11/28 PMPS +4 208 Prince AMPS 184

Well done on a below 200 shoot. Do you have enough strips to test several times this morning? Try to get a test at +1 so you can get a feel for which way his glucose is going. Plenty of medium carb and high carb food on hand, along with karo syrup or honey?
 
Nice shooting!

Just a housekeeping note re. your spreadsheet. When you have a chance, you can manually color in the cells that are reading as white. Generally, you can figure out the fraction for the hour. For example, since you shot 25 min. late, it's close enough to a half an hour that I would have likely entered the time as +0.5 or as +0.3 if you were actually closer to 20 min. late. It's fine to put in the note the way you did -- either method works!
 
Hi - just checking in on you and Prince. Glad to see he is doing okay! Those below 200 shots become easier once you realize you can monitor and address any crazy dips. Good luck!
 
You have enough data to start to slowly lower your number to shoot the full dose. You are seeing pink tests because of the .25 doses. I’m glad your shot the full dose. So now maybe make the number 180 instead of 200?
 
Nice shooting!

Just a housekeeping note re. your spreadsheet. When you have a chance, you can manually color in the cells that are reading as white. Generally, you can figure out the fraction for the hour. For example, since you shot 25 min. late, it's close enough to a half an hour that I would have likely entered the time as +0.5 or as +0.3 if you were actually closer to 20 min. late. It's fine to put in the note the way you did -- either method works!
Thanks. I colored but couldn’t get the same blue. Where/how would I enter the off cycle times?
 
Has he eaten since +4? If not he’s on the rise. If he’s eaten you might want two hours without food to be sure. He’s not at all low though so no reason to test until PMPS.
 
Usually his canned Nulo pate which is 1-3% carbs. He doesn’t like the freeze dried Pure Bites that we’ve tried. I do have a sample of the YA Zero Mature, but I use that as his post-test treat. Just 1 or 2 kibbles.
 
Just trying to plan ahead based on this thread. If his PMPS is 180+, I’ll shoot the full 1.5 dose. What should I do if he’s less than 180?
 
Stall without food and test again in 20-30. I’m hoping it goes up even a little. Post and ask for assistance.
 
I think you are safe. It’s a good idea to get a +2 while gathering data. If it’s lower than the preshot it lets you know she might drop an you might need to set an alarm for later. If higher probably not an active cycle an won’t need to set an alarm.
 
So for future reference, it would be better to get a +2 than a +4?

Not exactly....we've seen that a lot of times, the +2 can almost predict how the rest of the cycle is going to go (although in some cats, the +3 is a better predictor)

If the +2 is about the same as the PS, it's usually going to be a pretty normal cycle...gradually down to nadir and then gradually back up to the next PS.

If the +2 is higher than the PS, it usually signals the beginning of a bounce...those cycles are when you can usually take a break in testing (and if they happen at night, catch up on some sleep!)

If the +2 is lower than the PS, that's your "early warning system" to let you know you need to plan on getting at least 1 more test later in the cycle because kitty might be going a lot lower later in the cycle.
 
Back
Top