11/28 Booger AMPS 165 PMPS 275 ~Insulin Integrity?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MartinJA527

Member Since 2014
We're creeping into the 300's lately and maybe it's me but it seems like the insulin just isn't working anymore! Like it's just halted. So I opened the bottle on 08-13-14 and the solution has been kept in it's original box, wiped clean with alcohol every time, used sterile needles every time and it's still clear, but I'm worried about the integrity of the solution. Anyone know if maybe it's time to try a new bottle?? Thanks in advance
Jen
 
I only used a vial once, but I've heard people say they last about 5-6 months so it should still be OK. I don't know if others wipe the top with alcohol. I presume it's being kept in the fridge, away from the door? I like the cartridges/pens better than the vial, because I can generally use them to the very end.

Looks like Booger needs another increase. If you do get new insulin right away, I'd try that first before the increase.
 
Jen --

There's always a possibility that your insulin is getting toasty. I've had bad pens. However, I'm not sure that this is the case. One way to determine if your insulin is still potent is to raise the dose.

The complicating factor is how long you're holding Booger's dose. Holding a dose that isn't putting him in a better range (i.e., below 200) can contribute to glucose toxicity. When this occurs, the kitty's body treats the higher numbers as the new "normal" making it harder to get numbers back into better range. This is one of the reasons that the TR Protocol recommends evaluating the dose after no more than 5 days if nadirs are below 200 routinely and after 3 days if nadirs are over 200.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top