11/28 Milo AMPS 85, +3 86, +5.5 86

Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-26-milo-amps-119-no-eating.239144/#post-2687107

Good morning everyone. I'm sorry I haven't had a chance to respond or post. My son woke up sick the other day (seems better now but that set in motion a whole string of COVID-related protocols) and I've been dealing with this while trying to manage Milo, work that I couldn't leave the house to do, 3 hours round-trip to the testing centre etc etc etc. We are awaiting results which will be fast-tracked because I am an essential worker. Hopefully we will have results by Monday and life can return to "normal" if there is such a thing anymore. I don't think we have COVID but we can't be too careful.

Milo is not eating great so I will bump up his mirtazapine. I had been splitting the pill into 1/6 portions but he can have up to 1/4 tab at a time. I think this needs to happen to keep him eating. Is this a thing for cats to not be interested in eating chronically??? What a change from pre-diagnosis when he slept next to his bowl wanting to eat all the time (I know that's part of the condition but at least I wasn't always worrying about his nutrition! Little did I know what we were in for!)

In terms of his BG, he continues to hold the reduction like a trooper! .5u and he's staying firmly in the green/blue range with a "bounce" (for him) up to 180 briefly (PMPS) on the day he didn't eat well. I suspect he may have gone low during the day. Today was the lowest AMPS since the reduction. I'll be able to watch him carefully this weekend; it was a week ago he unexpectedly dropped to 43 halfway through the day. Maybe he'll get off the juice yet (now that I have stocked up on insulin and needles in case we run into supply issues during COVID!)

I hope everyone is doing well out there. Thoughts and prayers for all the sugar kitties and loving owners out there...
 
I hope you get negative results for your son. You might want to ask your vet to give you an RX for cyproheptadine to try as an appetite stimulant. It worked really well for all my cats. Plus it can be given twice a day. Max only needed a tiny sliver at times but got up to 1/4.
 
Thank you for the advice. He seems to be super hungry today and has already eaten most of a can, which is pretty good for him by this point in the day. He’s very active today, following me around. BG is rock solid, as well. He’s doing great after a few “off food” days where I had to convince him that eating is a good thing. I just got a shipment of 30 packages of Fortiflora for when I need them too. I may look into a different script if the Mirtazapine increase doesn’t seem to be doing the trick anymore. Have a great day!
 
Back
Top