11/28 OliverTwist pmps-337/3-196/ thank you

Status
Not open for further replies.

ecurie

Member Since 2012
yesterday's condo
amps 299
6 108
pmps 337


don't worry, be happy - song for today

HI Everyone! :YMHUG: dancing_cat
Ollie got his test and shot 10 min early this am. With a 299 - thank heavens. We must have caught the very last second of the Yellows.

Coffee's calling. I guess i have to drink whatever i can get until Mannie is done with the wonderful coffee. :lol:
Have a wonderful day. prayers for all of us.
xoxo
mary and oliver
 
Re: 11/28 OliverTwist amps 299

At least you caught that yellow this morning. I hope Oliver comes down for you today and gives you some more blue.

RE: Yesterday's condo - My vet told me she would like to see Furball in the 200 range. Most vets aren't used to dealing with home testing and aren't comfortable with lower numbers. If the owner doesn't home test, this is the safe thing. I just listened to my vet and then follow the protocol anyway. I hope to see Furball OTJ and won't be able to if she stays in the 200s.
 
Re: 11/28 OliverTwist amps 299

ecurie said:
Coffee's calling. I guess i have to drink whatever i can get until Mannie is done with the wonderful coffee. :lol:

Ahhh, yeah, that's what my mornings have become, too! Chugging on the plain old stuff for the caffeine boost before the deliciousness arrives! Amazing how addicting that barista's brew are :lol: :lol: :lol:

BTW - my vet said the same thing as Carla's. Mine even cautioned me against hoping for OTJ, although they are very interested in what we are doing. As long as you are following the protocol and are able to do the necessary testing, then there is no reason not to go for it. Vets just recognize that few people have the time, interest and ability to do so. And some just don't believe it's possible. Keep it up.
 
Re: 11/28 OliverTwist amps 299

Thanks very much Carla and Lisa!
When I talked to Ollie's dr. yesterday - he said pretty much the same thing. He thinks it'll be safe for Ollie to be in the 200s. I agreed with him until Ollie's dental is done.. next Tuesday. Then we are back at it!!
take good care and thanks for the help.
mary and oliver
 
Re: 11/28 OliverTwist amps 299

Good morning Mary. Glad you have Oliver's dental appointment scheduled. I really didn't realize that having the teeth cleaned would make such a big difference in the BG. I wonder why that is. I guess we had better think a bit more seriously about it.

Oliver sure pushed the limit of the yellow zone this morning. I hope he turns around and comes back to the blue zone and fingers crossed for the safe green zone.

Have a great day and don't let anyone steal your joy.
 
Re: 11/28 OliverTwist amps 299

Work that juice, Ollie!!! We'll be thinking of you guys on dental day next week!!!

FYI...I had quite drinking coffee for about 15 years....started up again about 2 months after Trix was diagnosed :roll: :lol: !

Have a great day!!!!
 
Re: 11/28 OliverTwist amps 299

HI guys, glad you caught a yellow this morning. When Scrabble was going back on the juice the vet didn't think we should start insulin since he was in the 200's which he considered a safe range too. I had to do some convincing to get hime to write a script to go back on lantus again. He commends me for home testing too and am his only patient that does. Hope you have a great day and see some good numbers!
 
Re: 11/28 OliverTwist amps 299/6-108!!and i feel great!

Hi again!
YES! 108.. i'll take it.!!! I remember a friend from high school who was not impressed by people with numbers. His IQ was 108.. people would sort of pat his shoulder and shake their heads. sort of like "oh poor you" and he would go to the top of the stairs and cheer "I"M 108 and I FEEL GREAT" wish i could remember his name now..

Amy - 15 years without caffeine and a little thing like being up all night testing and worrying makes you turn back to caffeine? :lol: (kidding, just kidding) What's your current dose?? I used to have 1l/2cup and then off to get stuff done. Now, i'm having about a pot. :lol: :lol:

Michelle, My poor vet looked at Olllie's spreadsheet and said "That 77 makes me nervous".. and I said "NERVOUS!! if you wanted to see nervous you should have beeen at our house the first time we saw that" Now i can't wait to get back on track.

Ann - Holy Cow Ann.. He listens to you!!! Thanks Hugs to you and Maggie.

