11/27 Monster AMPS 103, +1 90, +2 61, +3 95, +4 96, + 5 86, +7.5 103 PMPS 140

Monster's Mom

Member Since 2025
Yesterday's

Happy Thanksgiving eveyone!!!!



So, I tested one more time last night and she seemed to be holding steady and we went to bed ( she came and slept with me again) I unfortunately was coughing most of the night and didn't sleep well and that is why we are an hour late this morning. She's been fed and shot and I'm hoping she holds on to those good greens today. If not, then my plans will change, lol. I'm due to be at my sister's house in 3 hours (1pm cst) just a small little gathering with my mom.

Hope everyone has a good day! Safe surfing kitties 😺🏄‍♀️
 
Hi Regan! I see you fed a little food. What carb value was it and how much? I'm sure that will keep her surfing, but you'll want to keep an eye on her and test again in an hour as she might drop a little more.
 
Hi Regan! I see you fed a little food. What carb value was it and how much? I'm sure that will keep her surfing, but you'll want to keep an eye on her and test again in an hour as she might drop a little more.
She's only had her LC this morning. I'll try some 15%, or I have 12%
 
Hi Regan! I see you fed a little food. What carb value was it and how much? I'm sure that will keep her surfing, but you'll want to keep an eye on her and test again in an hour as she might drop a little more.
We are back up to 95 now. I'm guessing the food brought her up. Do I need to keep testing for when the food wears off? Do you think she'll drop again? I still have no clue when here nadir is, she's all over the place.
 
We are back up to 95 now. I'm guessing the food brought her up. Do I need to keep testing for when the food wears off? Do you think she'll drop again? I still have no clue when here nadir is, she's all over the place.
Hi Regan, what carb % did you feed? You want to be sure to check at least 2 hours after you've fed any MC/HC to make sure Monster's numbers don't dip back down once those carbs start to wear off.
 
She's coming back up to those blues. That's when it seems like she feels the best, it's weird. I was able to leave and go to my sister's. As I said before my mom is a retired nurse and my sister's husband has diabetes type 1 so they both understand what I'm going through and even suggested to come get a plate at least, so that's what I did. I was able to stay for about an hour then had to get home to my Monster.
Of course with them having knowledge on diabetes, they both said "I think you're giving her too much" because she is going so low, but she hasn't quite dipped into 50s or less, thankfully. But I do foresee a reduction in her future if she keeps this up, lol
 
I don't think she is going too low. What you are looking for is this: nadirs in the 50 - 80 range / no numbers above 120. Today's surf was beautiful. 61 is not bad; I wouldn't have given Jude carbs at 61 (it's okay that you did, but it's not a really low number). The good news about Monster is she tends to have nice, flat Lantus cycles, which is great (mostly no bouncing or big swings up or down), and she responds well to the carbs when necessary. Ultimately, you're looking for her to have all-green cycles. Take a look at Trixie and Kat's spreadsheet or Blue's. That is normal bg without insulin. All greens. What's good is that Monster is seeing more and more greens. She will let you know when it's too much insulin and you need to reduce. I think the earliest stages of treatment (like you're in now) are sometimes the hardest because you have to monitor so much as she comes into regulation.
 
I don't think she is going too low. What you are looking for is this: nadirs in the 50 - 80 range / no numbers above 120. Today's surf was beautiful. 61 is not bad; I wouldn't have given Jude carbs at 61 (it's okay that you did, but it's not a really low number). The good news about Monster is she tends to have nice, flat Lantus cycles, which is great (mostly no bouncing or big swings up or down), and she responds well to the carbs when necessary. Ultimately, you're looking for her to have all-green cycles. Take a look at Trixie and Kat's spreadsheet or Blue's. That is normal bg without insulin. All greens. What's good is that Monster is seeing more and more greens. She will let you know when it's too much insulin and you need to reduce. I think the earliest stages of treatment (like you're in now) are sometimes the hardest because you have to monitor so much as she comes into regulation.
Also, it doesn't hurt that you carbed her at 61. If that is a number your don't feel comfortable with, then by all means, give her some carbs. I would limit the carbs to just enough to keep her surfing at safe numbers, though.
 
I don't think she is going too low. What you are looking for is this: nadirs in the 50 - 80 range / no numbers above 120. Today's surf was beautiful. 61 is not bad; I wouldn't have given Jude carbs at 61 (it's okay that you did, but it's not a really low number). The good news about Monster is she tends to have nice, flat Lantus cycles, which is great (mostly no bouncing or big swings up or down), and she responds well to the carbs when necessary. Ultimately, you're looking for her to have all-green cycles. Take a look at Trixie and Kat's spreadsheet or Blue's. That is normal bg without insulin. All greens. What's good is that Monster is seeing more and more greens. She will let you know when it's too much insulin and you need to reduce. I think the earliest stages of treatment (like you're in now) are sometimes the hardest because you have to monitor so much as she comes into regulation.
Thanks! I do like seeing the greens. It scares me when she goes to 60 especially if if insulin hasn't fully kicked in yet and I'm not going to be with her, just like it has happened both times, of course. But I feel like I'm getting to know what she may do in terms of numbers. The closer she is to 100 at PS, the lower she dips at +2 or +3. I am comfortable shooting greens (BOS earned!!) 😁 I realized it's only been 3 weeks and it feels like months we've been doing this but she's getting more and more balanced with it. And she seems to hold her dose well, and have those flat numbers. My biggest fear is that she will fall so low when I'm not here with her. I know those dips can happen at anytime. I may have to use food to manipulate it during the work week. And I am definitely asking her vet for the Libre. Hopefully she tolerates it and it works so I can check when I can't be with her.
 
Thanks! I do like seeing the greens. It scares me when she goes to 60 especially if if insulin hasn't fully kicked in yet and I'm not going to be with her, just like it has happened both times, of course. But I feel like I'm getting to know what she may do in terms of numbers. The closer she is to 100 at PS, the lower she dips at +2 or +3. I am comfortable shooting greens (BOS earned!!) 😁 I realized it's only been 3 weeks and it feels like months we've been doing this but she's getting more and more balanced with it. And she seems to hold her dose well, and have those flat numbers. My biggest fear is that she will fall so low when I'm not here with her. I know those dips can happen at anytime. I may have to use food to manipulate it during the work week. And I am definitely asking her vet for the Libre. Hopefully she tolerates it and it works so I can check when I can't be with her.
I completely understand the concern of her going low when you are away. I have that same concern with Jude.
You're doing a great job with her: brave when you need to be and cautious when it's warranted.
 
Interesting day, I thought she was going to slide down to hypo numbers but once again she held steady and came back up.
So far 60 has been the "scary number" for me, but now that I've seen it more than once and know that she can bring it up from there and enjoy her smooth surf, I won't freak out anymore. I'm sure there is more in store for me in the coming weeks to freak out about. I will feel so much better when I can at least get the cameras, which hopefully will be next Wednesday (12/3). Then I can check on her and see if she's acting funny or just sleeping peacefully like she does.

I hope everyone had a great day, holiday or not, but definitely a great day to be thankful for our sugar babies and this group!
 
Back
Top