11/29 Prince + 5 122. 127 AMPS stalling need help

Hi Lisa. Not a lot of folks up and about just yet. You did great yesterday. You could shoot the full dose today if you want to, and if you have plenty of testing supplies and your hypo kit ready. I know you’re not comfortable with these lower numbers yet, though.

My suggestion is to shoot less, maybe 1.0 unit instead of 1.5. Last time you reduced to 0.25 and Prince’s numbers shot way up into the red and pink.
Would you be comfortable shooting 0.75 or 1.0 unit then getting a test at +1?
 
Good morning!

You're doing great! I might have suggested shooting 1.0u if I'd been awake.

If you don't mind, let me provide a bit of Lantus philosophy. Ideally, you want to work your way down to shooting progressively lower numbers. I was a TR Protocol user. With TR, ultimately you are able to shoot any number above 50 (with some exceptions). SLGS isn't quite as aggressive but the idea is to be able to shoot pretty much anything above 90. It looks like you've shot your full dose with a pre-shot in the 180s. You'll want to think about what the next lowest number is that you would feel comfortable shooting so when Prince has a pre-shot close to that number, you'll be mentally prepared.

It helps (or it helped me) to remember that Lantus onset isn't until about +2 for most cats. You're also feeding your cat at shot time. Along with insulin from the previous cycle wearing off, both of these factors cause numbers to keep rising until onset begins. Granted, at this point, it's a bit hard to see this kind of pattern on Prince's spreadsheet. (I can't quite tell where his nadir typically falls, either.) The more data you accumulate, the easier it will be so have a handle on Prince's patterns.
 
Good morning!

You're doing great! I might have suggested shooting 1.0u if I'd been awake.

If you don't mind, let me provide a bit of Lantus philosophy. Ideally, you want to work your way down to shooting progressively lower numbers. I was a TR Protocol user. With TR, ultimately you are able to shoot any number above 50 (with some exceptions). SLGS isn't quite as aggressive but the idea is to be able to shoot pretty much anything above 90. It looks like you've shot your full dose with a pre-shot in the 180s. You'll want to think about what the next lowest number is that you would feel comfortable shooting so when Prince has a pre-shot close to that number, you'll be mentally prepared.

It helps (or it helped me) to remember that Lantus onset isn't until about +2 for most cats. You're also feeding your cat at shot time. Along with insulin from the previous cycle wearing off, both of these factors cause numbers to keep rising until onset begins. Granted, at this point, it's a bit hard to see this kind of pattern on Prince's spreadsheet. (I can't quite tell where his nadir typically falls, either.) The more data you accumulate, the easier it will be so have a handle on Prince's patterns.
Good morning! I'm glad you're asking for advice; it's the best way to learn. You will eventually feel more comfortable shooting lower numbers, likely. It's a mental switch once you can see the trends with your cat and you're prepared for any lows (have the hypo kit stocked up).
I can honestly say that it took me a while to feel comfortable but handling a fewer lower-than-I-was-used-to situations and the support of members here made it all ok. Milo is on TR and I think I have shot as low as 70 or slightly less. You have to be around to monitor, have lots of strips and MC and HC food on hand. I also keep Fortiflora on hand in case Milo decides he isn't interested in eating. I have also syringe-fed when it was necessary to get some food into him. It's not much of a struggle. Good luck!
 
Wow! It is so cool that Prince is in the blue! I know those numbers can be nerve-wracking but you are doing great, and better to give a little less until you feel comfortable with shooting in lower numbers. With Zoot! his nadir (also on Lantus) was at +4, every cat is different (ECID). Good luck and I hope Prince has a good day.
 
Ok. Meaning shoot the full 1.5 at lower than 180, or shoot a lower dose at an even lower number? If so, how do I know what to lower the dose to? That’s where I struggle.
 
I would shoot the full dose at 150 or close to it. now. When people have data some shoot at 90. I’m not suggesting you do that yet.
 
What if I can’t be home to monitor? I could prob grab close to a +2 most days before leaving for work. Full dose at 150 and what dose at lower?
 
What if I can’t be home to monitor? I could prob grab close to a +2 most days before leaving for work. Full dose at 150 and what dose at lower?
Those are low numbers, but i see Prince is up to the Pink at PMPS. So that 1.5 U made sense. If you can test at +2 and +4 tonight those might be good to know. Might want to ask @tiffmaxee about the dose tomorrow AM and your not being around to monitor.

It seemed to me she was saying to go to 1.25 U, but I am not sure if that is what she meant.
 
I think you need to get an auto feeder for work days. What is your current feeding schedule?
I currently feed him whenever he’s hungry. He has lost a few pounds in the last few months but has put 0.5 lbs back on. Usually feed 6 AM and again around 8. My daughter is remote learning so most days she’s able to feed him around 11, and then my son or husband can feed in afternoon. I do no food after 4, to be ready for PMPS. then I’ll feed a few times during the evening. Usually 1.5-2 cans per day (5.5 ounce cans). With tonight’s high +2, is there a need for a +4? He’s really tired of being poked today.https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1gDGtazHPwRX_JLe2d3ovuxrviCcGn6SGoUni8HGd4f4/edit
 
He’s bouncing from the nice cycle today. You don’t need to test any more tonight. As long as they feed him tomorrow I think should be able to shoot n the morning. If not sure, add for dosing advice. What time do you shoot? I’m on the west coast so won’t be up but I can ask @Sue and Luci or @Chris & China (GA) to check on you.
 
If you aren’t sure whether to shoot tag Sue & Luci and Chris &China. One of them will likely be on.
 
Back
Top