11/3 Jackson AMPS 382 +1 399 +2 377 +3 336 +5 335 +8 349 +11 356 PMPS 342 +2 350 +4 289

Skye & Jackson

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-1-new-member-skye-jackson-a-tough-start.270338/
Hopefully I’m posting this right (link and all?)

I did briefly wake up at +10 to pick up his food as directed, so that his BG wouldn’t be food influenced. Per his Libre graph; it looks like he took a brief dip to about 260 around +11, quickly rose again after that. Gave 1.5u of Lantus. He ate well, drank after. Now’s he’s just laying on the floor chilling.

I still haven’t gotten him to pee for a ketone test, not all night! Unfortunately I think he used the litter box while I was out getting the supplies yesterday evening. But I would think he should need to by now! I have an extra hour and a half before work today, thankfully, to hope to catch one, but I’m extremely anxious. I have no idea what his ketones are until he pees, and my fertile imagination is coming up with ever higher ones. If he’s gonna be this difficult to get a urine sample from every. single. day. (he certainly has been in the past for other reasons: he hates any change to his litter box) I’m thinking I may have to Amazon a ketone blood meter stat. Since apparently no store within half an hour’s drive carries one…
 
He peed!!! Waited for me to leave the room of course…

If I did it right, because he managed to almost entirely miss the plastic by digging it up so I had to use the add-a-little-water method (he uses a non-clay World’s Best litter that breaks its “clumps” down really easily), his ketones are negative! Whoohoo! I seriously didn’t expect that after his history - I was fearing the worst. I’m so relieved!
 
Last edited:
Just double checking: today’s numbers are still good to keep giving the 1.5, I shouldn’t increase or anything? I know that’s what I was told, and it makes sense to me to let things settle at a dose for a few days, but I was letting things ride way too low too long! Now I just want to make sure.
 
Just double checking: today’s numbers are still good to keep giving the 1.5, I shouldn’t increase or anything? I know that’s what I was told, and it makes sense to me to let things settle at a dose for a few days, but I was letting things ride way too low too long! Now I just want to make sure.
Welcome to the LLB forum. I'm so sorry for all poor Jackson has gone through. It's safe to say he sounds very well loved!
I just read your intro new member thread and @Bron and Sheba (GA) recommended to hold the dose for 3 days. If it were me, I'd stick with the 1.5 unless he drops under 50.
Fantastic news re neg ketone test :cat:.
Have you had a chance to read (and read and read and reread lol) the stickies here. It's great info.
 
I have read a lot of them, yes. And yes it’s very good info. I’m just second guessing everything, heh. I have spent the last five weeks reading everything official and reputable I could get my eyes on about cats and diabetes and insulins, trying to figure out the right things to do, while still ending up doing it wrong (the vet actually didn’t help with that, as nice as he is; I’m guessing his advice was more for uncomplicated patient….)

So I’m second guessing, now. Thank you all for your patience. I will stick with the 1.5.

Jack is well loved. And very loving in return - if you’re human. He barely tolerates the other cats. He’s one of those rescues that was a traumatized basket case that at first you weren’t sure was gonna turn around, then became your most adoring and appreciative (if still sometimes “quirky”) cat. Ironically, though I wouldn’t want this for any of our kitties, Jack is probably the easiest one to medicate, orally or with a needle. While being the touchiest/crabbiest about other annoyances. It’s a real mix with him. But he loves wholeheartedly, as touchy as he can be.

YES on the ketone test. I really didn’t even think it would possibly be zero! My thoughts were just, how bad is it? I guess his appetite has worked in his favor!
 
I have read a lot of them, yes. And yes it’s very good info. I’m just second guessing everything, heh. I have spent the last five weeks reading everything official and reputable I could get my eyes on about cats and diabetes and insulins, trying to figure out the right things to do, while still ending up doing it wrong (the vet actually didn’t help with that, as nice as he is; I’m guessing his advice was more for uncomplicated patient….)

So I’m second guessing, now. Thank you all for your patience. I will stick with the 1.5.

Jack is well loved. And very loving in return - if you’re human. He barely tolerates the other cats. He’s one of those rescues that was a traumatized basket case that at first you weren’t sure was gonna turn around, then became your most adoring and appreciative (if still sometimes “quirky”) cat. Ironically, though I wouldn’t want this for any of our kitties, Jack is probably the easiest one to medicate, orally or with a needle. While being the touchiest/crabbiest about other annoyances. It’s a real mix with him. But he loves wholeheartedly, as touchy as he can be.

YES on the ketone test. I really didn’t even think it would possibly be zero! My thoughts were just, how bad is it? I guess his appetite has worked in his favor!
He sounds like a dream. I ❤️ him already! You're doing great. You don't have to learn everything all at once! Me and Cleo have been diabetes dancing for 10 months now and I reread the stickies daily lol. The people here are so wonderful and supportive. It's certainly helped me with my anxiety and fear caring for my girl. It will help you too.
Lantus is a great insulin for cats but it can take time. Best to invest in a comfy pair of patience pants.
 
I am capable of being very patient, as long as I have some assurance that he’s not going to suddenly end up in trouble because of something I gave my best guess to… really, just having direction and someone(s) walking me through this is such a relief. I seriously have barely had any downtime that I didn’t spend trying to learn more and more and worrying. Not much relaxation in a month. I’m mentally exhausted. I understand medical papers and physiological explanations well enough to have gotten this far, but it’s very fearful going it alone. I almost took progress and turned it into a disaster because I didn’t realize it was still part of the progress. Thank you all.

And no, I don’t think 50 is gonna happen any time soon…

Now I need to actually chill out and read something enjoyable, or watch Netflix, for a change… and just snuggle with my boy.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top