11/30/11 Marilyn AMPS:415, PMPS:512, +4:556, +5:411, +9:397

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barn Cats R Us

Member Since 2011
Hi All, Marilyn Munster Monroe has questions regarding Marjorie's original "welcome instructions" (pasted below). I, of course, understand exactly what Marje meant, but Marilyn is terribly confused. She doesn't understand the "etiquette" instructions at all. As soon as one person is helping, is it no longer a 911, or do you want as many eyes on it as possible? Why go back to the first condo if you've posted a 911 thread? What does the "edit, none, submit" accomplish? Is the "none" to remove the 911? Thanks so much! Deb & Marilyn

Marjorie said: "The "911" is for emergencies like if you test her and she is at a really low number and you need help right away. The etiquette is that as soon as someone comes on to help you, go back to the first condo of the day, click on "edit", click the "none" button and submit."


Marilyn's Yesterday: 11/29/11 http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=57555

Marilyn's Today: 11/30/11
AMPS = 415
PMPS = 512
+4 = 556
+5 = 411
+9 = 397
+10 = 396
 
Re: 11/30/11 Marilyn AMPS:415, PMPS:512

I think it looks like it's time to up the dose. Can you get some spot checks in, if you do?
Let's see what others have to say.
 
Re: 11/30/11 Marilyn AMPS:415, PMPS:512 New Question!

OR, I may be wrong, and maybe, you'll be advised to wait the 5 to 7 days to let the new insulin settle in to build a shed.
 
Re: 11/30/11 Marilyn AMPS:415, PMPS:512 New Question!

Is the "none" to remove the 911?

Yes, that's exactly right. You need to edit the first post to remove the 911 and hitting "none" will remove it without adding anything additional. If you still want more eyes on your condo after someone has come on to help you, you can use the "?" icon instead of none. That always brings people around to help out.

And btw...with Marilyn being at such high numbers, and her shed will have filled already since she's on a small dose, I think you should definitely increase her when you next shoot. According to the protocol, you would increase by 0.5u since her nadir's are above 300, so her dose would be 1.5u. If you have reluctant to increase by 0.5u, go ahead and increase by 0.25u, but if she doesn't see improvement, into the yellows at least, within six cycles (three days), you'll need to increase her again. If you have any questions, keep asking!!!

ETA: Are you checking for ketones? With numbers as high as she has, it's really one of the most important things you can do!!
 
Re: 11/30/11 Marilyn AMPS:415, PMPS:512 New Question!

A "911" is for a dire emergency. It may be the first time you are seeing numbers below or near 50, ketones, or some other medical emergency. It's not regarded as a trivial use of an icon. It will bring people running. If you want people to take a look, something like "Eyes Please" or, just like you did -- "Question," will also bring people to take a look.

How long you keep the icon in place is a judgement call. I just wouldn't let it sit there for hours and hours especially if you've gotten the help you were asking for. Usually, the people who are helping you will stick around to make sure things have calmed down. If they can't, we usually make sure there is someone experienced who can hang out with you. We don't just leave you to fend for yourself. (FYI - don't use the candle or rainbow icons. They signify that a cat has died.)

What Marje was trying to communicate, is that when you want to remove the 911 icon, you go to your first post in the thread, click on the "Edit" button above the test box, then click on the radio button next to "none" which will delete the 911, then click on "submit."

I would encourage you to raise Marilyn's dose. It's been 5 days. Nadirs are above 300 so I'd suggest raising the dose to 1.5u per the protocol.
 
Re: 11/30/11 Marilyn AMPS:415, PMPS:512 New Question!

I think the 911 "button would be pushed" if it is an immediate need, like all eyes on deck now, I need help now, kind of situation. You don't have to take it off as soon as the first person is helping you, but as soon as the emergency has been resolved, I would take it off.

One thing you do need to do, is not Edit and change (the box in) you first post of the day.
You want to Reply to your condo and post your next question in the new box that shows up.
You can Edit your first Subject Line to add the word "Question" or whatever word(s) you choose, but people that have already read your condo, will think that they have already read your first post of the day, too, and skip over it.
Please just Edit your first Subject Line and then hit Submit, and then do a Reply at the end (bottom) of your condo to add whatever new question you have in the new box that pops up. You can also, if you want to, click on the ? button in the first condo and in the new Reply box, to guide people where to look.

Sorry, if I'm confusing you.
 
Re: 11/30/11 Marilyn AMPS:415, PMPS:512, +4:556 Another Ques

Thanks all. Don't worry about confusing me...I started out that way. Let's see if I have this straight: In a 911 situation, would I be starting a new "thread", but still linking all previous condos, as usual? Or, changing my daily condo to a 911 icon, with the new 911 "reply" message typed in the new box...which would land the 911 info at the bottom of the daily condo? Sorry, but I need to have this straight "before" an actual 911. I hope I'll never have to use it.

