11/29 Sandy, Low numbers today, AMPS 104 +3 28 +3.5 37

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandy96

Member Since 2012
Good Morning!
Yesterdays Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=84005

She has continued to surf the greens, but they are a bit on the low side today so far. When I tested her at midnight she was on the way up and over 100 so I shot it with 1u insulin. The, got up and tested at +3 and of course she had to make mama stay up for the rest of the night, ~O) is def needed this am :lol: Thankfully she tends to be asymptomatic and is usually willing to eat when her sugar is low so I gave her LC Pet Cuisine Tuna and Sole and Sheba Beef flavor between +3 and +5.5. this usally boosts her sugar up and then other than a few extra tests shes good to go, this am however I had to break out the FFGL and give her that as her numbers wouldnt come out of the basement. Will reassess at +7.
 
Dani --

Great job of handling those low numbers! I would encourage you to go right for the HC food when you get a number below 40. You really don't want Sandy to be surfing in the 30s. There's no margin for error when numbers are that low. You want to use HC to bump numbers into the 50s or 60s and then keep testing every 30 min. until you see two consecutive tests where numbers are in a safe range. You need to be attentive since as HC food wears off, numbers can drop back down.

Here's the info on handling low numbers.
 
Have been watching her and doing bg check every 30 minor so. She just hit 50, so will test again in 30 min and make sure shes still climbing. This is her second trip below 30 since dx and she didnt show any symptoms of Hypo either time, just being a normal Bug , alert and purring whenever you come near her. I prob should have gone for the high carb first, but with previous below 50's she was easily managed with her reg food and monitoring, this time she didnt respond that way after to rounds of LC. I will remember and go for the HC next time (hopefully wont need to remember).

There is a member on the main board: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=83981 that could prob use your words of wisdom. Her kitty is apparently in a pretty bad case of DKA at home no Ketostix or blood glucose readings available (new diagnosis i believe) and she says going to the vet is out of the question till her "orientation" appt this eve. BJM, Squeem3, Hillary and Maui, and I are tryng to convince her but are getting nowhere so far. Maybe another experienced voice of reason can help.
 
Thats what I was just getting ready to ask, this is her 4th cycle surfing green (2 blues in 4 cycles) and second trip below 50 in the 4 cycles. Bug just came out of her cabinet and to a donut bed nap time in the living room now :lol:
 
Thanks, Dani. I posted on Health.

Please keep testing until you see Sandy's numbers are staying in a safer range. You can't always rely on LC bringing numbers up. A lot depends on where in the cycle a drop occurs and how carb sensitive your cat is. If I see numbers below 40, I don't mess around with LC.
 
Thank You to Sienne, I hope your posting helps!!
I plan to test as much as I need to, Brian got paid so can go get more strips if I need to (shouldnt tho for the time being). Barb I always have fun, LOL esp when I misspell easy words :lol: Should I be looking to reduce to .75 u yet? Or continue holding at 1 for another cycle or 2 (its only been about 2.5 days total at 1u)?
 
Thanks Tara!!
Shes slowly coming around and I plan on getting a bit of a nap this afternoon if I can since I really need to go to the gym this eve to play basketball and workout with some friends and my Hubby :RAHCAT
 
Yikes on the low numbers! Good job handling them today. Sandy is looking great. You might want to use the "?" icon on your first post and put something like "Dose advice?" on your subject line to get eyes on what you should give tonight.
 
That's two straight cycles with a number under 40, and you could have reduced this morning.... so yes, the next shot would be .75u for sure.
Please get a test as soon as your read this?

Great job bringing Sandy up slowly, and with no bounce so far!

Carl
 
Dani:

Please take a look at the TR Protocol guidelines:
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Not reducing the dose when numbers drop below 50 is risky. It puts Sandy over her good dose.
 
Am gonna Reduce tonight and thank you for answering, I was offline for a bit and not able to check in so missed. Her sugar at +1 was 120 and +3 is 176 so she is still feeling the effects of the extra food earlier today including the HC. Sandy is doing good , is up and about, laying in the sun on a donut bed, purring and chirping whenever I come near her :-D
Time for me to start supper and get ready for Hubby to take care of the kitties when he gets home so I can actually get some gym time in today and a nap before the up till midnite shift starts. Am hoping that she doesnt top 200 on this bounce, but will reduce dose no matter what tonight.
Thanks again
 
With a dip down into the 20s, I'd be shocked if there wasn't a bounce, so don't worry about it. ;-)

Carl
 
Of that I have no doubt :-) Shes stll doing good so am gonna go to the gym and leave Brian a note to check her sugar when he gets home. Can you guys also watch the thread in health I linked to earlier, Ihave a feeling we will be seeing a candle there at some point in the near future.
 
Thanks Bob and Sienne for watching the thread and attempting to console and help LittleFella with her kitty. I am surprised about the results of the vist.
Sandy on the other hand is def bouncing :-D She had a bg of 235 at 7 tonight (DH didnt stop here before coming to meet me at the gym). She is doing just fine right now and after getting a raw chicken treat earlier is not very hungry. SHe should eat well later. Will see ya'll later its supper time and then nap time before midnight testing time.
HAve a nice evening, I will be in and out till after AMPS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top