11/28: Feline Health Sent Me!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barn Cats R Us

Member Since 2011
Hi All,

The folks on the main board suggested I introduce myself. My FD is Marilyn (aka: Marilyn Munster Monroe). I had an unexpected scare, regarding BG drop, while using Humulin N on Thanksgiving Day. Dinner reservations...cancelled! Ordered take-out instead...no choice! Rx change to Lantus...the next day!

Her first full day of Lantus started yesterday (Sunday, 11/27/11). Since Murphy, of "Murphy's Law", has taken up permanent residence at my house, her first "full day" of Lantus usage, was also my 1st "fur-shot" on her PM dose. At least I think it was...I forgot to check for an odor on her fur...since I've never experienced a fur shot before. Anyway, it looks to me like her SS confirms it was a fur shot, however, I am probably too new to Lantus to understand her numbers just yet. If the PM shot was a successful SQ injection, then her BG numbers sure aren't making sense to me.

I've browsed the posts here, but quite frankly, I'm a little lost regarding how to post here. I don't quite get the gist of the daily condo, or even why it's called a "condo". The folks on the Feline Health board attempted to explain it to me. Can someone please explain the posting procedure "over here" in Lantus world? Do you want to see daily posts, or only if there's reason for concern. Is a new post started every day, even if a discussion is ongoing from a previous day's post? What kind of info do you want to see in a post? Why do you like to see a date in the subject line?

All posting guidance, info, tips & tricks, and/or rules are welcome, and greatly appreciated.

Thanks so much,

Deb
 
Hi Deb and Marilyn....welcome to LL. This is the best place you never wanted to be! :-D

Because of the cumulative nature of lantus, it's difficult to tell if you gave her a fur shot or she's still filling her "shed". Lantus and Levemir are long-acting insulins that, in different manners, form an insulin depot under the skin. The first several shots go towards filling that depot and then the kitty starts using the injections you give her. So numbers are high at the beginning. If you haven't read all the stickys, I strongly encourage you to do so as soon as possible, write down your questions for us, and then reread them. Many of us print them and keep them in a notebook.

Yes, each day we start a new "condo" because we build upon each prior post. We encourage you to post daily if you can especially while you are still learning about lantus and lantus cycles. You will get an unbelievable wealth of information here.
So each day, we start a new condo by clicking on "new topic". You then put the following info in the subject line:
Date (e.g. 11/27), Kitty's name, AMPS and then add the subsequent test numbers as you get them.

Example: 11/27 Marilyn AMPS 337 +3 381 +4 373 etc

Tell us whatever you want in the big text box (and include the link to the prior day's condo) and then click "submit".

Then, when you get her PMPS, go in and delete everything from AMPS on out and start over again:
11/27 Marilyn PMPS 555 +2 591 +3 562 +4 569 +7 555 +9 435

To change the subject line, go to the FIRST post of the day, click on "edit", change the subject line, and click "submit".

Normally, discussions don't carry over but let's say you ask a question on your condo of 11/27 and no one responds because it's late. Then just copy it and paste it in your condo of the next day.

To get the link to the previous day's condo, open that condo, click on the browser line and copy it, open the new condo, click on the "url" tab and paste your link in between the URL boxes. So it will look like this:
PASTE LINK HERE

That way, anyone helping you can quickly access your previous day's condo.

What's in your condo is up to you but typically a quick "WCR" or whole cat report is good....how is Marilyn doing because she's more than just a number? The rest of it is your own personal style....some of us provide a recap from the previous day....everyone's condo differs but it's the best place to ask your questions on any FD related topic including diet, insulin, BG numbers, protocol, etc. I encourage you to just browse through a few condos and you'll see the kind of info in them.

We put a date in the subject line to keep up with the kitty's numbers for that date since most of us post every day. If you don't have a date, and I see a low number in your line, I'm not going to know if Marilyn got that low number yesterday and it is now a "nonevent" or whether it is real time and you need help.

Speaking of help....the buttons above the subject line that are most used are the "?" button if you have a question or the " :mrgreen: " button if Marilyn is in BGs below 100. The "911" is for emergencies like if you test her and she is at a really low number and you need help right away. The etiquette is that as soon as someone comes on to help you, go back to the first condo of the day, click on "edit", click the "none" button and submit. If you need help but it is not an emergency, you can just edit the subject line....leave your numbers in...and add to the end "need help" or "have ??" or something like that....or "dose ???".

We are here to help you....we have lots of very experienced people who live/breathe this 24/7. There is a lot to learn and the curve is steep but we'll help you along every step of the way.

You have done a great job of testing and building data.....that benefits Marilyn and also really helps us help you. I"m amazed at the amount of nighttime data you have...when do you sleep? :lol: :lol: :lol: When Marilyn is this high and filling her shed, I'd give her ears a break and test at PS, +2, +4, +6, +10 one cycle and as long as her numbers stay high maybe PS, +3, +5, +8, +11 on another cycle the next day and just get a +2 and a before bedtime test at night until she starts coming down. Once she starts coming down, you can get in more nighttime spot checks.

