11/29 Paisley PMPS/135 2.5/217 6/127 8.75/45 9/47,66 11/73

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lylene & Barry

Member Since 2009
Paisley's amazingly short 11/28 condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=57415&p=624089#p624089

This will be Paisley's 3rd cycle of 2.25u. That was decreased from 2.5u. It looks like her body is starting to get this insulin thing figured out. :idea: She's bounced a bit from dropping down to 29 but nothing like her typical bounces. I'm very happy to see so much green and blue. I'm going to have to keep a close eye on her because I have a feeling that she's not going to sit at 2.25 very long.

We have no history on her to know onset or if there was some event that precipitated the diabetes.

With Barry he was a stray but he but he escaped the shelter and was in really bad shape when someone brought him back. He spent a long time in the sick room. That is what we think kicked in his diabetes. With proper food and the Lantus, that seemed to be what his body needed to heal. That and love. Serious on the love. He's an amazingly affectionate cat and everyone loves him. At the shelter, after he got out of the sick room, he was given run of the shelter and took the role of greeter. Probably worked at Wally World in a previous life. :lol: When he was still on insulin, I would take him to the Saturday morning Farmers Market as it was during shot time. He loved it. There was a knapper there who frequently brought a friend who was very withdrawn. Barry was in a harness and leash and would go sit with this guy. He seemed to know that something wasn't quite ok with this guy and he needed a friend. Maybe I should check into him being a therapy cat. Isn't one of the LL cats a therapy cat?

Thinking about it, having free range at the shelter is probably why his diabetes was caught so quickly. Had he been in a cage, it might have taken longer. The shelter is always overrun with cats. Cats have taken over the garage and the Animal Control truck parks outside. The cat count now is over 100. They have specials where the adoption fee is a bag of food or litter. Feral/barn cats are always free. They do an amazing job with what they have. Monday to Friday they get prisoners from the county jail who do community service to decrease the time they have to spend in jail and people who have been sentenced to community service. Without them, I can't imagine what the shelter would do. They clean cages, empty litter boxes, clean indoor and outdoor kennels, feed and water and give animals as much attention as time allows. It's a crappy job, literally, but I guess it beats sitting in jail all day.

Enough rambling. My social life is rather limited living so far out of town with Paisley's frequent testing. Talking to the cats and my drooler only goes so far. DH spends so much time working and is exhausted when he does get home. I get rather lonely. So I take it out here sometimes. Most of the time I end up deleting most of that I write.

Hope everyone has a good day.
 
Re: 11/29 Paisley AMPS/127, +2/170

Paisley is looking good this morning. Se knows what to do with the juice!

I am sooo happy you didn't delete this morning. I loved getting a window into your life! I hope you have a great day, Lylene.
 
Re: 11/29 Paisley AMPS/127, +2/170, +5.5/96

This orange tabby looks lovely in green. She'd prefer emerald green, though. Emeralds, even, for her crown.

Thanks Linda. It's a strange life sometimes. :lol:
 
Re: 11/29 Paisley AMPS/127, +2/170, +5.5/96

Hi Lylene,
I didn't know that Paisley was a DCIN kitty. Thanks for visiting Rusty's Anniversary condo yesterday and for this very interesting description of your local shelter. It sounds like a creative, progressive place, where everyone pitches in (the cats, too, in their various roles).
Good luck with Paisley's new dose and with a trip down the dosing scale. She's looking very good.

Wishing you a good day,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/29 Paisley AMPS/127, +2/170, +5.5/96, +7.5/75, +9/75

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Hi Lylene,
I didn't know that Paisley was a DCIN kitty. Thanks for visiting Rusty's Anniversary condo yesterday and for this very interesting description of your local shelter. It sounds like a creative, progressive place, where everyone pitches in (the cats, too, in their various roles).
Good luck with Paisley's new dose and with a trip down the dosing scale. She's looking very good.

Wishing you a good day,

Ella & Rusty

Yep. Venita found her on Craig's List. No, I have no idea why Paisley was there. Venita found someone to go to the shelter and teach them to home test and get her on Lantus and FF. The shelter she was in was in is located in Fremont, MI. If you have absolutely no idea where this is, not a problem. Pull out your Lower Peninsula map. That would be your right hand. Palm facing you, fingers pointed up. Bottom knuckle on the pinkie finger is pretty close to Fremont. See, wasn't that easy and so much fun? :lol: I went down to pick her up so there was no transportation to arrange. If you want to know where I live, pull out your Upper Peninsula map. Umm, that would be your left hand, palm facing you, fingers pointed to the right (horizontal). Raise your thumb. I live at the tip of the pointer finger, which is also borders Ontario, Canada. BTW... the thumb has nothing to do with where I live but it's part of a proper map. It's called Copper Country and is very beautiful. Actually, the Upper Peninsula is a beautiful place.

