11/28 PurrFace PMPS 329 +2/335 +9.5/251

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frosty

Member Since 2012
PurrFace had a pretty good day overall yesterday. Nice blue numbers then and again this morning to start his AM cycle. I hope he's a good guy cat_pet_icon and stays in the good numbers because DW will be here with him.

I have an appointment in 20 minutes with my oldest DGS. Hope he doesn't forget to pick up the nuclear chicken (for the fish) on his way here. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Have a great day beans and felines.

PurrFace's Condo
 
Re: 11/28 PurrFace AMPS 112

Morning John and nice AMPS for PurrFace this morning! Would that appt. coming up soon have something to do with flounder! :lol: Have a great time fishing, and I'm sure PurrFace will be in good care with DW.
 
Re: 11/28 PurrFace AMPS 112

Hey John,
I know you had fun with your DGS at your "appointment". Hope Purrface does some nice safe surfing for Donna while you boys are out appointing.

Not sure about why the dental brings down BGs. Here's what i've found online
inflamed gums increase the insulin resistance. and
When struck by infection, the body releases stress hormones that help it fight the infection but at the same time cause an increase in blood glucose. Insulin resistance also increases, causing a further rise in glucose levels by impairing the body's ability to use glucose for energy.

I'm going to see what people here.. who know about it.. have to say.
take care all of you
mary and oliver
 
Re: 11/28 PurrFace AMPS 112 +3/110 +5.5/124 +8.5/198

PurrFace listened to all of your encouragement to surf the blue and so far so good. :thumbup :thumbup :thumbup I hope he hangs in there through his PM cycle. Had enough of those nasty yellow, pink and even red numbers.

Thank you to all who visited the condo while I was spending quality time with my 20 year old DGS today. What a day. Never had to throw back sooooo many legal flounder because we kept catching larger ones. Biggest one today another 6 pounder. PurrFace loves to investigate the cooler when I come home. I thought of cutting some into small strips and warming them up a bit on a skillet without oil or grease and see how he likes them. Getting too many in the freezer. Wish I could distribute a few to everyone here.

Have a great evening.
 
Re: 11/28 PurrFace PMPS 329

I guess I jinxed the PM cycle with my previous post. Hope this is just another bounce and he'll come back down to some reasonable numbers tonight.

Hope everyone is having a great evening (or morning for Aseel and Helen).
 
Re: 11/28 PurrFace PMPS 329

I'm adding my hopes and prayers for a reasonable numbers!!!

Hey, PurrFace, sweetheart.... come back here!!!


PurrFace, buddy, .. we gots the beans attention with the pink numbers..... whaddya say we walk down instead of taking the express elevator? meet ya at the stairs- oliver

have a good night..
mary and oliver
 
Re: 11/28 PurrFace PMPS 329

I posted this in Oliver's condo:

Any source of inflammation or infection or pain can trigger a stress reaction. Gingivitis, an inflammation of the gums, is a common consequence of dental plaque. Any type of illness, infection, stress (emotional or physical), surgery, dental problem, or injury will cause a stress reaction. When this occurs, your cat's body needs more energy to "fight" this stressor, so it releases hormones (they're called "counter-regulatory hormones") that tell the liver to release a stored form of glucose (i.e., glucagon) to provide this energy. These hormones also inhibit the effect of insulin--which means you become somewhat insulin resistant. This is similar to what happens during a bounce.

I'd be inclined to raise the dose tomorrow.
 
Re: 11/28 PurrFace PMPS 329

Thank you Mary for your and Oliver's words of encouragement for PurrFace.

Sienna, PurrFace's teeth don't look like they have a lot of plaque on them. Is there any way to know for sure with out a vet putting him under? I'll follow your recommendation and increase his dose to 0.75U BID tomorrow morning.

Thank you.
 
Re: 11/28 PurrFace PMPS 329

The hard part with dental issues is that it's very hard to visually inspect a cat's teeth when the cat's awake unless there is very obvious plaque. Even if you have a cat that's very compliant at the vet's office, it's just really hard to get a good look. The first time Gabby had a dental, the vet said she had mild to moderate tartar. It was more like moderate and then some and they found that Gabby had resorptive lesions. The latter are not visible and only can be seen on x-ray. It is up to your vet whether a dental is needed so it may be worth discussing this with your vet.
 
Re: 11/28 PurrFace PMPS 329 +2/335

Thanks Sienne. I don't think I would have too much confidence in our current vets determination. He's a great guy but what he didn't know about FD causes me to think that he is, I guess, what I would call a GP. He knows a little bit about a lot but not a lot about one thing. We do have an actual cat hospital in Houston. I believe there are fewer than 100 Board Certified cat specialist in the world and they have 4 Board Certified cat specialist at the hospital. We also have another vet that specializes in cats only. I think I'll discuss with DW about making an appointment with one of them.

It is really surprising to me how little we really knew about our cats. We see them everyday and they're prancing around all happy but we never looked at them as have much the same needs, ie. dental check ups etc., as we do. Having a DC has been an eye opener in more than one way.

Thank you again, Sienne, and have a pleasant night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top