11/3 Emma 151 AMPS; 88 @4.25; 76 @5.5; 91 @6.75

Manuel

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-24-emma-amps-176.270004/

Hello! I'm really happy that as of about 5 days ago I am seeing more blue and lower peaks at pre-shot time. This coincides quite closely with my switching to new, more accurate syringes.

Now, I believe I received advice months ago that I could shoot over 150, but that was also at a time when more of Emma's food was high calorie. I've been slowly reducing her high-calorie dry food (vet-prescribed); it now makes up only 18% of her calories whereas before it was perhaps 66%.

That would suggest to me I shouldn't shoot today, since she's at 151 (on her higher ear; she consistently shoots ~10 lower on her other ear). But I also notice that Emma is starting lower now at pre-shot. So I'd need to make the adjustment eventually, anyway. I have also thought about potentially just giving a bit more dry food at feeding time on days that Emma is starting lower? She really does respond a lot to the proportion of sugary dry food.

Any advice would be appreciated!
 
Last edited:
You have shot 164 yesterday. 151 is the same number if you consider meter variance. Can you get a test later in the cycle?
 
Yes, definitely! I am home today.
Then you are good to shoot. :-)

If the reason you are feeding dry food is that she likes the crunch, you could look at freeze dried meat. It is low carb and gives cats the crunch of dry food. There are also low carb options in dry food - Young Again, Dr. Elsey's Cleanprotein and Wysong Epigen 90.
 
Then you are good to shoot. :)

If the reason you are feeding dry food is that she likes the crunch, you could look at freeze dried meat. It is low carb and gives cats the crunch of dry food. There are also low carb options in dry food - Young Again, Dr. Elsey's Cleanprotein and Wysong Epigen 90.
Thank you. I figure it's good to have a number as a guide; although 164 and 151 are within the margin of error of each other, presumably it's possible that 151 has a lower "real" value than 164 does (if they each are wrong in the lower direction, e.g.). Should I use 150 as my no-shoot number?

I feed dry food because Emma has stomach sensitivities and supposedly the vet-prescribed dry food I give her is easy to digest. Yet since I've given her the limited-ingredient wet food (a novel protein for her), I've been able to way reduce it, which suggests to me the dry food may not be necessary. I will keep slowly reducing it until she's barely getting any dry food. She responds very strongly to reductions in dry food so I've had to be quite gradual.
 
Should I use 150 as my no-shoot number?
With SLGS, you can shoot any number over 90 - especially if you can monitor. Lantus is actually very good at giving flat cycles when shooting low.


I feed dry food because Emma has stomach sensitivities and supposedly the vet-prescribed dry food I give her is easy to digest. Yet since I've given her the limited-ingredient wet food (a novel protein for her), I've been able to way reduce it, which suggests to me the dry food may not be necessary. I will keep slowly reducing it until she's barely getting any dry food. She responds very strongly to reductions in dry food so I've had to be quite gradual.
Which protein is she allergic to?
 
With SLGS, you can shoot any number over 90 - especially if you can monitor. Lantus is actually very good at giving flat cycles when shooting low.

Which protein is she allergic to?

Interesting to know Lantus can give flat cycles when shooting low - thank you. It certainly feels as though 0.25u at 8.x shouldn't put her in danger territory, but I've just never been there. I gave a tiny bit more dry food than usual before shooting so I'm pretty sure she'll be fine today, but in the future I'll shoot over 140 if I can monitor. The very best thing is that it feels like Emma is healing. She hasn't shot up at the end of a cycle as she normally does.

I don't know which protein she's allergic to. She has IBD, and used to vomit a lot when I wasn't giving a lot of prednisolone and vet dry food. Over the past 4 months, I have reduced the prednisolone dosage (from half pill every 2 days to a half pill every 3.5 days) and given her a low-calorie wet food that she seems to be able to stomach. I won't mess around since it seems to be working, but ideally I could bring Emma to be eating only 10% dry food and maybe eventually take her off it altogether, assuming she can stomach just the wet food.
 
+4.25: 88 (pretty typical descent). I gave her a portion of her second snack early.
+5.50: 76

I think this means it's a reduction, since I'm on SLGS? Do I go down to 0.1, then? Could someone explain how that works?
 
Last edited:
Thanks. She's back at 91 @6.75. I'll try to aim for 0.1U as best I can. And then I guess after that, I will try to reduce the dry food further still.
 
Why didn't you shoot? 139 is a safe number to shoot with SLGS.
I didn't shoot because I've never shot at 139 before, and since she threatened to go towards 50 earlier in the day (even though I shot a higher number), I worried she might do so again. (I offset a dip lower than 76 by giving high carb food where usually it's LC.) I can't stay up till +5 or later to check BG or feed high carb food, unfortunately, since I work very early in the morning. We'll see how she is in the morning.
 
Congrats on the reduction
49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg
 
Back
Top