11/29 Tiny Solè AMPS: 87, +3:121, +6:102, +9: 167, PMPS:146

Joanne&TinySole

Member Since 2018
YESTERDAY

AMPS: 87 at 7 AM
Time for a reduction again?
Or is the 87 not big enough?
I know...anything below 90 on SLGS; i thought I'd get thoughts.

It's a funny thing...
I've learned how she responds with and without snacks, so my 4 or 4:30 AM and PM test is more to help her surf safely to get her to the pre-shot. It's not spot on consistent, but if it's mid to late in the Lantus cycle, anywhere from +7 to +10, she really tends to drop if she doesn't get a snack. I'm not comfortable to have her ride without a snack, unless I need some sleep. I've been hypoglycemic myself...its a horrible feeling and I don't want her to go there if it can be avoided.

Last night was a great example. I tested at midnight, gave her a good snack, up at 4 AM to test and gave another safe surfing snack and sure enough, she came upstairs to tell me she was hungry before my alarm went off this morning!

This sure is an interesting process to observe and strategize an approach on!

Have a good day and may all kitties surf safely and all beans be well.
XOXO
 
It's good you've learned her patterns and she lets you know if she is hungry. Maybe today's numbers will let you know for sure if you should take the reduction.
 
Nice AMPS. Yes those hypos on us humans are a horrible feeling. DH had now learned (after 2 episodes he witnessed) when I say I need to eat he knows to stop immediately (when we are out) and get something fast. I always carry something with me but sometimes it isn't enough.
 
Great observations for Tiny! I'm sure it makes things easier. Bailey typically has a burst of activity when she is dropping quickly so she let's me know when she is clearing a bounce. Not consistently enough for me to feel comfortable, though, since I've caught a few unexpected 50s during a regular test.

Nice AMPS, btw
 
Don't forget the Blue #'s are great but your goal is to see a LOT of Green If you reduce too soon she may go back up .

Have a Great day! :D

Yes, holding the dose to see what she does.
Here's a question:
So, if she's hungry and telling me, even though she's in the upper or mid 80s, isn't it prudent to give her a small (tsp) snack of LC FF rather than making her stay hungry and have her BG drop more?
 
isn't it prudent to give her a small (tsp) snack

I feed Ravan" whenever" he's hungry. Usually raw meat but sometimes low carb canned food. In the beginning he went off all his food & that was the worst experience! I tried so many foods & he just would not eat.
I had to syringe feed him for days (not pleasant!) So now he wakes me up during the night when he's hungry & YES I feed him. Maybe because of the Diabetes & Kidney disease but he's not overweight. Actually on the lower side I can see his waist looking down.
I know being over weight is not good for his diabetes.
 
So, if she's hungry and telling me, even though she's in the upper or mid 80s, isn't it prudent to give her a small (tsp) snack of LC FF rather than making her stay hungry and have her BG drop more
Another ECID thing in my opinion. Menace would do a better surf if I gave her a little snack than if I made her wait. She seemed to get food stressed and would usually rise a bit rather than keep surfing or dropping if I made her wait for a regular snack/meal time.
 
She seemed to get food stressed and would usually rise a bit rather than keep surfing or dropping if I made her wait for a regular snack/meal time.

Oh my gosh...this makes total sense! She's already food obsessed, I don't ever want to stress her more by withholding food, even if it's only a small amount to hold her. Im going to keep giving those snacks so i dont stress her! Good information, Linda - thanks!
 
Back
Top