11/29 Molly AMPS 236

Adrienne & Molly (GA)

Member Since 2019
Yesterday
Molly had breakfast this morning. She seems better, she made biscuits this morning. Decided she wanted to be tucked into bed.
I did make an appointment with the vet, but it's not til December 29. It's her wellness check up, and I'll decided on vaccines. But I probably won't get them. They're pretty booked up. But I want Molly to see her own vet.
Thank you to those who had suggestions on how to entice her appetite. Here's praying her appetite continues. I also cleaned her litter box and there was poop in there.
 
Last edited:
I have some bad news. Molly has cancer. It’s in her intestines. Probably why she’s been having trouble with her bowels. DH and I are heart broken. The vet says it’s an aggressive cancer. We do have options, surgery or travel to have chemo. But she thinks it won’t go away. What DH and I have decided to do, keep her comfortable for as long as we can. When the time comes, well you know. Vet gave her a cernia shot tonight, pick up pills tomorrow for her. She’s lost 1 kg since February. Nothing showed up on the ultrasound then, we’re hoping we can have one last Christmas with her. I can’t stop crying
 
I read the first the message in this condo and was glad to see she was doing well but then scrolled down further :(
I'm so sorry about the cancer diagnosis. I know you will do what is best for her. :bighug:

@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
What did the vet do to diagnose cancer? Did she say what kind of cancer? I'm on my third cat now with small cell lymphoma, which is a relatively slow moving cancer of the bowels. Symptoms of vomiting, diarrhea, inappetance and weight loss are all common. Current cat is about 4.5 years since her diagnosis, and in remission. Treatment is a steroid and a couple low grade chemo pills that I give every other week. I also give ondansetron to combat nausea the day of and a couple days after. A lot of general practice vets aren't that versed in it.
 
Adrienne just wanted to check back in and saw this, I am crying with you :(
I feel like I know Molly so well, you and I have been talking to each other for years ,we started talking about how Molly loved to go camping . I am so so sorry. I never expected to read this. I'm sick over this . :bighug: :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
What did the vet do to diagnose cancer? Did she say what kind of cancer? I'm on my third cat now with small cell lymphoma, which is a relatively slow moving cancer of the bowels. Symptoms of vomiting, diarrhea, inappetance and weight loss are all common. Current cat is about 4.5 years since her diagnosis, and in remission. Treatment is a steroid and a couple low grade chemo pills that I give every other week. I also give ondansetron to combat nausea the day of and a couple days after. A lot of general practice vets aren't that versed in it.

She felt around her stomach and felt some lumps. She said her coat looked separated? Her eyes have a grey gloss to them. She did an ultrasound and seen the tumour wrapped around her intestines. Mollys last ultrasound was February and nothing showed up then. Our options are surgery, travel to Edmonton to see a specialist for chemo. Or keep her home make her comfortable. She gave Molly a cerenia shot. I have to go back today to pick up the pills. She didn’t say or I was too upset to hear what cancer she has. But she said it’s an aggressive cancer.
So what should I do?
 
Adrienne just wanted to check back in and saw this, I am crying with you :(
I feel like I know Molly so well, you and I have been talking to each other for years ,we started talking about how Molly loved to go camping . I am so so sorry. I need er expected to read this. I'm sick over this . :bighug: :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I’m so upset never thought this would happen
 
I’m so sorry but it does sound like large cell. Ask about adding prednisolone as it can really help at least short term. You would need to up her insulin but it might make her feel better. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I’m so sorry. I hate cancer. Biggie’s sister Molly had large cell lymphoma. We tried two different chemos and the first protocol didn’t work (CHOP) but the second drug we gave (lomustine) helped us spend another 4 beautiful months with her being a lot like her old self. It is just given once every 3 weeks. She was also on prednisolone. Chemo for cats is designed to prolong their life while also giving them quality of life and some cats do very well with it. I know you will do what is best, whatever you decide. She is so loved and she knows it. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I’m so upset never thought this would happen
Oh Adrienne, who would have thought it would be cancer. I thought about you, your husband and Molly all night. I wish I could be there with you. I still can't believe this!
I wish I could tell you what to do, I hope you can spend another Christmas with Molly like you said you hoped for. Now I'm crying again :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Adrienne, who would have thought it would be cancer. I thought about you, your husband and Molly all night. I wish I could be there with you. I still can't believe this!
I wish I could tell you what to do, I hope you can spend another Christmas with Molly like you said you hoped for. Now I'm crying again :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Take a look at what Jackie said above , she does say Biggie's sister was on prednisolone.
I see you asked about it in your post for today
@Adrienne & Molly
 
Back
Top