, medical care, and attention you all give your cats is such an inspiration to me.

I could not agree with you more. To me, you take on these sweet souls, you do all you can to make sure they have a long, healthy life. Bless you for all you do.
 
Oh I think Best Friends does such amazing work. It is such an inspiration to me to see the care they provide some of those cats. I give my foster cat her subcutaneous fluids the way they give fluids, which is by using a 60 ml syringe and an extension line set. I can give Whisper the fluids in about 1 minute. It is so easy and painless for both Whisper and me.

Interestingly though, Best Friends caregivers do not test the diabetic cats before every shot and the diabetics have full access to dry food along with wet food. Of course, I have mentioned to the caregivers how they should test before every shot and they tell me that is something the vet techs do when they do the bg curves, which is probably not all that often... They do use lantus at least for one of the cats I know for certain, which i am glad about. Though the diabetics probably don't get tested as often as I think based on what I found out the last time I was there, Best Friends is a wonderful place and the care they provide most cats is top notch, for sure.

Anyway, I am keeping a close eye on my Sid. He has only lived with me since May but what a joy. I can't imagine life without him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top