Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha
Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-26-milo-amps-119-no-eating.239144/#post-2687107
Good morning everyone. I'm sorry I haven't had a chance to respond or post. My son woke up sick the other day (seems better now but that set in motion a whole string of COVID-related protocols) and I've been dealing with this while trying to manage Milo, work that I couldn't leave the house to do, 3 hours round-trip to the testing centre etc etc etc. We are awaiting results which will be fast-tracked because I am an essential worker. Hopefully we will have results by Monday and life can return to "normal" if there is such a thing anymore. I don't think we have COVID but we can't be too careful.
Milo is not eating great so I will bump up his mirtazapine. I had been splitting the pill into 1/6 portions but he can have up to 1/4 tab at a time. I think this needs to happen to keep him eating. Is this a thing for cats to not be interested in eating chronically??? What a change from pre-diagnosis when he slept next to his bowl wanting to eat all the time (I know that's part of the condition but at least I wasn't always worrying about his nutrition! Little did I know what we were in for!)
In terms of his BG, he continues to hold the reduction like a trooper! .5u and he's staying firmly in the green/blue range with a "bounce" (for him) up to 180 briefly (PMPS) on the day he didn't eat well. I suspect he may have gone low during the day. Today was the lowest AMPS since the reduction. I'll be able to watch him carefully this weekend; it was a week ago he unexpectedly dropped to 43 halfway through the day. Maybe he'll get off the juice yet (now that I have stocked up on insulin and needles in case we run into supply issues during COVID!)
I hope everyone is doing well out there. Thoughts and prayers for all the sugar kitties and loving owners out there...
Good morning everyone. I'm sorry I haven't had a chance to respond or post. My son woke up sick the other day (seems better now but that set in motion a whole string of COVID-related protocols) and I've been dealing with this while trying to manage Milo, work that I couldn't leave the house to do, 3 hours round-trip to the testing centre etc etc etc. We are awaiting results which will be fast-tracked because I am an essential worker. Hopefully we will have results by Monday and life can return to "normal" if there is such a thing anymore. I don't think we have COVID but we can't be too careful.
Milo is not eating great so I will bump up his mirtazapine. I had been splitting the pill into 1/6 portions but he can have up to 1/4 tab at a time. I think this needs to happen to keep him eating. Is this a thing for cats to not be interested in eating chronically??? What a change from pre-diagnosis when he slept next to his bowl wanting to eat all the time (I know that's part of the condition but at least I wasn't always worrying about his nutrition! Little did I know what we were in for!)
In terms of his BG, he continues to hold the reduction like a trooper! .5u and he's staying firmly in the green/blue range with a "bounce" (for him) up to 180 briefly (PMPS) on the day he didn't eat well. I suspect he may have gone low during the day. Today was the lowest AMPS since the reduction. I'll be able to watch him carefully this weekend; it was a week ago he unexpectedly dropped to 43 halfway through the day. Maybe he'll get off the juice yet (now that I have stocked up on insulin and needles in case we run into supply issues during COVID!)
I hope everyone is doing well out there. Thoughts and prayers for all the sugar kitties and loving owners out there...
