11/28 Ollie PMPS 398, +2 354

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ollie(GA) & Patsy

Member Since 2011
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=57387

Good morning ~O) ~O) ~O) Prayers and healing vines for all in need.

Late last night I noticed Ollie had a discharge of grey puslike goop in the corner of his right eye. His "eyelash" area was very wet. Puplis are the same size and he is not squinting. I cleaned it with cotton balls and qtips and this morning it's drier and that eye has a small amount of dry material in the corner. It looks good..not perfect. If his BG's were not high I would not think too much about this. I plan to call the vet as soon as they open and see if she will see him. If it's an eye infection it's not a bad one...maybe something is festering? Ollie normally has the cleanest eyes of any cat I have ever had...never needed cleaning before. Anyone have any experience with something similar?

Otherwise Ollie is his purrfect self with a great WCR and all 5 p's in place. He woke me by laying on my back and giving me a head massage.. :o
 
Re: 11/28 Ollie AMPS 334 Eye discharge

Since Ollie has been having higher BGs it's probably a good idea to get him checked out. When one of my critters has a bit of eye goop, with no other problems, I use a boric acid eyewash. It has always worked great and clears the problem with just an application or two. I hope all is well with Ollie.
 
Re: 11/28 Ollie AMPS 334 Eye discharge

I hope you get the vet appointment you want, and it turns out to be easily remedied.
 
Re: 11/28 Ollie AMPS 334 Eye discharge

Thanks Linda and Dyana...I'm really not sure if it's anything but would love to know there is a reason for his BG to suddenly go wonky.

I'm ready to increase his dose tonight. Read that Mr Ollie....a trip to the vetty and a dose increase....work that juice little fella!
 
Re: 11/28 Ollie AMPS 334 Eye discharge

Hi guys .. mocha always has lots of wet boogies in her eyes .. at certain times of the year it seems worse, like in the spring/fall .. So a few months ago we took her to the vet to get them checked out .. the vet put a dye in her eye to make sure the eye wasn't scratched and that she didn't have any ulcers .. which she didn't, so the vet gave us an eye wash to use and artificial tears .. course she told us not to use them in the future unless we had those same eye tests done again on her .. but we have used the artificial tears since .. I think for mocha, it is allergy type stuff .. but that's just me and my opinion .. Hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 11/28 Ollie AMPS 334 +5 377

Ollie and I are back from a visit to the vet. She doesn't think much about his eye problem....but did give me an ointment to use twice a day on his eye...Erythromycin Ophthalmic Ointment 0.5%.

His weight is now 21lbs :shock: and that's why she thinks he lost regulation. She did run a full blood work up and said his thryoid was large (?) We will have results tomorrow. When we got home I checked his BG and he was 377. Guess that's all that can be done for now. Ollis is home resting and I came into tbp to face the music :sad:
 
Re: 11/28 Ollie AMPS 334 PMPS 398 Worried!

Ollie does not feel well. I went to tbp after his vet appointment. He hardly ate any food all day. I did get him to pick at some freeze dried chicken since I have been home. NEVER had this problem before...I hope it's just stress from vet visit. Finger fed him some FF after his insulin shot. I know he has to eat with the insulin in him. I have a good eye on him but I am more than worried.

Increased his dose tonight...I hope it helps.
 
Re: 11/28 Ollie AMPS 334 PMPS 398 Worried!

(((((((Patsy)))))))))
Sending good appetite vines to Ollie. . .
Something is going on - hopefully the BW will give some answers.
I don't know anything about enlarged thyroid issues relative to high BGs/FD however I'm sure others do.
Hopefully someone will chme in.

Keep finger feeding him, mix some water into the food and try and get a ketone check.
 
Re: 11/28 Ollie AMPS 334 PMPS 398 Worried!

Thyroid infections are possible in humans. With Ollie's elevated numbers, I would definitely want an infection/inflammation ruled out. I'm hoping the vet ran a thyroid panel. Hyperthyroidism can cause high numbers, as well.
 
Re: 11/28 Ollie AMPS 334 PMPS 398 Worried!

sorry to hear the little guy (ok, big guy) doesn't feel so good. hope the BW turns up an answer that is easy to fix. scritches to ollie!
 
Re: 11/28 Ollie AMPS 334 PMPS 398 Worried!

I so appreciate your thoughts!!! I did get him to eat a about 1/2 can of FF off my fingers. He did go to his bowl and look but then drank water.

Sienne...she ran a full chemistry profile, a PCV (packed cell volume, a T4 and a Urinalysis. Her remark about his thyroid was during the exam. She was concerned about his weight...21 pounds is high. His eye looks worse than this morning. I do think I caught that quickly...squinting just a bit and hope ointment helps.

The litterbox looks good. He hasn't had high numbers in a while so maybe that's part of his feeling so lousy ?
 
Re: 11/28 Ollie AMPS 334 PMPS 398 Worried!

How much does Ollie typically eat? Can you figure that out in terms of calories? It may be that you've been giving him too much food, which would explain the weight issue.
 
Re: 11/28 Ollie AMPS 334 PMPS 398 Worried!

He eats about 4 cans (FF size) a day@ about 90 caleries a can and then freezed dried chicken at tests. I think it's his lack of activity when in Boston...small condo. He'll be chasing little lizards once we are south...good exercise. I think a good weight for him is 16 to 17 pounds, he really is a large boned cat and has a lot of muscle.

ETA Could his weight have caused his numbers to jump like this? More likely infection...right?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top