Right now, according to our protocol, you want to leave her at this dose for 5-7 days initially; although, if she doesn't start to come down within 3 days, we may have you raise her dose to get her to start coming down. We don't like kitties to be so high and flat.

Hope that helps!! Let us know if you have questions. Off to bed for me....I'll check in tomorrow to see if you have any follow up questions. If you do, go ahead and post them here but in the morning, start a new condo with her numbers. I'll know where to look for you ;-)

Great job...super job on the SS!! Glad to have you.

ETA: tomorrow we should discuss diet in your condo. We encourage you to feed something other than DM.......
 
Hi Marjorie,

Thank you for all wonderfully detailed, head explosive info! :lol: It's just what I wanted. Now if I could only wrap my head around it. I think what I'm most confused about is the transition from AM to PM data, and what happens to the AMPS subject line.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
If you haven't read all the stickys, I strongly encourage you to do so as soon as possible, write down your questions for us, and then reread them.
I've read the stickys...I just don't know if they've "stuckied" to my brain yet! It's repetition with me.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Then, when you get her PMPS, go in and delete everything from AMPS on out and start over again:
11/27 Marilyn PMPS 555 +2 591 +3 562 +4 569 +7 555 +9 435

To change the subject line, go to the FIRST post of the day, click on "edit", change the subject line, and click "submit".
When I delete the AMPS info, isn't it then lost? Maybe I should post yesterday's PMPS, and someone can direct me from there, if needed...I'm guessing it's needed.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I"m amazed at the amount of nighttime data you have...when do you sleep?
My hours have always been a little backwards, but the FD somehow has me switched around more than usual. I've been sleeping very little nowadays.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
ETA: tomorrow we should discuss diet in your condo. We encourage you to feed something other than DM.......
I just switched Clark, my OTJ kitty, from DM to Friskies Pate. I was planning to switch Marilyn shortly; unless you have another idea.

Thanks for everything. Nice to "meet" you.

Deb
 
Hi Deb, Welcome aboard!!! I'm about 3 1/2 months in to this, so still being a newbie, I can tell you it takes time to get your head around everything. I still go back and read parts of the stickies at least once a week. And Like Marje said, keep track of your questions, and ask them. You'll never find a more caring helpful selfless group anywhere. I've been floored at the number of people willing to stay up half the night to help someone with a problem. Wishing you and your kitties the best!
 
Hi guys .. just wanted to stop in and say welcome to lantus land! You'll always be able to find people with experience here ready and willing to answer your questions .. So make yourself at home!
 
Hi Deb:

Sorry about the brain dump so late at night!!! I just remember when I was a newbie, I'd ask a ton of questions (too many at once I think) and I really appreciated the efforts of everyone answering every one of them.

I've read the stickys...I just don't know if they've "stuckied" to my brain yet!
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I can tell you are going to fit in here just fine!!! There's always a party going on somewhere in LL!! And a sense of humor always helps!!

Marjorie and Gracie wrote:
Then, when you get her PMPS, go in and delete everything from AMPS on out and start over again:
11/27 Marilyn PMPS 555 +2 591 +3 562 +4 569 +7 555 +9 435

To change the subject line, go to the FIRST post of the day, click on "edit", change the subject line, and click "submit".
When I delete the AMPS info, isn't it then lost? Maybe I should post yesterday's PMPS, and someone can direct me from there, if needed...I'm guessing it's needed.

No...when you delete the AMPS info, it isn't lost. If you go back to yesterday and look at Gracie's condo, you'll see that each post retains the information so by scrolling through the entire condo, a person is able to see all the numbers of the day and exactly what the subject line read at each posting. Cool huh?!! By linking the previous day's condo in the current one, there is no need to post "yesterday's PMPS".

So today...just start a new condo with the info I gave you and you'll see how it works....dive in with both feet..the water is grand!! :lol: :lol: And we're here to help you with FD questions as well as "housekeeping" questions.

Great that you switched Clark. If you look at the food charts under the first sticky (link provided below....just scroll down a bit), then you'll see some acceptable foods to feed Marilyn. We usually aim for the varieties under 5% for regular feeding but you'll want to have some of the MC/HC foods with gravy around for steering low numbers. And if you haven't put together that "hypo toolkit"...please do ASAP. We've had newbies who didn't anticipate dealing with low numbers as early as the kitty did and they had to run out in the middle of the night to buy karo or HC food.
New to the Group
 
Hi Deb! I'm very new here too, so no advice from me, just a welcome.

The people of LL have been super helpful to me, and I am forever grateful.

The more questions you ask, the better for your kitty as I'm learning.
And the stickies unstick themselves from my brain regularly... read - repeat - read - repeat. ARGH.

Good Luck.
Amy
 
Hi Deb. Welcome to Lantus Land. I am new too and I can't say enough about the great people here in the Lantus forum. They are a bevy of information. Some mornings I just sit here with my cup of coffee and read everyone else's posts. Sometimes I find the answer to a question I've been meaning to ask but hadn't gotten to ask yet by reading someone else's condo. I get so much information that way!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top