That was your geography lesson for today. There will be a test on this material. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 11/29 Paisley AMPS/127, +2/170, +5.5/96, +7.5/75, +9/75

It sounds great! Now I have to find that map so I can pass the test!!

Ella

p.s. We live 1 finger from the Quebec border.
 
Re: 11/29 PaisleyAMPS/127 2/170 5.5/96 9/75 11/134 P/135 2.5

Miss P might have gotten a couple bites of HC food at PMPS +3

Linda for Weezer said:
Can I bring my cheat notes to the test?

yes, cheat sheets are fine. Don't forget to bring your own map, Ella. :lol:

Off to something I wanted to attend at the Pickford Library. Can't remember what it is now but it's at 6:30, which gives me 10 minutes to put the poultry in lockdown and 10 minutes to get there. Hope they have snacks. :-D
 
Re: 11/29 PaisleyAMPS/127 2/170 5.5/96 9/75 11/134 P/135 2.5

"I can't forget, but I can't remember what" ~ Leonard Cohen

Whatever it was, I hope you enjoyed it.
 
Re: 11/29 PaisleyAMPS/127 2/170 5.5/96 9/75 11/134 P/135 2.5

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

you need to stop deleting most of what you've said...
I FIND YOUR CONDOS TOTALLY ENTERTAINING!!!!!!!!

celi
 
Re: 11/29 Paisley PMPS/135 2.5/217 6/127 8.75/45 9/47 HELP D

Paisley's +8.75 was 45. Fed LC/HC mix. +9 was only 47. Gave her HC.

This is her 4th cycle of reduced dose - 2.25u from 2.5u. Her AM shot is due at 3:00am EST. I know that usually it's 6 cycles before changing doses but what do you think about doing another decrease to 2.0u for her AM shot?

Bit of history for this... I missed a dose decrease on 11/24. I thought I had decreased but wrote the wrong dose, leaving it unchanged. Then I missed another decrease 11/27 rushing to do visiting family stuff. She dropped to 29. I think she's ready for a decrease but don't have the experience to be certain.

SS is up to date. Going to test her again after I post this.
 
Re: 11/29 PaisleyPMPS135 2.5/217 6/127 8.75/45 9/47,66 HELP

+9.5ish was 66. Realized the time on the monitor I'm using right now is off by several minutes and messed up my #s. I test, feed, wait 15 minutes then test again.

Still looking for help with AM shot. It is due in just over 2 hours.
 
Re: 11/29 Paisley PMPS/135 2.5/217 6/127 8.75/45 9/47 HELP D

Lylene & Barry said:
Paisley's +8.75 was 45. Fed LC/HC mix. +9 was only 47. Gave her HC.

This is her 4th cycle of reduced dose - 2.25u from 2.5u. Her AM shot is due at 3:00am EST. I know that usually it's 6 cycles before changing doses but what do you think about doing another decrease to 2.0u for her AM shot?

Bit of history for this... I missed a dose decrease on 11/24. I thought I had decreased but wrote the wrong dose, leaving it unchanged. Then I missed another decrease 11/27 rushing to do visiting family stuff. She dropped to 29. I think she's ready for a decrease but don't have the experience to be certain.

SS is up to date. Going to test her again after I post this.

Hi Lylene,
I just happened to be up, and happened to catch this....the 6 cycles before changing doses only applies to increases. Decreases can be taken as they are earned....however, if the reductions are close together, you might want to shave the dose instead of taking the full 0.25u reduction. I think you could go either way with this reduction.....shave or take the 0.25u reduction. If you take the full reduction, the reduction may fail, and you could lose momentum. If you shave, you might want to monitor carefully because it might not be enough of a reduction, and Paisley may go low again soon. There's no right or wrong answer here...it's what you are comfortable with. What do you think?
 
Re: 11/29 PaisleyPMPS135 2.5/217 6/127 8.75/45 9/47,66 HELP

heehee LOVE the geography lesson! the 3rd grade class i'm working in is doing some mapping right now - perhaps i'll suggest they us their hands instead of their heads! :lol:

i've spent the last year home, not working, taking care of punkin. i understand - you can share things here, you don't have to delete them. we're all in the same boat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top