Hope everyone is having a WONDERFUL day.
xoxo
mary and oliver
 
Re: 11/28 OliverTwist amps 299/6-108!!and i feel great!

ecurie said:
Amy - 15 years without caffeine and a little thing like being up all night testing and worrying makes you turn back to caffeine? :lol: (kidding, just kidding) What's your current dose?? I used to have 1l/2cup and then off to get stuff done. Now, i'm having about a pot. :lol: :lol:


Um....I try not to track it TOO closely :lol: ! "Technically", one cup in the morning, one cup in the afternoon....mind you, though, the "cup" is a giant FiestaWare thing that holds about 3 or so cups according to the lines on my coffee pot - yikes!!!

The first time my vet saw a 55 with Trix, she also got very nervous (she should've been at my house yesterday when Trix hit 31!!). I think we make them nervous because the bulk of their patients/owners don't test the way we do, so running kitties in these genuinely normal numbers does make them nervous because sometimes it can push close to the hypo range - obviously a much bigger issue for those who don't test, but not for the likes of us LLers. I know my vet told me that Trix's 180s were "very normal BGs" when Trix was first diagnosed, and I know she was worried that Trix would go hypo if we followed TR. But, I gave her access to Trix's SS and she saw how closely I monitor, and that I will not let anything bad happen. I do understand the vets' needs to protect the kitties who don't get tested. I can't imagine doing it any other way, but it IS a huge commitment - not everyone is up for it.
 
Re: 11/28 OliverTwist pmps-337 Last Dental Question.. promis

HERE'S MY QUESITONOH crud. how can mr. L and mr P get soooo upset so easily? I'm going to give them a chill pill.


I'm wondering why getting teeth cleaned would have much of an impact on BGs. I found this online and i'm wondering if this might be it???? This was in a "people" site but was about periodontal disease.
When struck by infection, the body releases stress hormones that help it fight the infection but at the same time cause an increase in blood glucose. Insulin resistance also increases, causing a further rise in glucose levels by impairing the body's ability to use glucose for energy.
 
Re: 11/28 OliverTwist pmps-337 last dental question. i promi

WHOA THERE OLIVER, WHERE DO YOU THINK YOU'RE GOING?

You'd better turn around and get back to the good numbers or you won't get to have nice, bright, purlly whites.

Thanks, Mary, for the info on the effect on BG dental problems can have.

Have a great night.
 
Re: 11/28 OliverTwist pmps-337 last dental question. i promi

Oh, Uncle John, I think i'm lost... my gps must be on the blink. i'm gonna try a 180 and get back where i came from - oliver
 
Re: 11/28 OliverTwist pmps-337 last dental question. i promi

Any source of inflammation or infection or pain can trigger a stress reaction. Gingivitis, an inflammation of the gums, is a common consequence of dental plaque. Any type of illness, infection, stress (emotional or physical), surgery, dental problem, or injury will cause a stress reaction. When this occurs, your cat's body needs more energy to "fight" this stressor, so it releases hormones (they're called "counter-regulatory hormones") that tell the liver to release a stored form of glucose (i.e., glucagon) to provide this energy. These hormones also inhibit the effect of insulin--which means you become somewhat insulin resistant. This is similar to what happens during a bounce.
 
Re: 11/28 OliverTwist pmps-337 last dental question. i promi

Hi Mary,

If you'd like to see the effects of stress on BGs, take a look at Leo's ss. We travel a lot. The first column to the right of his values will say TRAVEL DAY. Look how many of those days has a black BG, or at a minimum, a red one. He does come down off the stress BGs after a cycle, but he generally does a nice bounce after that. I imagine his cycle would look the same after a dental. Good luck with it.
 
Re: 11/28 OliverTwist pmps-337 last dental question. i promi

Sienne, thanks very much for the information. I really appreciate it.

Lisa, wow!! what a difference. thanks for pointing it out... I'm sorry you two have to be the poster children for "stress induced BG results"
see you in the morning
mary and oliver
 
Re: 11/28 OliverTwist pmps-337/3-196

hey Ollie, I iz on dat pink floor too. My momma bean seemz upzet bout it... she sez itz cuz she gotz my fur wet tonite. Watcha say we go down to dat blu floor that momma likes, I tink it mak her happy? Zeus
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top