11/29 Walter AMPS 111,PMPS 238

The take action number with a pet meter 68, below that we recommend you start feeding HC to boost the BG numbers up
15 minutes ago
Can you get another test now?

I thought that we were only allowed one entry a day.
One thread a day.(we call them condos)
But you can comment as much as you like, by making seperate posts. If you do that it bumps you up to the top of the list and folk can see you so it's good to do if you need help.
 
The take action number with a pet meter 68, below that we recommend you start feeding HC to boost the BG numbers up

Can you get another test now?


One thread a day.(we call them condos)
But you can comment as much as you like, by making seperate posts. If you do that it bumps you up to the top of the list and folk can see you so it's good to do if you need help.
Thanks--not sure how I can comment without starting a new thread but I'll worry about that later.
Just tested and he's at 77
 
Thanks--not sure how I can comment without starting a new thread but I'll worry about that later.
Just tested and he's at 77
This guy's numbers are all over the place. Was going to boost him up by .25 this morning but then he read at 111 and I gave him his usual dose(2)--maybe that was a mistake.
 
Ah, good, the HC brought him up a bit! Hold off on more food for now, but test again in 30 to make sure he's still up.

Thanks--not sure how I can comment without starting a new thread but I'll worry about that later.

You already have, with these replies!
 
BG now 94
Great no more HC for now.
But check him again 30min time make sure he is still staying up without any added carbs.
Do you think so? His numbers have been pretty high overall.
The drop below 68 earns him a reduction. Lantus dosing is based on how low the dose is getting the cat and the 2u got him too low.
On SLGS a drope below 90 would earn him a reduction. It's important to take reductions when they are earned.
 
Yes, reduce. Walter is bouncing a lot which is just temporary higher numbers. It isn’t safe to keep him at a dose that gets him below 68.
 
Great no more HC for now.
But check him again 30min time make sure he is still staying up without any added carbs.

The drop below 68 earns him a reduction. Lantus dosing is based on how low the dose is getting the cat and the 2u got him too low.
On SLGS a drope below 90 would earn him a reduction. It's important to take reductions when they are earned.
Ok--will test him again in 30 minutes.
 
If he is holding steady when you next test him, you can leave it for another hour to check.
He may well bounce up high from the earlier low, so don't be surprised if that happens, it's not unusual.
 
It’s basically the same number. You could give a tsp of low carb food to keep him surfing but right now he’s still safe.
Ok—maybe I’ll hold off and test again in 30 minutes. This was just luck that I caught it this morning. I usually work during the week but I’m home because of the holiday. Worries me about what would happen if I’m not here?
 
One suggestion - a lot of people who work, will get up a little earlier so there's time to test/feed/shoot - do what you need to do to get ready for work - test before leaving the house. If the number has come down; then you'll want to leave medium or high carb food. An auto feeder at this point would be very helpful so that the food is continually offered throughout the day - at least every two hours.

Excellent job on testing this morning.

And this comment will bump your condo to the top of the forum.

And everytime you or anyone else makes a new comment, it'll go to the top of the forum.
 
Ok—maybe I’ll hold off and test again in 30 minutes. This was just luck that I caught it this morning. I usually work during the week but I’m home because of the holiday. Worries me about what would happen if I’m not here?
BG=84. I'll give him some food
One suggestion - a lot of people who work, will get up a little earlier so there's time to test/feed/shoot - do what you need to do to get ready for work - test before leaving the house. If the number has come down; then you'll want to leave medium or high carb food. An auto feeder at this point would be very helpful so that the food is continually offered throughout the day - at least every two hours.

Excellent job on testing this morning.

And this comment will bump your condo to the top of the forum.

And everytime you or anyone else makes a new comment, it'll go to the top of the forum.
One suggestion - a lot of people who work, will get up a little earlier so there's time to test/feed/shoot - do what you need to do to get ready for work - test before leaving the house. If the number has come down; then you'll want to leave medium or high carb food. An auto feeder at this point would be very helpful so that the food is continually offered throughout the day - at least every two hours.

Excellent job on testing this morning.

And this comment will bump your condo to the top of the forum.

And everytime you or anyone else makes a new comment, it'll go to the top of the forum.
One suggestion - a lot of people who work, will get up a little earlier so there's time to test/feed/shoot - do what you need to do to get ready for work - test before leaving the house. If the number has come down; then you'll want to leave medium or high carb food. An auto feeder at this point would be very helpful so that the food is continually offered throughout the day - at least every two hours.

Excellent job on testing this morning.

And this comment will bump your condo to the top of the forum.

And everytime you or anyone else makes a new comment, it'll go to the top of the forum.
I have a dual auto feeder but I think will try to find one that has multiple sections. Walter seems to be hungry all the time.
 
Walter seems to be hungry all the time.

A symptom of a non regulated cat. It'll get better once his numbers come down and stay down for a while.

The reason he's hungry is because he hasn't been able to absorb any nutrients from his food...and wants to just eat and eat and eat.
 
Congratulations on the reduction Zelda! That must have been a little scary today, but you did great and you were in such good hands! :bighug: Scritches to Walter! :bighug:
 
A symptom of a non regulated cat. It'll get better once his numbers come down and stay down for a while.

The reason he's hungry is because he hasn't been able to absorb any nutrients from his food...and wants to just eat and eat and eat.
Absolutely, but in my experience, a cat can also behave ravenous when BG drops fast and/or lower than they are used to.
 
Back
Top