Patty: In regards to the ketones, she showed a 0.7 mmol/L on Monday afternoon. I gave SQ fluids Monday evening. I believe Carl asked, in Monday's condo (while I was dealing with a "Clarky 911" over in Health) , whether 0.7 mmol/L was worrisome...but I don't know if anyone saw it, since there was no reply. I'll do another blood ketone test tonight, and I will increase her Lantus to 1.25 or 1.5 units. I don't think my old eyes will see 1.25 very well. We shall see...no pun intended.
 
Re: 11/30/11 Marilyn AMPS:415, PMPS:512, +4:556 Another Ques

You do crack me up!! :lol: :lol:

Ok, let's see if I can explain it better...it's so hard to explain. I wish I could just come over and show you!!

You only have one condo per day. If you have an emergency, you will edit the subject line of your FIRST post to read HELP and you'll click on the 911 icon. Hit submit at the bottom of that first post which will save your subject line to what you just edited it to say, but will leave your first POST as it was first written. Then you go to the very bottom of your condo, after everyone's posts, and hit "POSTREPLY." This will bring up a new box, which will already have the subject line written in as you just edited it, and you will write what you need to write in this box. Anytime you need to write a new message or answer someone in your condo, you'll hit "POSTREPLY" at the bottom and put it in a new box.

I hope that was more understandable!!!
 
Re: 11/30/11 Marilyn AMPS:415, PMPS:512, +4:556 Another Ques

If a 911 is needed, I would not start a new thread, but change "Edit" the one you already have up for the day, so that everything is there in one place.

Good luck with the new dose.

I know how hard those quarter units are to measure. I have old eyes, too :lol:

Keep asking us any questions, you have.
 
Re: 11/30/11 Marilyn AMPS:415, PMPS:512, +4:556 Another Ques

Patty: That was absolutely "purrfect"! You explained it like a...wait...it's coming..."Champ". :lol:

Dyna: Thanks. I'm off to schedule a memorial service for our eyes! If it's too soon for yours, let me know...we don't want 'em trying to claw their way out of the casket. :o
 
Re: 11/30/11 Marilyn AMPS:415, PMPS:512, +4:556, +5:411

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I like your sense of humor...

celi
 
Re: 11/30/11 Marilyn AMPS:415, PMPS:512, +4:556, +5:411

I'm so happy that the other gals around know me so well that they could so perfectly decipher what I was trying to say.......what an awesome group :lol: :lol: :lol: Let's see "uh....that's Marje speak for ......". :lol: :lol:

One other thing....let's say you get up in the morning, haven't opened a condo yet, test her, and get a 40 at her PS. If it's the first time and you have no idea what to do and want "eyes immediately", then open a condo, put in the subject line:
Date(whatever it is), Marilyn, +12 40 and hit the 911 button and then put something in the text box that sounds real panicky like "OMG I just tested her at +12 and she's 40!! What do I do"? Hit submit.

Then once you get help, you can take the 911 off as explained and continue on with that condo as your condo for the day. We can't overemphasize ONE CONDO/CAT/DAY. ;-) ;-) ;-)

And Sienne is right....or whoever said it....when people see "911", they get on there fast and people will stay with you so you probably won't need it on there very long. Unless, of course, I run to your rescue and you think "heck, I never
can understand a thing she says so I'll wait for the next person to come along". I would so totally understand :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Good luck with the dosecrease and on a serious tone....you should be getting a ketone test every day....

The other thing that helps with old eyes is getting a 3X magnifying glass with LED lights. I LOVE mine. Here it is: Magnifying Glass
 
Re: 11/30/11 Marilyn AMPS:415, PMPS:512, +4:556, +5:411, +9:

Thanks everyone for all the info...and thanks most of all for interpreting "Marje speak". If I'm too old to see the lines on a syringe, I'm definitely too old to learn a new language. :lol:

Seriously Marje, you've done a great job with explaining things. It's one thing to advise on FD treatment, it's quite another to provide tech support in writing. That kind of thing is best done with "remote access" to one's desktop!

I only have a couple blood ketone test strips left. I just purchased 60 more on eBay, for only a few dollars more than I paid for 10 strips a week back! So I held-off on testing since Marilyn has been more like her old self today...for the first time in a couple months. Actually, I don't know why, since her BG remains so high...but maybe she just feels better, as opposed to the "off the meter" highs, and then sudden drops, of Humulin usage.
 
Re: 11/30/11 Marilyn AMPS:415, PMPS:512, +4:556, +5:411, +9:

One other thing....most of us just use ketostix to test for ketones as it is cheaper than the blood ones. I think if your cat is prone to ketones or has had DKA, the blood/meter ketone test is better. But if you tested with the urine strips and got a "trace", then you could use the more accurate blood test. Again...it would save you alot of money esp with the need to test every day with these numbers.
 
Re: 11/30/11 Marilyn AMPS:415, PMPS:512, +4:556, +5:411, +9:

Marje,

Thank you...but...darn it...I was going to give everyone a heads-up in advance. I had a feeling at least one person would let me know about the low cost of urine testing. I already have the urine test strips (and a new plastic ladle), however, I need to go with the blood testing in my situation.

Nighty Night,

Deb
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top