11/29 Michelangeo AMPS 282, +6/312 PMPS 328, +1/262

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.

Mikey's numbers are consistently high again today, but I can definitively state that it's because he's been eating a TON of food today. He's also gained another pound in the past week (7 pounds now!), so I was right previously about thinking he was going through another growth spurt. I'm absolutely thrilled that he's been growing again these last 3 weeks, however, his uneven food consumption is driving me batty with his numbers.
:dizcat

Wendy&Tiggy said:
Zobaline is for neuropathy (hind leg weakness) which is caused by high BG in some cats..

Should I be worried about neuropathy occurring with him and start using it as a preventative? nailbite_smile What are the signs I should look for?
 
Re: 11/29 Michelangeo AMPS 282, +6/312

It's not just hind legs, it can also be front legs. Zener started walking on his hocks (wrists) instead of his tippy toes, as is normal for a cat. I think it also affected his stomach motility and his digestion. I don't know if you want to give it as a preventative or not.
Liz
 
Re: 11/29 Michelangeo AMPS 282, +6/312

If you dont see any symptoms then no need to spend the extra $ right now I think. You have enough to worry about with this one without this too but at least you know what to look for. Great news on the weight gain.

Dont worry so much though generally..you'll drive yourself mad! lol he is doing great although he has had no greens for the last 3-4 days, I am thinking the experts are looking at this and are considering an increase. Hopefully one will chip in soon and contradict me ;) Thats why I love this forum so much though. Everyone is SO helpful and they really care!!
 
Re: 11/29 Michelangeo AMPS 282, +6/312

If Mickey were my cat, I'd increase his dose. He may be bouncing a bit but you're getting a good numbers of tests in. I would like to see him spending more time in blue and green numbers. There's a greater risk for glucose toxicity the longer any cat is in higher numbers.
 
Re: 11/29 Michelangeo AMPS 282, +6/312

Wendy&Tiggy said:
Dont worry so much though generally..you'll drive yourself mad! lol he is doing great although he has had no greens for the last 3-4 days, I am thinking the experts are looking at this and are considering an increase. Hopefully one will chip in soon and contradict me ;) Thats why I love this forum so much though. Everyone is SO helpful and they really care!!

I'm surprised I haven't worried more! :mrgreen: A lot of this is me stumbling in the dark because I have all of these amazing examples of everyone else's cats, yet half the stuff doesn't apply to Mikey because he's a growing kitten. :? And I know I would have never gotten this far without this forum. :YMHUG:

I have definitely learned A LOT about kitten diabetes-Type 1 (which is most likely what he has) vs. acute kitten diabetes (externally caused, i.e. steroids or infection, with quick remission) vs. cat diabetes (both Types) just by comparison alone. In the last week or so, I've taken to meticulously documenting everything because even though his situation is so impossibly rare, I'm sure in the next few years, someone else will come along with the same situation and it's better for me to invent the wheel once than them having to do it a second time. :lol:

I didn't get very many tests yesterday and his AMPS and PMPS weren't nearly as high as they've been over the previous week, so I'm thinking of waiting just a bit longer to see if those blues and greens come back tonight and I just missed seeing them yesterday.

I also discovered that the EVO has been unnaturally spiking his numbers. I'm in the process of creating a Food Spreadsheet with all the various foods I've tried with Michelangelo and the daily results on BG numbers (as well as the average cost). I've pretty much bought EVERY SINGLE low carb food on Dr. Lisa's list that I've been able to find so far (except the red meat ones since Mikey is a Pesce-pollotarian).

Sienne and Gabby said:
If Mickey were my cat, I'd increase his dose. He may be bouncing a bit but you're getting a good numbers of tests in. I would like to see him spending more time in blue and green numbers. There's a greater risk for glucose toxicity the longer any cat is in higher numbers.

This is what has me concerned:
Glucose toxicity occurs frequently in type 2 diabetes. When profound hyperglycemia (blood glucose > 300 mg/dl) is persistently present, pancreatic β-cell insulin release is downregulated. In the presence of underlying insulin resistance, this contributes to progressly greater hyperglycemia and may lead to ketosis.
I'm just a bit trepidatious about increasing it too quickly and missing him settling into this dose. I'm thinking if by Saturday he's still consistently in the 300s, I'll bump him up. New month, new dose. :lol:

Question: should I go 1.25u or just a fat 1u?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top