I know you were gone but we try to not feed two hours before shot time unless the BG is in the 40s or lower and then it’s just a tiny bit. That’s because we don’t want the food to influence the BG you shoot. Of course, as Christie said, it takes about 30 minutes for food to influence the BG.Just got done traveling and levels dropped after meal. Finished 75% of meal and dropped to 147. Want to shoot .5 u.
Looks like we cross posted. You can edit the subject line to just show “11/29 Mr. Pants PMPS 167” and you can remove everything else including the “?” prefix unless you still have questions. Good job shooting.I waited until I saw him going up. He was 167 and then I gave him his shot. It was a fat .5U if that makes sense. The width of the plungers are .5U and I mark them with a razor blade. What I call .6U is essentially drawing the insulin until the mark sits on top of the plunger. I sort of split the difference, as accurate as that can be. He also left a few bites of food so Im hoping that it works out in the way of keeping him in decent numbers. Will update.
I got two numbers to fitLooks like we cross posted. You can edit the subject line to just show “11/29 Mr. Pants PMPS 167” and you can remove everything else including the “?” prefix unless you still have questions. Good job shooting.
Oh...and for the SS, you’ll put in the PMPS column “+12 155; +12.5 147; +13 167” and it will stack. Of course, put the correct + numbers in for those BGs as I’m just guessing. But the last BG will be the one we know you shot.
And if you ever don’t shoot, then in the “U” column, you put “NS”.
Thanks very much.
They will all fit. it will just make the row taller.I got two numbers to fit
I got them in there. I just had to try the same thing three or four times.
welp....haven't quite made it to 2 hours and we are at 104....Glad he feels good. glad his numbers are good but sheesh. He even finished his food at +1.25 and we are still moving down pretty fast.
So my previous reading of 104 was technically at +1.5 ish......We are at a full +2 now and at 75....Im starting to get uneasy
I have run to the store. It is 8 minutes away 16 minutes round trip. What Fancy feast LC do you recommend? Also what is mc? And thank you... He typically tends to drop through the third hour as well so I don't like our trend right now.Still a safe number. How about feeding a couple of teaspoons of LC and test again at +3. He’s just having an active cycle, so as long as you can keep an eye on how the numbers are trending and feed a little as you go, you should be fine. If he’s flat at +3, great, feed a couple more bites of LC, if he’s still dropping, you can try some higher LC or MC.
Okay, good to know. He is already on Fancy feast pate. I fed him the equivalent of a quarter of a can. Also ran to the store and picked up some tuna feast in gravy, grilled Fancy feastAny of the Fancy Feast pates are low carb. So beef, chicken, turkey & giblets, chicken & liver. The fancy feast grilled, (chicken, salmon turkey) are all around 12-13% carb so that’s in the medium carb range. The sliced is also around that 12-14%. The gravy lovers will be higher carb, 15-20% depending on the flavour.
He looks like he can be a fast dropper early. I don’t know what % carbs you generally feed him but if it’s less than 4%, you might want to try higher like 6% all the time less he’s dropping fast early. Many cats do better on 6-10% calories from carbs.So my previous reading of 104 was technically at +1.5 ish......We are at a full +2 now and at 75....Im starting to get uneasy
Excellent but I’d test at +4.well I couldn't wait lol. I had to test when I got home. We are +2.5 and flat @78. Hopefully we stay here and slowly come back up overnight.
Excellent, want to try and grab a +4 or +5?well I couldn't wait lol. I had to test when I got home. We are +2.5 and flat @78. Hopefully we stay here and slowly come back up overnight.
Nice +4. I wonder if that +2 was accurate?Hahahahopefully he'll be alright while I go grab a pizza...he hasn't fluctuated at all for half an hour. My other child is hungry. Thank you guys
He does this....it's never this fast...until it is. That's why TR is so scary for me. If you look I technically gave him less insulin as well which does have the tendency to produce these results for me. It's wild. I feel like he gets pancreatic flare ups...they go away...then he needs less insulin seemingly out of nowhere. He's done this to me for five years and I really don't have an explanation.Nice +4. I wonder if that +2 was accurate?
Also, I did a +2.5 reading that reflected 78 mg/dlNice +4. I wonder if that +2 was accurate?
That could certainly happen if the pancreas is flaring then healing.He does this....it's never this fast...until it is. That's why TR is so scary for me. If you look I technically gave him less insulin as well which does have the tendency to produce these results for me. It's wild. I feel like he gets pancreatic flare ups...they go away...then he needs less insulin seemingly out of nowhere. He's done this to me for five years and I really don't have an explanation.
so, I have updated my spreadsheet to reflect exactly what's been going on...things have been super hectic around the house and its been difficult to get everything entered. Its quite a wild little surf....If I knew how to post pictures in these responses Id show you guys the readings. Now all we have to do is stay at a reasonable number for the next 8 hours and we should be good. LOLNice +4. I wonder if that +2 was accurate?

Ive had him under an amazing regimen for the majority of the last five years. Before this last year, I was shooting an obscenely small amount that I would have to hold up to the sliding glass door or refrigerator light to even see. It would be hard to believe that it was even .25 u. I couldnt do a full .25u SID or else he would start climbing back up over the course of a week. Even when I was shooting that small amount @ 140-150 mg/dl he would remain flat maybe climb to 160-170.....then sometimes drop to 90 in an hour. Needless to say....Ive had more wild nights then I can imagine counting.That could certainly happen if the pancreas is flaring then healing.
It’s not unusual for cats to drop fast. My own cat could really plummet. But usually the lower the BG to start, the less they drop.
10 p.m here and we are +5 @ 121. Lets hope we stay under 170-190. 'Night y'allExcellent, want to try and grab a +4 or +5?
Thanks buddy...Unfortunately were back above 200 this morning. went with half a unit to see if we can get the same type of movement as yesterday without continuing to drop the way we did.Nice work!