11/28 GIMLI PMPS 103; +1.5 81; +2.5 70 UGH

Status
Not open for further replies.

marissa2c

Member Since 2010
Good morning everyone!

Gimli had a fairly uneventful day yesterday. Tried to err on the conservative side a little bit as to avoid drama.

Yesterday's Recap:
AMPS: 219 0.5U
+6: 285
+10: 244
PMPS: 237 0.5U
+1: 218
+2: 195
+3: 181
+12: 103

Today's AMPS (+12.5) 108 0.25U. Again trying to be a little bit on the conservative side and wouldn't mind having a higher number for the PM as he tends to fall quicker at night than during the day.

Prolly going to be checking every couple of hours or so while we watch some football... :-x :-x
 
Re: 11/28 GIMLI AMPS 108

Here is your link to yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30786

Nice AMPS for Gimli this morning. Here is a post that talks bout dealing with low preshot numbers: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27894
It would be good to print this out and refer to it for future low preshots.

You may post if you have a low preshot so that someone can discuss your options with you. For today, you chose to reduce Gimli's dose so the data you get today will be good for future reference. As Sienne said yesterday, Lantus likes consistency so shooting the same does in the AM/PM is the ideal. He is really reacting beautifully to the insulin, isn't he?
It will be interesting to see what he does today with this .25u...
 
Re: 11/28 GIMLI AMPS 108

It's going to be really important to pick a dose and stick with it. You've had a lot of dose changes in a very short period of time. If you're more comfortable with 0.25u, that's fine. If that's the case, stick with this dose. The more you shift around the dose, the weirder Gimli's numbers will seem and you won't be able to reliably determine why the numbers are acting the way they are.
 
Re: 11/28 GIMLI AMPS 108

Morning Marissa....Gimli is looking good again this morning. I'm definitely not a dosing expert but just wanted to remind you that we dose based on the nadir not the PS. That is just a reminder and not a suggestion that you shoot a low number yet without the data. What Pat sent you is important as well as what she said...you could have posted his number, stalled a bit, and let an experienced person advise you on when and what to shoot. Again...just reminders/suggestions so you can get that consistency Sienne discussed. Have a great day and enjoy your football games!!
 
Re: 11/28 GIMLI AMPS 108

Hi Marrisa,

Gimli is responding nicely to the insulin. Changing dose has an effect on the storage shed. Here is a sticky explaining it. storage shed

Of course when you don't feel comfortable you do have to make decisions. Here is some reading on low pre shot #'s. dealing with low pre shot #'s

You may have already read these, just wasn't sure.

Have a good day. :smile:

jan and sara
 
Re: 11/28 GIMLI AMPS 108

Thank you everyone for your suggestions, advice and sharing of your experiences. I have read the stickys multiple times over the last week and it appears that my cat is a late nadiring cat with a 12+ duration and I hypothesize that Gimli also has a "small" shed.

Out of the last 6 AM cycles, 5 of them had Gimli nadiring after +6 and 4 out of the last 6 days having him nadiring after +11.

In the sticky it says that I'm going to HAVE to learn to shoot low. Not sure if I'm there yet data wise or nerves wise especially after two trips into the greens this night this week.
 
Re: 11/28 GIMLI AMPS 108; PMPS 103

Here we go again...

PMPS 103; +1.25 82. Why does BG drop faster at night than during the day....
 
Re: 11/28 GIMLI AMPS 108; PMPS 103; +1.5 81

Depends on the cat; Gracie is almost higher at night than during the day. There is a phenomenon known as the "dawn effect" where daytime PS are higher. 103 to 81...That's really not too bad of a drop. Some of the kitties, Gracie included, will easily drop over 100 from PMPS to +2. Let us know if you need any help....I'm going to bed but I'm sure someone will be up. If he drops lower and someone doesn't respond, then give him 18% gravy if he gets around 50 and keep testing; we do what we call lather, wash, rinse...in other words keep doing the same thing until you get him up and he stays up. If he goes lower than 50, be sure and give him some karo with the gravy until you get him up. Be sure to keep checking him because the karo wears off quickly and he can turn around. Once Gracie is low, I don't go to bed until I get 2-3 good rising numbers and then I'll get up an hour later and check again. I'm assuming since you haven't posted in a while that he's doing ok now.
 
Re: 11/28 GIMLI PMPS 103; +1.5 81; +2.25 79; +2.5 70

He's holding flat. Numbers are well within margin of error. Will be up for awhile testing...

Just gave 1/2tsp of Karo at +2.5 70
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top