11/28 Marilyn PMPS:494, +2:507, +5:482, +8:468 SQ Fluids???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barn Cats R Us

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=57423

Thank you all, for your concern, and guidance. You are all helpful, and funny...and funny is always helpful. I'm managing a house of 12 pets; 10-former "Barn Cats", and 2-"Drooler's...who hate me for all the attention the FD's are getting. Sometimes one, or two, will crash & burn just to get my attention. So, I'm often "running late", and sometimes "disappear", to have my nineteenth nervous breakdown, chest pains, and/or possible mini-strokes. This is one of "those" days.

Concern: Marilyn needs about 150 mL's SQ LR fluids; which I'll be giving shortly. I've been giving them PRN as noted on her SS. My concern is regarding protocol with SQ fluids, and the Lantus "shed". The "Health" folks advised giving fluids on the opposite side of the last insulin site; however, this was during Humulin usage. I think I read somewhere that SQ fluids, and Lantus, don't play nice together. I've been keeping her Lantus on the left side, in preparation for any unfortunate, future, fluid needs. Any knowledge in this area will be most welcomed. Thanks everyone. Deb

11/28 Marilyn:
AMPS = 444
+2 = 445
+2 Ketones = 0.7 mmol/L
+5 = 339
PMPS = 494
+2 = 507
+5 = 482
+7.5 = 175 mL SQ LR Fluids
Couldn't wait (or PM anyone) for advice on the fluids. Marilyn was "crunchy dry" & showing some Ketones. Clark was "crashing & burning" within minutes of me typing that description above. Basically, I had to get her hydrated before I had two basket cases. I made sure her fluids fell to the right...with her Lantus sites all on the left. Don't know if that helped the "Lantus vs. fluids" situation...but it helped her to walk funny.
+8 = 468
 
Re: 11/28 Marilyn AMPS:444, +2:445, +5:339, PMPS:494, +2:507

I don't have any knowledge of Sub-Q fluids. The only knowledge that I have with Lantus is that it does take time to build a shed. Here is the sticky for the storage shed:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=150

I hope that helps.

I'm not sure how to set up the spreadsheet as it's been so very long ago that I did one. I do know that it'll help those with more experience than I have help you with your kitty by looking at her #s. I hope that someone will come by shortly to help you with your spreadsheet, and get that up and running. What unit have you started her on right now?
 
Re: 11/28 Marilyn AMPS:444, +2:445, +5:339, PMPS:494, +2:507

Hi there,

I don't personally have experience w/SQs, however there are folks around here who do.
I suggest your modify your condo header (reduce it a bit) and add "SQ question" on the end.
This way your question will be picked up quickly.
I believe there may be some particulars to be aware of...
 
Re: 11/28 Marilyn AMPS:444, +2:445, +5:339, PMPS:494, +2:507

Hi Deb!!! Glad to see a condo today. I didn't realize you had such a large posse of pets!!! What a big heart you must have!! If you need info on subcu fluids, PM Marje (Marjorie and Gracie). She has a civvie, Gus, who gets them every day and she probably has any info you need.

Oh, and Angela!!! Deb is a great newbie....she came to LantusLand with her spreadsheet already up and running!!!
 
Re: 11/28 Marilyn AMPS:444, +2:445, +5:339, PMPS:494, +2:507

Hi all,
In case Deb doesn't come back tonight... she had a crisis (in Health) with her OTJ kitty, Clark tonight, so she's been a little busy with that.

Angela,
She's got two SS, one for Clark who is OTJ and one for Marilyn. It shows the few days of Humulin treatment, then a dividing line when she picked up with Lantus a couple days ago.

I don't remember the ketone scale, but is .7 a concern?

I gave Bob 4000ml of sub-q fluids while he was on insulin, but it wasn't lantus so I am not qualified to speak as to how lantus and fluids work together. It was a concern with Bob and PZI at the time.

Carl
 
Re: 11/28 Marilyn AMPS:444, +2:445, +5:339, PMPS:494, +2:507

Hi Deb

When Gracie was first dx with FD, I gave her squids as it can help bring the BG down a tad. I gave her squids in her scruff; her lantus shots subq in the chest behind her paws. I am not aware of any problems....no one ever mentioned them to me but I didn't give her fluids for very long....just about days maybe.

I hope all is ok with Clark...tomorrow you might want to ask the same question again and put "Lantus & Squids ?" in your subject line after Marilyn's numbers.
EX: 11/29 Marilyn AMPS 444 +2 324 LANTUS/SQUIDS ??

See if anyone else has more info.
 
Re: 11/28 Marilyn PMPS:494, +2:507, +5:482, +8:468 SQ Fluids

just sending my hopes that all is well and you get some answers...

celi
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top