11/27 Ophie AMPS 141

Status
Not open for further replies.

OphiesMom

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL!

I hope all the kitties of LL are having good days.

Well, Ophie was a nice 141 at her pre-shot test. I didn't even think about it, even a little bit, and gave her insulin. Wow, that surprised me when it clicked a few minutes later. I hope she will be OK today. I think she will, I will get a +2 or a +3 to be sure.

Testing has gotten quite difficult. After Saturday when she dropped below 50, I spent much of that day poking... and poking... and poking. She never once got mad at me on Saturday, but starting on Sunday, she has been protesting... and she gets a little bit more unwilling each day. Today, she was ticked-off and tried to escape from her poke. :YMSIGH: Maybe her little ear is just still sore? I'm putting Neosporin on it, and I hope it heals and becomes less sensitive for her.

I have plans to chat with the vet today. Saturday scared me a lot, and I know now I don't I want to be so aggressive with Ophie waiting for her to drop to 50 before I lower her insulin. We will see what the vet thinks!

Today I start cooking! Yikes! It's going to be a wild two days at Ophie's house ;-)
 
Nice start for Ophie today. I hope she surfs safely for you. Do you give her treats after you test her? I give Furball freeze-dried chicken treats and it makes test time much easier. Treats can go a long way in making a cat put up with things. Have a great day.
 
Thanks Carla! I give her some catnip, which she loves. Maybe I should try chicken? I do need to find a lc treat she will actually eat (she, so far, only like HC treats :YMSIGH:).

Thanks for coming by today! Have a great day!
 
Hi Joely,

What a nice number for Ophie to start the day with. I hope she surfs nicely with no big drops for you. It is always nice when you will be around to get a +2 or +3.

I hear you on the testing problems. Cleo sometimes starts giving me a hard time (even with treats), but eventually it passes. Is there a new treat you can try? Now, if I was giving her Temptations, she might not protest at all :lol: :lol: but, we know that won't be happening!

Have fun cooking -your house will be smelling great!
 
Thank you, Jane! I may break out the big guns today (if I need to) and give her little pieces of Meow Mix... that is by far her favorite, despite the effects the carbs have on her little body :YMSIGH:
 
Good Morning Joely ~O) ~O)
You're going to have another busy day I see..Yummy busy :-D Good job shooting that nice number and not even thinking about it. I know that it's still scary what happened the other day, and you are in no big hurry to go there again. Maybe the Start Low Go Slow approach is something you want to think about? I copied the link for you to read over when you're able to Start Low-Go Slow

There are other members using that approach but staying on our TR forum for support as it is busier over here. If you want to find out who is using it and what they think, you could put something in your subject line like SLGS? They would hopefully see this and pop in for a visit.

Hey Ophie, just because you're feeling feisty in those blues doesn't mean you don't get the pokie pokie. You gotta sit still for mama to test you so she can keep you safe! :-D

Have a great day Joely and thanks again for all your support yesterday :-D
 
Good Morning Joely... Ophie is so lucky to have you as a Mama, U R doing such a great job !!!

Sorry Ophie has become a bit resistant to the testing. Are you using the Neosporin with Pain relief? I was just using the original one at first, but when I switched to the Pain Relief one it made all the difference. . . just a thought .

Hope all your cooking goes well today...I am already staring to get hungry just thinking about it ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top