11/29 Johnny PMPS 289 +3 (173)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice & Johnny

Member Since 2010
Johnny was super cute this morning! Brian tested/shot/fed before leaving for school, so when I got up, Johnny was relaxing in the bed by the window. I love his little sleepy face. So content and happy and snuggly and kissable.

Johnny’s newest thing is “hunting” a little white toy mouse. He does all sorts of talking and pouncing and makes funny sounds and carries it around in his mouth. The night before we left for Thanksgiving, we woke up to hear him hunting in the middle of the night. He then proudly jumped into bed with the mouse and dropped it by my face. It was SO cute. That was the first time he ‘gifted’ the mouse! And then he snuggled under the blankets until the alarm went off. What a sweet boy!

Okay, now to focus on the 400. I’m not sure I believe he would have gone low enough to bounce last night. It’s also been 24 hours+ since he likely had a bit of hard food. This a.m., we shot a fat drop (calling it .15). I’m a BIG chicken thinking about going higher than the drop when we’re not home from +1 until at least +9. But I’m also a somewhat rational chicken who is interested in hearing dosing thoughts. ;-)

Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30891
 
Re: 11/29 Johnny AMPS 400

Heard from the vet...the urine culture came back negative. Glad to hear it, but I wish we had a reason for Johnny's sudden departure from the Falls.
 
Re: 11/29 Johnny AMPS 400

Well, that is good news about the urine culture. In a way. <big sigh?> I was just there with Raja when she came back from the Falls.
Does Johnny eat on his own while you guys are away?
 
Re: 11/29 Johnny AMPS 400

Some kitties bounce for up to 72 hours Janice...you got the one blue last night...but you had given him the .25u.
I think...that you should stick with one dose for AM/PM and then get him into the routine of getting the insulin. Lantus likes consistency. So, maybe stick with the one dose....and let's see what others say....
I know it has been said to be aggressive with kitties returning from the Falls....but you do have to leave him during the days.
Hopefully, the stress of the trip will be gone soon....(and the effects of the dry!) :lol:
That sounds like a nightmare trip BTW....and you acted lie an Angel compared to the way I would have been!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/29 Johnny AMPS 400

I think Johnny eats well while we're not home. As a group, they all eat less during the day than in the evening/overnight hours.

I definitely think we need to stick with one dose as much as possible (hear that big chicken getting a few extra words in there?), I just am not sure what that dose should be. Thanks for the reminder about the consistency being important. I needed to hear that.

And it was definitely an interesting trip! I really do like my in-laws, but it just made no sense to me. The cats can have free range all day long but then they have to sleep in the basement? Do cats only spread allergens at night? :roll: For the record, we didn't put Johnny to bed until after his tests were all done, so he was really only down there for 6 hours or so each night. Still... Thanks for the sympathy.
 
Re: 11/29 Johnny AMPS 400

Yes, consistent AM/PM doses and consistent increases too. Pictures from the New to the Group Sticky:
Is this what you are giving? 0.1u?
01unit-1.jpg


or is it more like this:
025unit-1.jpg
 
Re: 11/29 Johnny AMPS 400

The .15u I reference on our chart is like the photo of the .10u. I'll update that. The .25 we gave was a true .25.
 
Re: 11/29 Johnny AMPS 400

Ok, that's good. So, you can stay with the 0.1u for 6 cycles or so, depending on his numbers, right?
Can you get a couple of tests in during the PM cycle? That would help fill in the picture if you are not able to get any AM cycle checks. As long as he will eat when you are not there, I think he will be good on the 0.1u for now, no?

Things will get better...the further away from the trip you get...hey, how does he get along with the other kitty?
I bet HE didn't anticipate a sleepover either! :lol: Cold basement at night!! Some Thanksgiving THAT was! :evil:
 
Re: 11/29 Johnny AMPS 400

I agree with everything Pat said. :smile: I would stick with a dose, whether it is 0.1 or a drop. Are you still free feeding?
 
Re: 11/29 Johnny AMPS 400

I am so sorry about your Thanksgiving. How totally frustrating! I don't know what I would've done, but I think you handled it with grace and courtesy! I bet you are glad to be home! I hope you will get Johnny back on track soon.
 
Re: 11/29 Johnny AMPS 400

Johnny and Oscar get along fine. Johnny's known him since he was a tiny kitten.

We're still free feeding.

I just showed the dose photos to Brian, who is the head doser (he actually has done all of the dosing this past week and I sometimes just shoot :oops: ) and he said that the .10 looks like what we've been counting as a drop. So, we're going to aim for what he did this a.m. Partway between .10 and .25. We'll call it .15. Sound okay? We just think he needs more than a drop and would like to stay a little under .25u to ensure we can stick with this number for six cycles.

We got a +10 tonight: 355. He ate some and at PMPS he was 289. A good drop!

We'll get a +3 and maybe +4 later this evening. Are the +1 and +2 helpful? I feel like a newbie again. Thanks for all the help.
 
Re: 11/29 Johnny PMPS 289

I would hold off the food for 4 hours before the preshot test, ok? Sometimes they drop a good amount with no food on board. That PMPS looks better though, eh? You could test in 3 or 4 hours...that would be good. The +1 might show a food spike and the +2 might give you a hint to where he is going, but I think the +3/+4 would be good tonight. maybe alternate the PM hours from day to day....
Come on Johnny...use it well little boy! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/29 Johnny PMPS 289

Thanks, Pat. I'm laughing now because I realize that I completely told on myself about the feeding after the +10. Whoops! (for feeding, not for telling). I'll remind Brian. Thanks for cheering us on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top