11/28 Atlas AMps 382, Apologies

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Member Since 2010
In yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30780

Laurie and Mr. Tinkles
One thing that you have to keep in mind is that bounces are not only caused by dropping too low, they are also caused by dropping too fast. The suggestion about changing the feeding schedule is aimed directly at slowing the drop, which could help to eliminate some bouncing. Eliminating the late cycle feedings could also help to keep his PS numbers lower. That could help flatten out his cycles.

I would not decrease his dose, unless he earns the reduction. I would try the PS, +1, +2, and +3 feeding schedule, with a small snack at +6 if you want. Just split his normal amount of food among those feedings, AM & PM, and give that a try. You may be surprised at how much that helps Attie.

Of course, Attie is your cat, you hold the syringe. It's ultimately your decision, Beth.

Lots of times Attie they go low,low (not fed) and sometimes...not so low (fed). Now, I have the dumb impression that if I am having to "feed the drop" to prevent a below 40 event...isn't that the same as having one?

Yesterday Attie got extra lunch, plus karo...technically he didn't "earn a doscrease" by forum standards. Yet, I feel based on his history of spiky dives, he would have if I had not intervened. Again pointing out SS report of a HI from the overnight of 11/25. Did he earn it there and I just didn't grab the golden tickee? confused_cat

Last night I filled in my SS to hold the dose. At the last minute before I shot, I reduced it. The SS was updated this morning to reflect that decision.
 
Re: 11/28 Atlas AMps 382

Good morning, and good luck with the dosecrease. I would have only done a dose shave, if it was me. Like from the s2.50 to a 2.25. But it's pretty close. Let's see how he does. Hope the bounce is quick. :-D
 
Re: 11/28 Atlas AMps 382

Dyana said:
Good morning, and good luck with the dosecrease. I would have only done a dose shave, if it was me. Like from the s2.50 to a 2.25. But it's pretty close. Let's see how he does. Hope the bounce is quick. :-D

Take a look at his plus 10 from last night/this morning...197?
 
Re: 11/28 Atlas AMps 382

Good luck with the dosecrease. If it doesn't work out, you can always increase again. We have done the same thing in the past and ended up going up in dose again. Blackie will bounce from blues sometimes, so it isn't always from going too low or going low too fast. Sometimes the liver isn't used to lower numbers so it thinks even blue is low. Blackie seems to be a permanent student in Liver Training School (LTS). I hope Atlas will graduate soon. :-D
 
Re: 11/28 Atlas AMps 382

Blue said:
In yesterday's condo: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... =9&t=30780

Laurie and Mr. Tinkles
One thing that you have to keep in mind is that bounces are not only caused by dropping too low, they are also caused by dropping too fast. The suggestion about changing the feeding schedule is aimed directly at slowing the drop, which could help to eliminate some bouncing. Eliminating the late cycle feedings could also help to keep his PS numbers lower. That could help flatten out his cycles.

I would not decrease his dose, unless he earns the reduction. I would try the PS, +1, +2, and +3 feeding schedule, with a small snack at +6 if you want. Just split his normal amount of food among those feedings, AM & PM, and give that a try. You may be surprised at how much that helps Attie.

Of course, Attie is your cat, you hold the syringe. It's ultimately your decision, Beth.

Lots of times Attie they go low,low (not fed) and sometimes...not so low (fed). Now, I have the dumb impression that if I am having to "feed the drop" to prevent a below 40 event...isn't that the same as having one?

What is your goal? Is it to find the perfect dose that keeps Attie in the perfect range of numbers? It isn't that simple. The idea is to slow the drop so that he doesn't bounce. If you can use food to level out his BG over the course of the cycle, he will feel better, and he will be less likely to bounce. The goal in my mind is to get a flatter cycle. It's a balancing act, and it isn't as simple as higher dose or lower dose. Food/feeding scedule plays a major role in managing diabetes.

Yesterday Attie got extra lunch, plus karo...technically he didn't "earn a doscrease" by forum standards. Yet, I feel based on his history of spiky dives, he would have if I had not intervened. Again pointing out SS report of a HI from the overnight of 11/25. Did he earn it there and I just didn't grab the golden tickee? confused_cat

He may have earned the decrease if you had not intervened, or he may have earned the decrease while you were sleeping....but either way, he didn't earn it. I'm not really fond of giving unearned decreases, but I have recommended them on occasion when the cat is obviously over dose. I don't think that Attie is much over dose, if at all. If I were going to decrease, I would have done a smaller decrease, maybe to a F2.25.

