11/28 Ophie +12 58, +12.75 59

Status
Not open for further replies.

OphiesMom

Member Since 2013
Well good morning LL!

Happy Turkey Day to all those who celebrate.

Ophie is off to a low start this morning, but I refuse to panic. I had a very long chat with the vet yesterday and am taking a more zen approach to Ophie's health. My goal is her happiness and safety. So, I won't be poking Ophie as frequently, or posting here as often... I guess we're more the relaxed kinda family ;-)

I will stall and if she is still slow, I will skip her shot today... if she's higher, I will give her a reduced dose today. I have a gazillion people coming to my house today (yes, a gazillion ;-)), and I think I may have had a wee bit too much vino with dinner last night. It's going to be a long day!

Hoping all your kitties are well and happy today!
 
Re: 11/28 +12 58

I'm glad you had a good talk with the vet yesterday and are feeling better about Ophie and her FD. It is not easy balancing life and taking care of our kitties. I hope you find an approach that works for you and Ophie and keeps her safe. I hope you keep posting here from time to time to keep us updated. It looks like skipping this morning might be a good idea, especially with how busy you'll be today. Safety first. I hope you have a great Thanksgiving.
 
Re: 11/28 +12 58, +12.75 59

Thanks for the words of encouragement, Carla!

Well, I waited 45 minutes and re-poked Ophie... She is holding steady. I'm going to skip her AM shot.

Happy day to all!
 
Re: 11/28 +12 58, +12.75 59

I would have skipped the shot as well especially with a house full of people. Ophie's numbers look great. I bet the vet liked her numbers. From your chart, she seems like she will be easy to regulate. happy thanksgiving!
 
FWIW, you've been testing quite a bit. I tend to be a testaholic but I don't necessarily recommend that approach unless you've got a kitty who's prone to nose dives. I'd suggest getting a +2 or +3 test to give you a clue where the cycle is going and decide when you want to test from that point forward. Many kitties do just fine with 1 or 2 tests (plus pre-shot) per cycle except when you need to be steering low numbers. It's a balancing act between managing your cat's diabetes and enjoying family, friends, and your kitty.

I hope you survive the gazillion guests!!
 
I like your Zen approach! :-D I think you are smart to skip this morning also. You will have enough to handle with that much company! Ophie will be safe and able to hide all day if she wants.

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving and enjoy your company!
 
Hoping for a surf day for Ophie.....she just might and it was a good idea to skip with low numbers and tons of people coming.

You know we're always here for you when you need us. And I'm always all for ZEN! :-D :-D

Happy Thanksgiving!!!!
 
Happy Thanksgiving to you Joely!

You sound like there is a huge weight off your shoulders and that makes me genuinely smile :-D I also am all for ZEN! But I am the definition of the opposite of zen :roll: :lol:

Good call skipping Ophie's shot with all the company coming. And this way you will be able to have an awesome night and just enjoy the fellow beans without rushing off to do the hokey pokey every couple hours :-D

Please know we are always here. And on a personal note, I'm going to miss you :sad:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top