11/29 Aiden PMPS- 363; Looking for dosing advice

Elizabeth & Aiden

Member Since 2020
Hello everyone! So Aiden has been on Lantus for a couple of weeks now and I've been able to do 2 curves (both are missing +4 unfortunately due to other issues not related to my furbaby). I am going to email my vet in the morning to see what she says, but I am wondering what you all think as far as how we should change his dose? I am so discouraged by his numbers. On Vetsulin we were seeing some blues and greens within the curve...even some AM/PM checks he was below 200! I am going to include a link to both spreadsheets if you're interested in seeing. Thanks so much for your advice.

Current Spreadsheet- Lantus- 1unit: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1JUe-MbbaXu4dqRsAMOlH00sfjTaaQpMQWOxm445aJcg/edit?usp=sharing

Previous Spreadsheet- Vetsulin- 1.5 units: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1XCFRoDGK3u4XauZ9QloAChjTxvLkr4f0RKh4102e43s/edit?usp=sharing
 
I only see half of the picture. . You don’t have any tests except the pmps. Lantus dosing is based upon how low it takes your cat and many cats drop lower at night. Can you get a +2 or before bed test? That will help. If you can set an alarm for a test between +5-7 it will help too. Have you read the yellow sticky on how depot insulin works and the sticky on dosing methods? With SLGS you evaluate the dose with a curve every 7 days. Based upon your day cycles you would need an increase to 1.5 units BUT we don’t know if that’s needed because we don’t know what’s happening at night. Can you get a +2 and another test later tonight? With TR you increase after 3-5 days depending on the nadir, lowest bg in the cycle.
 
So the nights where the PMPS was yellow are when a +2 and another mid cycle test would be helpful. If dropping lower than he is used to he could be bouncing high from the lows.
 
Hello and welcome over here. Make sure you take a look at the yellow starred Sticky Notes at the top of this forum. There are also a few things you can do to help us, specifically the signature, details here: How You Can Help Us Help You! Included in that list is what type of food you are feeding.

And you can also combine the two spreadsheets into one, you don't need to separate them. Just do a blank line after the last day of Vesulin and put "start Lantus" on that line, followed by the Lantus data.

Switching from 1.5 units of Vetsulin to 1 unit of Lantus was too much of a drop. We typically take into consideration the dose of the previous insulin when switching. That means we probably would have suggested 1.25 or 1.5 units of Lantus to start. Plus you are holding the dose too long. In those Sticky Notes is one on dosing methods. If you pick one of those two dosing methods, it'll give you guidelines on how long to hold doses, and when to raise or lower the dose. With either dosing method, we would not have held the dose longer than a week. Feel free to go up to 1.25 units when you want.
 
Back
Top