11/27 Shooter AMPS 116, +8 90, PMPS 92

Heather & Shooter

Very Active Member
So I sat down and was getting ready to type out how good Shooter has been and how happy I am with the numbers... then I had a complete panic! I don't know 100% that I actually gave Shooter his shot this morning. I remember pulling everything out, I tested him, shot him?, fed both of them, scooped litter, gave meds... I just went out to the kitchen and the insulin and syringe aren't on the counter but I just don't remember drawing up the insulin or throwing out the syringe! Ugh! I hate that! I don't dare give him a shot without knowing for sure but I hate the idea that he may have a completely missed shot which I have never ever done in the 3 1/2 yrs I have been giving him shots! :arghh: And the more I think about it the more I'm pretty sure I didn't! This sucks! :(

11/26 Shooter AMPS 87 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
 
So I sat down and was getting ready to type out how good Shooter has been and how happy I am with the numbers... then I had a complete panic! I don't know 100% that I actually gave Shooter his shot this morning. I remember pulling everything out, I tested him, shot him?, fed both of them, scooped litter, gave meds... I just went out to the kitchen and the insulin and syringe aren't on the counter but I just don't remember drawing up the insulin or throwing out the syringe! Ugh! I hate that! I don't dare give him a shot without knowing for sure but I hate the idea that he may have a completely missed shot which I have never ever done in the 3 1/2 yrs I have been giving him shots! :arghh: And the more I think about it the more I'm pretty sure I didn't! This sucks! :(

11/26 Shooter AMPS 87 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
I am so sorry! It is so easy for this to happen because if you are like me you are little sleepy when you first get up and then everything is a routine it could very easily happen because you are in automatic mode. Hugs!
 
Don't be hard on yourself. It happens. I once found a syringe full of insulin and didn't know if I missed the AM or PM shot from the day before. Shooter will get back on track if you didn't give the shot. Just count it as a furshot. Make sure you put a note on the SS in case his numbers go up a little. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Edit... I just went out in the kitchen to check his bg again and remembered I have a Cat Spy Cam!!! I went thru the playbacks and as @jillnc1 mentioned being on autopilot and thankfully I DID give the shot! Yay! That makes me so happy! I was afraid I completely screwed up his streak. Now at least if his numbers go wonky it's just because they do and not because I did it to him. Phew!
 
Edit... I just went out in the kitchen to check his bg again and remembered I have a Cat Spy Cam!!! I went thru the playbacks and as @jillnc1 mentioned being on autopilot and thankfully I DID give the shot! Yay! That makes me so happy! I was afraid I completely screwed up his streak. Now at least if his numbers go wonky it's just because they do and not because I did it to him. Phew!
Oh wow, that’s such awesome news Heather. Great thinking and great you have video recording. Good job and safe surfing today Shooter.
:bighug::bighug:
 
Edit... I just went out in the kitchen to check his bg again and remembered I have a Cat Spy Cam!!! I went thru the playbacks and as @jillnc1 mentioned being on autopilot and thankfully I DID give the shot! Yay! That makes me so happy! I was afraid I completely screwed up his streak. Now at least if his numbers go wonky it's just because they do and not because I did it to him. Phew!
awesome! good detective work!
 
Having a camera is so nice so you can check back! There's a day last week that I genuinely don't know if I actually gave her the shot. I know I put insulin in a syringe. I know I took it to her shot place with all the other stuff. I don't know if I actually gave it. I couldn't remember giving it or clipping the needle, but I also wasn't going to go through the trash to search for it, so we counted it as a shot and hoped for the best. I've been contemplating a camera, but it wouldn't likely be in the spot where I give the shot, since she's more likely to be on her luggage in the closet. I really should just so I can keep a better eye on her while I'm working (or when I maybe leave for Christmas), especially since she's had a bit of a decline lately. Add it to the list!
 
Back
Top