11/28&29 PMPS 80 +4 54 AMPS 175 QUESTION

Status
Not open for further replies.

HappyCat

Member Since 2013
Hi everybody happy green/blue friday from my cat to yours! :mrgreen:
My question - would Jerry have fallen too low overnight? How many tests I personally get can be 50-100%, depending on my husband's schedule sometimes he'll pick up some NADIR testings as it's nice to work as a team and for us both to get some rest even if at varying times. I woke up very frustrated this morning because anytime he tests I ask to be woken up if Jerry's even in the 60's and he went on with his day without waking me to tell me he was in the 50's. My belief is that he probably did fall below again and there was no way for me to know. 54 reading came at +4 and his lowest readings comes at +5. My husband must have been way exhausted he wrote down 58 he texted me 56 hours later but the meter told me 54. I think he fell below range using his readings of the 4th as an example. +4 he was a 60, +5 he was a 52, 49 at 5.75. No changing what's been done but I didn't know what to do. I really think he's trying to go into remission which is great but I don't/didn't want to rush him until he's ready, I didn't have the proof that he had fallen and didn't know if a hunch was enough. Though it may have been a mistake I went forward with 1 unit instead of .75 because no one caught him. This may have been a mistake but I wasn't expecting any of this at all. Will be keeping a close eye on him and definitely value any input. Thank you!
cat(2)_steam
 
Hi Sarah! Jerry certainly might have gone lower than you caught, but there's no way to know for sure. Just do like you planned, keep an close eye on him for the next few cycles. Usually it seems when a cat decides they are done with a dose they'll make it pretty clear, so you'll see reduction-earning numbers again. Sometimes sleep happens ;-)
 
If Jerry tested a 49 at +5.75 then I would go ahead and reduce his dose. I think you may want to consider a few things. Jerry is at the point that when you reduce, if you take a 0.25u reduction, it's a big proportion of his dose. You could consider shaving the dose but you will need to keep an eye on things. It's find t reduce the full 0.25u. If the reduction doesn't hold, bring the dose back up.

Overall, Jerry's numbers look good. You're still seeing some higher AMPS values. These numbers tend to be the last to come down. One thing to consider is giving Jerry a snack late in the cycle (e.g., at +8 or +9). A teaspoon or so of food may stimulate his pancreas and help to bring the numbers down.
 
I think the 49 you mentioned at +5.75 was using Nov. 4th as an example of when you felt his nadir usually was, correct? You didn't actually see a number below 50 last night?
 
Thank you for the help and support guys! Last night was the reading of 54 at +4. The 49 reading at 5.75 was an example from the 5th of why I think he fell below - I didn't catch him below 50 just that 54 an hour before his normal lowest point.
I hadn't considered a small snack at +8 or 9 I hadn't thought of that I usually just try to get him with shots and at his NADIR I may just portion it out to see if a pre snack does well for him.
Otherwise I agree cats aren't the most subtle creatures so I'm sure he'll make it a point to let me know he needs a decrease if needed just wanted to make sure I was doing the best thing for him. Thank you all. :mrgreen:
 
He came in at a 86 for his mid testing and a 78 for his PM shot that day so hasn't been another drop but I've kept an eye on him. Fabulous numbers thanks for checking up on him. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top