11/3 Pickle AMPS 253 +5 98 +7 112 PMPS 103 +3 90 +5 73

K & Pickle

Member
Previous

lots of action here recently. Would appreciate some input in regards to dosing. How long I should hold for or when to increase. I guess we're bouncing one cycle and clearing the next? Or we got some 24 hour cycles going, haha. I almost increased back to 2.25u this morning because I thought I was noticing trending back upwards. But he's still dropping relatively low and if he's bouncing, I thought I better wait longer and ask for advice. Thanks
 
I'm not a dosing expert, so I can't give specific advice. But while you wait for someone else to chime in, it might be helpful to review the Tight Regulation (TR) guidelines--
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
(Bolding for emphasis.) Pickle has only been seeing green/nadirs under 100 for a few days, so TR protocol would indicate holding each dose for 10+ cycles before you increase. Today's AM cycle will be cycle 7 on 2u, so per TR you would probably want to hold it for a few more days before deciding to increase.
 
I'm not a dosing expert, so I can't give specific advice. But while you wait for someone else to chime in, it might be helpful to review the Tight Regulation (TR) guidelines--

(Bolding for emphasis.) Pickle has only been seeing green/nadirs under 100 for a few days, so TR protocol would indicate holding each dose for 10+ cycles before you increase. Today's AM cycle will be cycle 7 on 2u, so per TR you would probably want to hold it for a few more days before deciding to increase.
Thank you for your response. I've gone over it many many times. It's just that he was at 2.25 for a while and when I increased to 2.5 that day he dropped a lot, and I didn't shoot that pm, then decided maybe to stick with 2.25 for a while, but then got the 47 in the PM 10/30 and dropped to 2u.

  • If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction. Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding an in-between the dose.
But I feel you're point is valid and I should just chill and hold. Things just got exciting so fast!
 
Last edited:
As above, hold doses with green nadirs (note the plural) for 10 cycles. After a reduction, you hold the dose long enough for any bounce to be over and see what his new nadir level would be. If you see his numbers start to creep up and he loses the greens, then you would consider increasing again. Remember to discount the bounce cycles. Some cats will go higher just before they are going to break a bounce and come down. Meaning, be patient if you see an unexpected higher preshot.

Things just got exciting so fast!
I agree, it does look like there's been a change in Pickle. How is he feeling/acting these days? Cats are so much more than their numbers.
 
How is he feeling/acting these days? Cats are so much more than their numbers.
He's been feeling really great! So playful. Even hyper zoomies! We have a shoe lace I tied some knots into that we play with. I call it playing "flicky string" and we run around the house chasing it and pouncing. I also have a bunch of packing paper out from halloween stuff that he loves to dive into and roll around and be silly. All thing we have always done, but lost while he was sick. So happy my Pan the man is feeling better. That's what we've always called him, our little lost boy Pickle Pan the man. Youthful spirit that never grows old.

Also gaining some weight, coat looks and feels amazing.

I say all that, but this morning he was acting a little stand offish and strange w/ enlarged pupils. May have been the numbers, or maybe a fluke. I'll have to keep an eye on. But overall so great!

Thanks for your input!
 
Back
Top