11/28 Tilda AMPS 76, +2 53, +3 49, +6 53, +9 56 PMPS 55

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Tilda, Nov 28, 2023.

  1. Tilda

    Tilda Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2023
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Congrats on the reduction! Tulsa managed to earn this in row ways! No question. :D:)
     
    Tilda likes this.
  3. Tilda

    Tilda Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2023
    Yay Thanks! My phone autocorrects her name to Tulsa too haha

    She's been sleeping so soundly this morning I didn't "feed the curve" like I usually do and she just tested 49 at +3. I've been using 14% at the beginning of her curve then I switch to 7% the rest of the day. What would you recommend in this situation? I theory she's been dropping under 50 but I've been keeping it up with food...
     
  4. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    This is still the effect of the previous depot. The depot takes 4-6 cycles to adjust to a reduction. With TR you don't take back-to-back reduction because of this. For now, you would continue with 0.5U - though it's highly likely that she will continue to go down in dose with the food change.
     
    tiffmaxee and Tilda like this.
  5. Tilda

    Tilda Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2023
    Perfect, thank you! It's ok to feed the curve right? Future questions will be how to handle this with a pet sitter in two weeks. She's currently getting lots of "breakfast in bed" haha
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  6. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes it is. Sometimes you have to intervene with higher carbs to flatten the curve and keep them at a good dose. But if you find that it's taking a lot of higher carbs to keep her over 50, it might be better to lower the dose. How much 14% food is she getting now and when in the cycle? Do you think she can tolerate a full transition to 7%?
     
    Tilda likes this.
  7. Tilda

    Tilda Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2023
    Got it. She's getting about 50/50. The 14% is about 5oz total and another 5oz 7%. She gets the 14% at each shot and then at +1 and +2 usually. By +3 she usually wants both. She's a good grazer after +3 so I leave both foods out and she usually goes for the 7%. I think she could tolerate fully 7% but it's high in phosphorus and she has early CKD... I have new foods to trial (~5% and 4%) that are lower in phosphorus but need to see if she'll have an allergic reaction to them... the overlapping conditions are fun :arghh:
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  8. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    You could try further reducing the 14% and go down to 0.25u from tonight.
     
    Tilda likes this.
  9. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I didn’t even catch the autocorrect, lol.
     
    Tilda likes this.
  10. Tilda

    Tilda Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2023
    This makes sense to me as well... I think I've been floating her along with the 14% and I've not done that as much the last 24hrs and she's dropped below 50 twice.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  11. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Congrats on the reduction Ali :bighug::D:D:D
     
    Tilda likes this.
  12. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    You might still have a little trouble keeping her over 50 till the depot adjusts to the reduced dose. The 0.75U depot could affect numbers for up to 4 cycles after the reduction.
     
    Tilda likes this.
  13. Tilda

    Tilda Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2023
    Thanks! I’ll keep an eye on her. I appreciate all the help ❤️
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.

Share This Page