11/3 Milo +12/73 PMPS/108 +2/75 +4/54 +4.50/81 Gravy worked

Status
Not open for further replies.

milo

Member Since 2011
Sorry I do not have a condo from yesterday, my schedule was nuts. Milo seems to be doing alot of surfing in the green when I give him his normal dose of 1.25, when I stall and shoot a reduced of course it makes the numbers bigger the next day, my question is based on his data in the evening, would it be wise for me to shoot his full dose tonight?? I am stalling right now because he isnt rising as of yet... I am still a little confused about his "surfing" and shooting when he is low, and finding that right dose. Can someone help me be a little clearer on this? and maybe have a sugestion as of what to do?
Today's numbers:
amps / 133
+3 / 159
+6 / 82
+7 / 69
+8 / 64
+10 / 82
+12 / 73
 
Re: 11/3 Milo +12/73 Need advise about my data

Hi...just bumping your post up for experienced, and saying HELLO!

celi & binks
 
Re: 11/3 Milo +12/73 PMPS/108 Need advise about my data

I stalled for 15 mins, thats all I could do and he rose up to 108, I shot a reduced dose of 1.00 unit. I would still appreciate if someone could give me some insight as to what is going on with his numbers, and if you feel like his 1.25 is a good dose for him, I dont like to keep jumping his dosing around like I have lately, when I stall etc..
 
Re: 11/3 Milo +12/73 PMPS/108 Need advise about my data

I don't think Milo is going to give you a choice when it comes to shooting low. Ideally, you should be shooting the full dose twice a day. It looks like you're around enough that you could easily manage his numbers with HC food if you needed to. I think the issue is getting you comfortable with shooting numbers that are in the higher greens. As long as you're around to monitor, have strips, and HC food, you can shoot. If you need people to watch you're back, we're happy to do so! It's nerve wracking the first time you start to shoot low. We've all been there and remember what it was like.
 
Re: 11/3 Milo +12/73 PMPS/108 Need advise about my data

I know, you are right I am soo nervous about shooting green, and I need to be more consistant, and comfortable with shooting them....Thanks for the advise, I am going to work on not letting my nerves get the best of me, thanks!!
 
Re: 11/3 Milo +12/73 PMPS/108 Need advise about my data

Hi Milo's bean,
Sienne always gives good advice. It really is best to shoot a consistent dose.
As I understand it (someone please correct me if I'm wrong), you either stall (to see if he's coming up and if he is you shoot your regular dose), OR you shoot a reduced dose. You don't do both. If you choose to stall, remember that your next shot will be 12 hours from the time you shot. You will then have to gradually move your shot time back to its normal time.

Milo has great numbers!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/3 Milo +12/73 PMPS/108 Need advise about my data

I think you answered your own question right here:
milo said:
Milo seems to be doing alot of surfing in the green when I give him his normal dose of 1.25, when I stall and shoot a reduced of course it makes the numbers bigger the next day
Best way to be sure is to shoot low when you're home and able to test. Then you'll see if this is a good, safe dose to let him surf, or if he needs a reduction. Are you comfortable managing a curve with food?
 
Re: 11/3 Milo +12/73 PMPS/108 +2/75

Ya I always answer my own questions because Im not all that confident yet with knowing what he will do from hour to hour...I have never managed a curve with food before, Milos a bit stubborn so my fear is he wont eat when I want him too.. these are things I am goiing to work on and do for sure because at some point I know you just have too!! Ugh I let this consume me so I get a bit flustered, but I guess its just part of the journey! Thanks so much!!
 
Re: 11/3 Milo +12/73 PMPS/108 +2/75

Keep in mind that you are in FL and there are many of us on the West Coast who are now 3 hours (and soon 2 hours) behind you and so there's typically someone around to help you through low numbers at night and managing the food curve.
 
Re: 11/3 Milo +12/73 PMPS/108 +2/75

Since you haven't given Milo HC before, you have no way of knowing just how much kitties like gravy!! They LOVE gravy. I doubt that it will be a problem to get him to eat HC food.
 
Re: 11/3 Milo +12/73 PMPS/108 +2/75

lol OK thanks, I will keep that in mind!
 
Re: 11/3 Milo +12/73 PMPS/108 +2/75 +4/54 Should I feed HC?

I just tested Milo and he is 54, should I be giving him HC food when its this low?
 
Re: 11/3 Milo +12/73 PMPS/108 +2/75 +4/54 +4.50/81 Gravy wor

Gravy worked, thanks.. went up to 81, wow that works fast lol
 
Re: 11/3 Milo +12/73 PMPS/108 +2/75 +4/54 +4.50/81 Gravy wor

That's the advantage of gravy -- it works quickly. It raises numbers fast and wears off relatively quickly. However, that also means that numbers can wobble around as the HC wears off. Generally, you want to feed about a teaspoon or less of HC. Surfing in the 50s or 60s is fine. You'll start to get a feel for how much HC you need to steer Milo's numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top