Last night I filled in my SS to hold the dose. At the last minute before I shot, I reduced it. The SS was updated this morning to reflect that decision.

It's your decision, and I respect that, Beth. I hope Attie's numbers improve for you.
 
Re: 11/28 Atlas AMps 382

Hi All! Good luck with the dosecrease - I hope it works for Atlas. If not you can always go back, We just did that with Mannie. He had hit the protocol rules, so we reduced - unfortunately he didn't hold it, had higher numbers, so we just went back to the old dose last night.

FWIW - Mannie is a horrific bouncer. I am one of the group that did switch to the feeding schedule of ps, +1, +2,+3. It has made a huge difference for him. It did take a few months to truly see results, but I did get flatter curves, bounces were less dramatic, things leveled out. We too are in the group that ask Mannie to earn his reduction. I work alot at managing his curve with food, so that when he drops low I know the reduction was earned, and we go from there.

Either way - you have to do what you feel is right. Good luck with the new dose! Go Atlas!

Hey Atlas - can you come to Rusty's party? It should be such fun. I can pick you up if you want a ride. See you? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 11/28 Atlas AMps 382

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Blue said:
In yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30780

He may have earned the decrease if you had not intervened, or he may have earned the decrease while you were sleeping....but either way, he didn't earn it. I'm not really fond of giving unearned decreases, but I have recommended them on occasion when the cat is obviously over dose. I don't think that Attie is much over dose, if at all. If I were going to decrease, I would have done a smaller decrease, maybe to a F2.25.

Post removed by author.

Laurie and Mr. Tinkles please accept my humble apologies. Indeed all of the caring and wonderful folks in Lantus Land...

I am very, very sorry for my outburst.
 
Re: 11/28 Atlas AMps 382

Blue we are all really hurting for you!! We all do the very best we can with our furbabies--I have been here for almost 3 years and Moonie has been on lantus.
We all know the heart break of losing our best friends, especially when we dont know anything is wrong! I am deeply deeply sorry for you & your loss..
A diabetic without insulin will literally starve to death, this holds for cats too.
Please dont blame yourself or Atlas, what happened--Again I am so sorry.
 
Re: 11/28 Atlas AMps 382

Roni said it so well Beth....we are really hurting for you. I am so very sorry that this happened to Krueger. My heart breaks for you and your loss. I hope your wonderful memories of the time you had together will bring you some sort of peace and that you will find the strength in your heart to bear this terrible loss.... ((Beth))
 
Pat and Ronnie,

Thank you. I'll be taking a bit of a break. I am not ready to jump full steam into this again right now.


Again, to Lantus Land....I am very sorry for my outburst the other day. My frustration with the situation and death of krueger got the better of me.
 
Blue, I'm sorry you're going through such a rough time. I hope each day there are a few more smiles and good memories and a few less tears.
 
I'm sending you some hugs, okay? (((((Beth))))) You have been through so much and had a heartbreaking loss.
In time, I hope the pain will ease for you... it never really goes away, but we hope for a little less severity. :YMHUG:
 
I too send you hugs. I am so so sorry for what has happened to you, and all that you are going through right now. It's tough, but I really hope that in time the good memories will ease the pain of such a heartbreaking loss. I personally don't feel you need to apologize for anything - I think we all understand what you are feeling. I know I do - I've been there. Take care of you, and Atlas. I hope we see you in LL again as soon as you are ready.
 
My heart breaks for you. Atlas needs you now and he can probably sense when you are upset.

I am dealing with two animals with medical needs (dog with congestive heart failure). I deal with things as best I can based on how they are doing but the neediest animal gets the most attention. And cats do have a way of hiding their illness very well. Its innate to them. I wish they could talk :(

Please be kind to yourself and Atlas. Sending lots of hugs your way.
 
No worries. Let us know what you need or how we can help. At best, the internet is an imperfect medium for communication. This is also family. You can be hurt, angry, happy, sad, whatever. We'll all still be here for you when you need us.
 
Oh Beth, no apologies necessary! :YMHUG: I feel your pain from Krueger's loss, I wish there was something I could do to lessen it. We are like a family here, and families support each other. I did not take offense at your post, so please don't worry about that! I fully intended to post back to you this morning, but my plans got derailed...

I think most, if not all, of us have gone through the pain of losing a dearly loved furbaby...I've had my share of losses also, one a couple of months ago and it's very difficult. My heart goes out to you, and I hope you will stick around....the support here is nothing short of wonderful and it may help you get through this difficult time. If there's something I can do, please let me know, ok?

((((Beth))))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top