11/27 Tawny PMPS 262

Status
Not open for further replies.

DD & Tinkerbell

Member Since 2009
Tawny 11/26/11

Her 11/26 PMPS +8 was 340, then her PMPS @ +12 was 305. I will work on updating both her & Tink's SS's today, tried Thurs but could not get google docs to work.

I caught a cup of pee at +1 and it showed "small" for ketones. She is eating a lot and drinking a lot of water & I personally think she is not getting enough insulin, I am not sure if it is a problem with the way I am administering it or if 2u is just not enough. I called the clinic & Dr. Amanda (Traub) said to go ahead and bring Tawny back in there for a curve there tomorrow, so I will do that. But she is talking about upping her dose 1-2 units if needed??????

I am watching Tawny closely. Any advice on the ketone issue? Do I need to syringe water into her or anything? She is drinking well.

AMPS 305
+2 ~ 288

got to run to Wal-Mart, all those strips I knew I had? Haven't!

bbl

P.S. The pic link from yesterday that wasn't working is fixed: Dinner time @ Tink & Tawny's house.

P.S.S. I posted a drooler diabetic ? in Health if anyone can help, one of the women at LVRC would like to join a group: Diabetic Drooler Group Query for LVRC
 
Re: 11/27 Tawny AMPS 305; +2/288; +4.5/288

Tawny's Curve today so far:

AMPS 305
+2 / 288
+4.5 / 288 - didn't get back from strip-getting errand in time for +4
 
Re: 11/27 Tawny +8/286

So far today:

AMPS 305 - Ate kibble, would not touch LC wet
+2 / 288
+ 4.5 / 288 - same as +2
+6 / 291
+8 / 286
 
Well, except for her amps of 305, she surfed a good yellow today. Off to LVRC early in the morning for post-hospitalization check up. Hope she gets a good report!

Thanks for all the help today, w/Tink & Tawny both.

Desi
 
Re: 11/27 Tawny AMPS 305; +6/291; +8/286

Hey there!

I would add as much water to her food as she will tolerate.
Glad Tawny is going to see the vet tomorrow - anything over 'trace' warrants a vet visit . Ketones can sometimes increase quickly.
I agree with the vet that Tawny needs more insulin, especially if she is eating dry.

I'm wondering why you started over and went back to 1u ?
 
I gotta tell you, the ketone reading is worrisome. The dry food isn't helping matters, either. Canned food had a large moisture content that dry does not have. How about attempting to transition Tawny back to canned food? Even if you have to use a higher carb canned food, fine! Please take a look at Dr. Lisa's site on transitioning a cat over to canned food.
 
Re: 11/27 Tawny AMPS 305; +6/291; +8/286

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
...I'm wondering why you started over and went back to 1u ?

Good question, it seemed like the right thing to do at the time. I had missed so many of her shots b/c going to court on a civil matter (plaintiff) and getting called to the store over robberies and fuel drive offs and chasing after bad checks blah blah blah yadda yadda yadda and her schedule was so screwed up and she had dipped into those greens a few times when I had to skip a shot b/c I had to leave her for 12-14 hours that I decided to, quite simply, just start over.

This is not going to happen any more. I am sick to death of not having a life. I have changed the store hours, I close at 6pm now instead of 8 M-F, 4pm on Sat's (and may end up closing all together on Sat's if things don't change quick), hopefully last court appearance will be tomorrow, and I am begging the store landlord to let me out of there at the end of this year instead of the end of next.

In other words, I am getting my life back.

Finally.

Thanks for asking, good to see you!

Desi
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
I gotta tell you, the ketone reading is worrisome. The dry food isn't helping matters, either. Canned food had a large moisture content that dry does not have. How about attempting to transition Tawny back to canned food? Even if you have to use a higher carb canned food, fine! Please take a look at Dr. Lisa's site on transitioning a cat over to canned food.

Yes, it worries me too, I am glad she is going in tomorrow. I had not thought of using higher carb canned, I will try that. I started the transition back to wet Fri by mixing it and she ate it real well, then the night she ate side-by-side w/Tink in those pix she ate almost all wet, then last night and today she didn't want anything to do with it. I've got a couple cans of HC wet, I'll try that, & I'll get some of the between LC & HC stuff tomorrow and try that too.

Thanks for the input.

Desi
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top