11/29 Josie AMPS 326 +9 378 PMPS 382 (bouncing?)

Status
Not open for further replies.

eccentricfuzzyme

Member Since 2011
Last two days looked better, but then today is back to normal. Pretty tired of all this effort and stress, getting all these readings and the numbers just being friggin random, up and down and all around.
 
Re: 11/29 Josie AMPS 326

It is very frustrating. I have one of those kitties that is unpredictable as well. Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 11/29 Josie AMPS 326

it can get frustrating...but then all of a sudden things click...and it's so rewarding!
 
Re: 11/29 Josie AMPS 326 +9 378

Hi guys,
This seems to be a typical drop and bounce scenario (bouncing from the blue numbers). I hope it will even out. Don't forget that it can take up to 72 hours to clear a bounce. If you put the "?" symbol on your subject line, you'll get some experienced eyes on your situation. It looks like you might raise Josie's dose, but please wait for someone more knowledgeable to look at Josie's SS.

Hang in there. It will get better.

Ella & Rusty
 
Hi Angela:

IMHO, once you give her the six cycles from the last blue to clear her bounce (or if she starts to clear it sooner), I'd increase her dose by another .25u as long as you will be able to continue to monitor her.
I know you'd like to see her in better numbers and sometimes we have to go up to come down. But more insulin requires more testing so you can see how she will handle the dose.

BUT...no increase until she clears the bounce. And again...that is only my thoughts....others may see something else on your SS and offer a different opinion.
 
As Marje said, you need to let the bounce clear. When that happens, you need to see where Josie's numbers end up, and then evaluate whether a dose increase is warranted.

If the bounce clears and she ends up in the greens, then you might not want to increase.....that's why I don't like to say "increase after the bounce clears"....because it depends on what happens when the bounce clears....KWIM?
 
i dont understand this whole bouncing thing. she has had tons of blue numbers. are they all bounces? what would be a good number for her? is yellow the idea?
 
The blue numbers are good numbers....unfortunately, Josie is much more used to the higher numbers (yellow, pink) and her body thinks that the higher numbers are "normal". When the insulin brings her numbers down into the lower numbers (blues), her liver interprets those numbers as too low, and releases a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones in order to boost the BG up...that's the bounce. A bounce can last up to 72 hours, and it will clear by itself. While you are waiting for the bounce to clear, you don't want to increase the dose in response to the higher numbers....your kitty could end up over dose when the bounce clears and the numbers come back down.

Since you are using the SLGS protocol, you would not want to try to bring Josie's numbers as low as many of us here do...50-120. Mid-greens are good, but only if you are able to monitor to keep her safe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top