? 11/28/24 Tiger Curve&ketones AMPS 272 .2mmol +2 223, +4 264, +6 266 +8 283 +10 304 PMPS 275 2.8mmol

J9 Pearson

Member
@Wendy&Neko
Cross Posting from Main Forum
I'm in the U.S.. Unfortunately, Tiger was sneaky while I had my hands in prepping our turkey and he ate a few bites of the dog's food again (this is an ongoing issue because my dog is 17 years old and struggles to eat so I usually sit right next to him until he's done but time was an issue this morning.) His AMPS and ketones were really headed in the right direction this morning and he even played with me after his morning insulin. I'm super upset to see his numbers increase into the 300s and his highest ketones yet. I am placing him in front of water every since his 304 number and he's still active, drinking, eating and grooming as of PMPS. Given the high ketones should I give him more insulin at this time? Today is also Day 7 of the 1.25 insulin dose, Hence the curve. I'm going to try and wait to see if I get a quick response
 
If it’s not too much trouble can you please add your BG data to your SS for today? That’s good news that he is still eating, active and drinking. With food, try to add as water as you can. I believe you should increase to 1.5u tonight. Any data from last night to add as well to the SS?
 
It's really helpful if you put the numbers that are in your subject line on your spreadsheet. Most of us old timers open the spreadsheet whenever we stop by and it took me a bit to sort out that your last entry was for yesterday.

Just a point regarding the the +10 test. There is always a range that reflects variance in the numbers of any test. We use a 20% "margin of error" for the blood glucose test readings. So, the +8, +10, and PMPS are really pretty close to being the same.

I would increased Tiger's dose tomorrow at AMPS. I just saw that Christie suggested to increased tonight. I don't think it's a huge issue. I tend to stick to a full 7 days when using SLGS.

Trying to get as much water into Tiger as possible may help with the ketones. Will he eat the Young Again if you add water to the dry food?
 
@Wendy&Neko
Cross Posting from Main Forum
I'm in the U.S.. Unfortunately, Tiger was sneaky while I had my hands in prepping our turkey and he ate a few bites of the dog's food again Given the high ketones should I give him more insulin at this time? Today is also Day 7 of the 1.25 insulin dose, Hence the curve. I'm going to try and wait to see if I get a quick response
The dog food will influence the numbers. Have you given insulin already? What dose?
 
It's really helpful if you put the numbers that are in your subject line on your spreadsheet. Most of us old timers open the spreadsheet whenever we stop by and it took me a bit to sort out that your last entry was for yesterday.

Just a point regarding the the +10 test. There is always a range that reflects variance in the numbers of any test. We use a 20% "margin of error" for the blood glucose test readings. So, the +8, +10, and PMPS are really pretty close to being the same.

I would increased Tiger's dose tomorrow at AMPS. I just saw that Christie suggested to increased tonight. I don't think it's a huge issue. I tend to stick to a full 7 days when using SLGS.

Trying to get as much water into Tiger as possible may help with the ketones. Will he eat the Young Again if you add water to the dry food?

Thank you! I will try adding water to the Young Again. He might. Especially if I put it on the floor and pretend it's the dog's food. Ha Ha
 
If it’s not too much trouble can you please add your BG data to your SS for today? That’s good news that he is still eating, active and drinking. With food, try to add as water as you can. I believe you should increase to 1.5u tonight. Any data from last night to add as well to the SS?
No data from last night but I updated spreadsheet. Sorry, forgot as I'm stressing a bit and have a house full of family. Appreciate getting such quick responses from you all.

Also, I only cross referenced to the Main Forum because I saw on the Lantus page they suggested doing that due to the Thanksgiving holiday here in the U.S..
 
No problem :). I’m happy that Sienne offered her opinion as well, I jumped to say increase a little earlier than SLGS would usually call for because of the ketones :oops: .
 
I'm glad Christie and Sienne were around. Good luck with the new dose. I hope it puts the ketones in the rear view mirror. Just keep an eye on his appetite and activity level.

And try to enjoy the family dinner, cats and their timing. :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top