11/28 - Butters - Dose Increase for Preshot #s?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eva & Butters

Member Since 2010
Good Morning, Everyone ~

Is there anything we can do to help bring Butters' preshot numbers down? Should we try an increase to a skinny .75U? I'm so terrified of causing hypos for Butters that I'm worried we don't raise dosing when needed. My husband is so much calmer with all of this than I am, bless his heart :smile: .

Butters started on Lantus on 7/21/11. I've only had a chance to set up a partial spreadsheet for him to give you some idea of how he's doing. I'm working a heavy overtime schedule now, but I'll try to finish his spreadsheet as I have the time.

Any advice will be really appreciated.

Thanks,
Eva

P.S. After asking Angela (Angela and Blackie) about feeding EVO 95% Chicken and Turkey to lower carbs, we've recently started that for Butters, although I'm not sure he's so carb sensitive. Worth a try anyway. Thanks, Angela!
 
Hi guys .. I don't think I've stopped into butter's condo yet, so welcome from us! No dosing advice from me, but I'm sure you know others will be along soon and can hopefully answer your question .. Have a great day!
 
Hi Eva, I don't think I've posted in your condo before, welcome!

Remember that Lantus dosing is based primarily on nadir, with only some consideration of preshots. Usually, the last thing to come down is the preshots. You don't want to increase the dose primarily to bring down the PS numbers, you are wise to be concerned that it may take Butters too low. FWIW, it looks like Butters is still doing a fair amount of bouncing, but he seems to clear the bounces pretty quickly....that's good news! At some point, he will likely flatten out. He's looking good!

You are doing a great job of gathering daytime tests, but I would encourage you to get at least one spot check per cycle in the PM cycles as well. Even if he starts out yellow, he easily could be dropping into the lower greens at night. Many cats go lower at night, so you could be missing some lower numbers at night.

With that said, the data shows recent nadirs of 55 and 56 on this dose, so IMHO you don't have room to increase right now. I would be patient, try to get those before bed tests (and keep testing if the numbers suggest he's heading down) and keep getting the daytime nadir checks. His green nadir yesterday was a bit higher, so I would keep an eye on that for a few cycles/days to see if that upward trend continues....if so, it may be time to increase. Don't be afraid to keep asking about dose!
 
Hi, Devon & Laurie ~

Thanks for stopping in today. I've looked at both of your spreadsheets before for Mocha and Mr. Tinkles....sweeeeeet! Thanks so much for sharing the wonderful jobs you've done treating your kitties' diabetes. Gives me hope and encouragement.

Laurie, thanks for taking the time to give your very helpful input on dosing. And I've really been needing that nudge to do more nighttime testing...I'll start that tonight. I've just got to learn patience :-D somehow. We're feeding to prevent Butters from dropping to his true nadir on his lower days, so I know I should keep that in mind, too, when considering a dose increase. For now, we'll stay the course with the .50U fat. Thanks!

Take care & thanks again,
Eva
 
I looked over Butters SS before reading the posts. Laurie said everything that I would have posted. Butters' numbers are looking good and I would hold this dose.
 
Good Morning, Sienne ~

Thanks for checking in yesterday. I appreciate your confirming what Laurie suggested, Sienne. It's good to hear that from someone with your experience. I love how you take care of both Gabby and Gizmo.

Yesterday turned out to be a very yellow day and evening for Butters. Maybe today we'll see some better action. I guess I just want to be able to fix what ails Butters, and I know Diabetes doesn't work that way :smile: .

Thanks again, Sienne.

Eva
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top